We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Elizabeth Castle
from $43.22
More Info
from $49.64
More Info
Reviews (3,013)
Filter reviews
3,004 results
Traveler rating
1,853
895
224
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,853
895
224
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amphibious vehicle duck cannon firing master gunner low tide amphibious craft parade ground boat bus musket demonstration well worth a visit re enactment nooks and crannies steeped in history jersey heritage lots of history guided tour nice walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 3,004 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Bit quirky get the duck vehicle across to the Castle. The tide was in, so we boarded to go across. Arriving at the foot of the entrance, we made it in time for a guided tour. The volunteer was knowledgeable. The day was nice but chilly which is clearly beyond control. You can spend a few hours here.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Had a very enjoyable visit to Elizabeth Castle. As the tide was out we took the amphibious minibus over - this took 10-15 mins.
On arrival you had the choice of going with the tour guide, which we did and this was free, or wandering around on your own, we chose the tour guide who was very friendly and knowledgeable. The tour took approx 90 mins. The castle is much larger than it looks from shore therefore there is quite a lot of walking - and climbing stairs - involved, so its not very easy for anyone who has difficulty walking or climbing stairs.
The views from the castle are amazing.
You can join in a parade if you want - we didn't but the folk that did seemed to enjoy the marching and being shouted at ha ha -all part of the visit......we went for coffee and cake instead!!
Tea room and toilets are spotless.
Very interesting and well worth the visit

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

We had a lovely day here. Chose a fairly calm sunny morning to go across and back on a Duck.
A brilliant volunteer guide took us around the castle and in a very interesting and informative way gave us some incredible and fascinating facts about the history of the castle and what went on during the war.
A great day and then the cannon being fired was the icing on the cake.
Super cafe too helped to make the day.
I loved going up the steps to where St Helios lived as a hermit and the sea was so calm
The trip both ways on the duck was lovely....went too quickly!
We spent quite a lot of the day there as the museum part was interesting too.
We both enjoyed talking to the monk there who gave us another view on the history. A really interesting and content man.
All in all a perfect day.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank royalblueEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

We hit the beach before the low tide and the Castle was surrounded by water. We took a long walk down St. Aubin's Bay Beach and by the time we got back we could walk out to the Castle because the tide is so drastic. It is an impressive, well-kept Castle. We also observed the duck boats going out during high tide for the tour and that looked like a lot of fun. Beautiful views from the Castle of the surrounding areas. Quite impressive.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank mgmccarthy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

If you are in Jersey check out the times of the tides and visit Elizabeth Castle. A beautiful causeway walk out to the castle itself wi ty h beautiful surrounding scenery. We did not go inside but there are tours regularly throughout the day. A ferry bus service is also available during low tides. Like everywhere else on the Island of Jersey, we found admission fees were much too expensive.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 567dianea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews