We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (2,959)
Filter reviews
2,954 results
Traveler rating
1,814
888
221
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,814
888
221
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amphibious vehicle duck cannon firing master gunner low tide parade ground amphibious craft boat bus musket demonstration well worth a visit re enactment steeped in history nooks and crannies jersey heritage lots of history guided tour nice walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 2,954 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

We walked to the castle at low tide on a Saturday afternoon. When we got there we realised that to get back from the castle we had to book the ferry as the tide was coming in again. Luckily there’s a combined ticket for castle and ferry.
The castle has an interesting history and is very well presented. There are lots of information boards to help one understand the history and development of the castle and one can download an App too. Great idea!
We really enjoyed the history exhibition inside one of the buildings along Parade Square.
Going back we took the ferry, which is an experience in its own place. Make sure you take it at high tide.
Overall a place worth visiting

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 979dieterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

We timed our visit so that we could walk across - didn’t realise just how far it was but definitely worth it. Castle is much bigger than it looks with lots of places to explore. Well worth a visit - just watch out for the tide if you want to walk back!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 749mandig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

I have been to jersey many times and was looking forward to coming to the castle. Really enjoyed the amphibious vehicle over the sands.

The castle has a lot of history and it was great to see where st Helier lived.

Disappointingly though it is quite expensive to get in, and for the money you don’t get much. There are lots of entrances to the castle to explore but you are put off going inside for the amount of pigeon and rat faeces.

Glad I went but not my favourite

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Traysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerseyheritage365, Public Relations Manager at Elizabeth Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Elizabeth Castle but I was sorry to hear of your disappointment.

This season we are experiencing a higher influx of pigeons than previously and while we investigate the reason for this we are aware that it does not enhance the visitor experience. Unfortunately there are areas where we have had to restrict access to our visitors however solutions will be put in place imminently to stop the pigeons roosting .

Your support of our charitable organisation is invaluable and we appreciate all feedback in order we can maintain our standards and protect our heritage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

Take this as part of your 4 part heritage ticket. You could spend 4 hours here. Views and walks good. Good for history of military events.Demonstrations of canon firing and musketry excellent and humourous. Take part in a parade! One of the best places to visit on island

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank STEPHEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

Really enjoyed our visit. We got the amphibious vehicle out to the island and then walked back along the causeway when the tide had gone out. Spent a couple of hours there wandering about.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank LittlePoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews