We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Spice

Cafe Spice
Ranked #8 of 222 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Last minute booking but squeezed us in. Food very good, busy with a good buzz. Easy to access and park. A very good local Indian restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Educator186230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    100
    37
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Easily accessible, this restaurant is adjacent to a multistory car park that's free after 6pm, but inside there is quiet buzz and nice enclosed environment. The food is good and the service excellent. In the best traditions of Indian restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdoc150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantasic Traditional food and the best Irish Coffee in Jersey!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The restaurant is conveniently located near to the ocean and the Grand Hotel. When I visited it was busy, so it is probably best to book at weekends. Being busy it gave the place a real buzz and a great atmosphere. Don’t be put off that the restaurant is busy, as the service is just first class and the food is served promptly.

We visited during the Tennerfest promotion and this provided the opportunity to try some different dishes. These are apparently recipes that have been in proprietor’s family for over 100 years. We tried a great starter – Bangla Bhel Puree which is spinach, lentils cheese in a puree bread – very tasty indeed.

Throughout the meal the service was excellent and we never waited to order anything or get refill drinks. The waiters we all very friendly and extremely helpful to explain the dishes fully. They really help you find something that is to your taste.

Not to detract from the excellent meal, the highlight was at the end of the meal when we ordered Irish coffees. These where produced to a truly excellent standard with perfect definition between the coffee and cream top. This must be a dying art, as others that we have ordered in Jersey have been more reminiscent of a lava lamp! Check out the photo.

If you enjoy excellent Indian food and traditional good service then Cade Spice is a must.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great little gem of a restaurant next to our hotel in st helier. Staff were extremely friendly and got into the Christmas spirit by wearing elf and reindeer ears! Crackers on the table were a great way to get the night started. And soon everyone was joining in charades from other tables. Food was well presented in white china dishes. The specialty dishes are worth trying. I had a chicken and keema mixed curry. Naan breads tasted fresh and came out piping hot to the table. The complimentary lychee digestif was a nice touch at the end. Staff were knowledgable and happy to explain the menu and suggest dishes. Definitely worth a visit if you happen to be I'm jersey

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Jersey”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Best Indian in Jersey, the restaurant is quiet small but cosy. The staff are always welcoming and never had a bad meal. Favourite dish being chicken jalfrezi! Well worth a visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eagle-eye30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Spice also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Cafe Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing