We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb meal”
Review of Sirocco

Sirocco
Ranked #31 of 225 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $71
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Restaurant Sirocco is an experience for all your senses, dine in style and gaze out at the glittering waterfront. We use as much locally sourced produce as possible and the menu changes regularly in order to give you, our customers, a new reflection of seasonal produce.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“superb meal”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

superb meal,probably one of the best I have ever had in a restaurant, and fantastic value! we had the set meal at £27 and when we got the bill it was 2 for 1 on Mondays! I cant believe they have to do this as I would have happily have paid full price. we ate in 4 restaurants in St Helier and this ended up the cheapest and by far the best. thank you for a great evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jma18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    39
    11
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, null, Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant with top service!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The service, the staff and the food were absolutely amazing... couldnt have asked for more.. Well done guys!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andreia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 676 helpful votes
“First class!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Four of us visited Sirocco on a Monday evening to partake of their 2 for 1 offer on food. There was a choice between the A La Carte menu and the set menu at a very reasonable £27.50p, £13.75p each when two dine on a Monday.
We all decided to go for the set menu as there was plenty of choice. Starters consisted of carpaccio which was generous and deemed very good and the salmon and crab starter that was also very good. This was preceded by a chilled pea and mint soup that was delicious. Bread is also very generous and of excellent quality.
Main courses were the cod which was cooked to perfection, the salmon, also very well done and one of the group had the loin of pork that was very nicely presented, were all deemed to be very enjoyable.
Desserts were fine but not of the same quality but at the price we were paying there was no complaint.
A very reasonable bottle of Rose was £18.50p and service throughout the meal was first class.
The total bill including 3 bottles of wine, the included 10% tip and the 3 course set menu was a very reasonable £66 a couple for a pleasant evening sat on the balcony of the Royal Yacht with very good food. This was a great way to enjoy this finally arrived summer weather. First class, we will return and try the A La Carte menu next time which included fillet steak and a whole lobster amongst the choices - remarkable value for Jersey for this quality of food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly service with good food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The dining room is well presented with a wide choice on the menu. I had a crab starter with cavier panna cotta which was just lovely. The turbot was well timed and tasty. The service does become too fussy with constant re-filling of glasses but the waiters are friendly and smiling--unlike downstairs. Go for the Monday offer of 241 and it is a bargain for the quality and setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susieQ321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Restaurant at the End of the Universe”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Sirocco Restaurant, Royal Yacht, St Helier Jersey

Wow just had a truly bizarre Sunday Lunch experience at The Royal Yacht.

Four of us went for Sunday lunch, an experience which is apparently so popular (due to a QuidsIn deal) we had to book weeks in advance.

The restaurant, as is the hotel, is modern, very clean and tidy with an attentive staff, in fact from this perspective faultless.

My Gin Martini ordered with lemon was odd, full of ice, heavy on the vermouth and with more lemons than a very lemony thing.

Lunch is chosen as options from a Table de Hotel menu, which is the normal Sunday Lunch menu - not a reduced QuidsIn version.

Starters held no more surprises than the odd cold molten cheese ball and a less than warmish velouté mixture in which we played the well known party game of 'spot the scallop'.

For main course two ordered roast beef and two had smoked haddock in batter with chips.

The beef main course looked ok with the roast potatoes served in the Yorkshire pudding, but with the odd vegetable accompaniment of cauliflower cheese and sour shredded red cabbage -all of which were cold.

The fish and chips - well should have guessed when I ordered it, smoked haddock is not usually battered and fried. I think to minimise embarrassment at this culinary faux pas I was served two mouse-sized (and shaped) portions of fish and six cold soggy sad looking chips.

A waiter, perhaps unsure of where the horseradish sauce went, hedged his bets by offering it to all - bizarrely this was served for a large carving trolly from which we had not been served anything else at this stage.

But then the man with the horseradish, with a flourish, swung the huge silver dome off a tray big enough to hold the talking meal served to George Dent in the Restaurant at the End of the Universe. Sat forlornly in the middle of the tray was a tiny rolled rib of pork which Horseradish Man proceeded to offer to all, including me and the other chap with the fish and chip snacket! However we accepted it gratefully.

Luckily my wife is not fond of red cabbage so she offloaded this to me giving me the semblance of a main course. Now I have to say the pork looked at home on the red cabbage, but there it was, my Sunday lunch at one of St Helier's premier hotels - two goujons of smoked haddock, six chips and a pork slice on red cabbage.

Dessert (the first warm plate of the meal!) was a crumble (supposed to be strawberry, but the rather like the scallop in the starter, somewhat difficult to locate) on which was a scoop of ice cream.

In summary, the afternoon was saved by the great company of some friends we do not see enough of, and ruined by a culinary experience that might have been eliminated in the non televised rounds of Junior Master-chef.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sirocco also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Sirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing