We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Elizabeth Castle
from $43.22
More Info
from $49.65
More Info
Reviews (3,010)
Filter reviews
3,002 results
Traveler rating
1,852
895
224
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,852
895
224
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amphibious vehicle duck cannon firing master gunner low tide amphibious craft parade ground boat bus musket demonstration well worth a visit re enactment nooks and crannies steeped in history jersey heritage lots of history nice walk great fun
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 3,002 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019

We hit the beach before the low tide and the Castle was surrounded by water. We took a long walk down St. Aubin's Bay Beach and by the time we got back we could walk out to the Castle because the tide is so drastic. It is an impressive, well-kept Castle. We also observed the duck boats going out during high tide for the tour and that looked like a lot of fun. Beautiful views from the Castle of the surrounding areas. Quite impressive.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank mgmccarthy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

If you are in Jersey check out the times of the tides and visit Elizabeth Castle. A beautiful causeway walk out to the castle itself wi ty h beautiful surrounding scenery. We did not go inside but there are tours regularly throughout the day. A ferry bus service is also available during low tides. Like everywhere else on the Island of Jersey, we found admission fees were much too expensive.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 567dianea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

We took the duck boat to the island and walked along the causeway on the way back as the tide had gone out. Beautiful views and very interesting history. Staff very helpful and informative

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

What we thought would be a couple of hours pottering round the castle, turned out to be a very enjoyable 4.5 hours. The demonstrations led by the Master Gunner, canon and musket firing included, were highly entertaining. He even had my partner marching with his fellow recruits and we could easily imagine being back 200 years! The exhibitions were also very good I thought. We finished off with coffee and cakes in the sheltered café garden, soaking up the atmosphere before legging it hurriedly across the causeway, as the tide was coming in rapidly! What a great day

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019

We enjoyed visiting Elizabeth Castle. We decided to use the duck boat as we had already walked from our hotel. It was easy to buy the combined boat and castle entrance tickets. We went over when the tide was out and it was very bumpy but fun - on the way back we turned into a boat and it was great fun seeing the boat turn into a bus again with wheels when we got back. When we arrived at the castle we were told there was going to be a 'parade' and the cannon would be fired at 12. So we went very fast to the area it was happening so not to miss it as it was nearly 12noon. We got to the parade ground area and sat waiting for it to start. All that happened was a man dressed as a soldier talking in the middle of the ground occasionally shouting that we all wouldnt be able to hear him being sat around the edges. We were waiting - and other people were too - for the parade and cannon fire! As nothing was happening we decided to start looking around the castle. So I think maybe visitors should have more explanation about whats happening there. The cannon went off at 1pm when we werent expecting it haha. Anyway the castle was very interesting and explorey. We looked around the German bunkers and the informative exhibition rooms showing the history of the castle and who used it. We enjoyed seeing the big guns and huge cannons. We walked to the hermits cave type thing up the steps - great fun. It was a lovely sunny day and very scenic. The cafe was nice and we had a tasty fresh sandwich and cup of tea and the little birds came and sat by us. Overall very memorable.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank rainbowwarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerseyheritage365, Public Relations Manager at Elizabeth Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Thank you very much for writing your review. Our 'parade' is made up of our Gunner, who calls for volunteers from our visitors....that's why he was very keen you got closer to hear him! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews