We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for relaxed holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Helier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surrey Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 21 St. Helier B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had a lovely comfortable 9 nights in this Guesthouse - the breakfast was very good indeed. Dave and Jean did everything they could to help all their guests - they recommended Ad - Lib Restaurant and it was well worth visiting too. Hope to be back soon, DV. It is very central too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bella-macScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Surrey Lodge Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 88 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

I love guest houses! This one in particular was really good. They will do everything they possibly can to help you have a good time! They gave us tips on where to park and in the corridor you have lots of flyers on things to do, maps and other useful tools for your trip. Jean and Dave are delightful people. You feel like you are staying with family (the nice side of family!).

They were waiting to great us upon our arrival, showing us our rooms, asking how our journey was to go get there and telling us about breakfast. They provided us with two pairs of keys and the best! We had chocolate penguins (it's like a chocolate biscuit) in our room with all sorts of tea selections and coffee. The beds are very comfortable. The only thing is, and that is EVERYWHERE, the sea gales are very noisy in Jersey and Guernsey. You may notice that anywhere you go, they stop in one place and keep screaming on the same spot for hours. It is quite funny to be honest.

The breakfast was perfect. You can have two breakfasts every morning (continental and cooked). If you leave early, they are so kind that they will put breakfast in your room for you to have at your convenience. You have a mini fridge in each bedroom as well. So, if you want to buy some food in the supermarkets nearby, you can put the food in the fridge and snack in.

I would recommend this wonderful place to anyone. One of my friends was not too keen on staying in a guest house because he doesn't like to be talked to very much and he says that he feels like he stays in someone's house which makes him feel awkward. I can understand how he feels like that but even he was happy with the Surrey Lodge Guest House! That really means a lot from him who is not keen on guest houses like I am. You always get that extra attention that you can't get in hotel where you are often treated as a product.

I would go again and again and again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here recently with my wife, and two friends, as we explored Jersey. Dave and Jean gave us a very warm welcome, and could not do enough to help, whether it was with breakfast (which was superb), parking the car (a multi story car park with free overnight parking is less than a minute's walk away) or anything else. Our flight home was very early in the morning so they even prepared a breakfast for us the night before.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable, and well furnished, with a modern TV and free Wifi so we could catch up with the Olympics. Little details such as the tea, coffee and chocolate biscuits in the room made all the difference.

The lodge is conveniently located, within walking distance of several excellent pubs and restaurants in St Helier.

Returning to Jersey, I'd gladly stay at the Surrey Lodge again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank duddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

As the title says, Surrey Lodge is a wonderful guest house ran by Jean and Dave who could not have been more welcoming.

An example. We arrived on a very early flight and were at Surrey Lodge by 10AM. The previous people had departed and Jean gave us a tray of tea and biscuits before letting us into the room about half ten. They are very accomodating.

We had a top floor twin room which was light, airy and very clean. The beds were very comfortable too.

Breakfast is included and comprises of juice, your choice of tea or coffee, cereals (if you want them) then a full English breakfast including toast. Dave is a chef so everything is cooked very nicely.

Jean and Dave are both really friendly and made us really welcome. Dave pops into the breakfast room after cooking and chats to you which is very nice. They are both only too willing to answer any questions or queries and give you the benefit of their 45 years living on Jersey.

Surrey Lodge is also ideally located and within easy walking distance of the centre of St Helier where there are many superb coffee houses, cafes and restaurants. Within about a minute's walk I would really recommend Cafe Jac, Alfonso's cafe (superb sandwiches and very reasonably priced) and Bean Around The World coffee shop.

I really cannot recommend Surrey Lodge enough. I would say stay here while you can before they both enjoy a well deserved retirement!

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en-suite so if you really want this make sure you specify before booking. However...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallPaul72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I will be returning to Jersey and will stay at Surrey Lodge.
I agree with the majority of the other reviewers.
Dave and Jean really are friendly people despite 30-years of dealing with guests, some of whom I should imagine are slightly difficult, during our stay we were evacuated for one night, due to a fire nearby, fortunately Dave and Jean had been waiting nearby for several hours and after discussion with the tourist board, booked us into a nearby hotel (The Revere see review) my wife and I were happy to return the next night To Surrey Lodge.
The rooms as stated by previous reviewer are not boutique (whatever that means) and on first entering the room appear dated, get past that and the rooms are a good size, clean, the beds are comfortable (my wife is a bit particular about that). There is a fridge in the room to keep fresh milk and drinks cold if that is your want. The wi-fi worked well. As if by magic you leave the room in the morning, when you get back it has been tidied, beds and towels changed when required and 2 penguins left for eating at a suitable time or sooner.
The breakfast, as served by Jean, but cooked by Dave (he says he is a much better cook than Jean) now the breakfast is very good, ingrediants appear to be of fine standard, (not a Tesco value breakfast) choice of cereals, tea coffee etc jams/marmalades and Black butter, but it is not set out as big chain or other B+B's i have stayed at recently, Jean asks what cereals you want, then returns with them in the bowl, not laid out buffet style and there was not multiple choice of fruit juices, fruits/prunes/yoghurts etc that you may get elsewhere. After the first morning this was fine but just thought I would mention it.
I really did enjoy my stay and will be going back to saty again in the not to decent future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dfi5926143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have always stayed at hotels in my travels. Surrey Lodge is my very first B&B. We were looked after very well indeed for a whole week. Very clean, airy and comfortable bedroom and bathroom. Shower pressure was good. Fridge in bedroom and a good small flat screen tv. Very good breakfast and good local information from Jean and Dave. If all B&Bs are like this one, I will have to give hotels a miss in the future.

Surrey Lodge has a good central location in St Helier, there is no need for a car as the main bus station, beach, castle, good restaurants, cafes, the wonderful markets and shops are within minutes away. Bus services in Jersey is very good and frequent. There is a multi-storey car park nearby if you need one and little corner shops for sweets and bottled water just down the road. We had a thoroughly good time and would recommend this guest house to visitors to Jersey.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rubychard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Had a second stay at the Surrey Lodge mid-May & again had a lovely stay. All was once again very clean & tidy, nothing too much trouble for Jean and Dave.
They were very happy to work around our arrival & departure times and sorted out us having an earlier breakfast on our departure and arranged a taxi for us.
We had the same room as before, very nice and comfortable and well equipped.
Breakfast was once more very varied & plentyful and set you up well for your day, whatever you decided to do.
We noticed this time how good Dave was at providing information on the notice board for weekly events & weather forecast, which was helpful as we were doing some walking and could decide when & where to go.
If you fancy a change take a trip on the bus to Noirmont for some history & have a meal at the Portelet Inn. Lovely food & setting with excellent service, although the buses are not too frequent they are reliable. In fact we were leaving on a later bus & were asked by the driver going in the opposite direction if we'd missed the bus to St. Helier & said he'd take us to the main road just in case. Thought this was really good & our bus did come minutes later, but at least we weren't going to get stuck.
Wouldn't hesitate to use the Surrey Lodge again & hope to do so.
Thanks Jean & Dave

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask, it will be sorted if possible.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewLeedsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in St. Helier
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,689 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 32 in St. Helier
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surrey Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrey Lodge Guest House

Address: 20 Belmont Road, St. Helier JE2 4SA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helier
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surrey Lodge is a small friendly guest house with just 7 bedrooms, and we aim to make your stay with us as comfortable and relaxed as posssible. We are ideally situated in the heart of St Helier, just a few minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The sea front, bus station, Elizabeth Castle, parks, cinemas, museums etc are all within level walking distance. There are numerous restaurants of all types nearby, many offering al fresco dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surrey Lodge Guest House Hotel St. Helier
Surrey Lodge Guest House Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing