We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Bernie's Market Tea Stall
Ranked #61 of 247 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Description: Bernie's is a family-run cafe, located by the fountain in Jersey's Central Market. As well as coffees and speciality teas, we serve breakfast, lunch, and light bites.. We have a good selection of vegan and vegetarian food. Wherever possible we use fresh local produce in our kitchen. Bernie's is dog-friendly, and has free wi-fi.
Restaurant details
Description: Bernie's is a family-run cafe, located by the fountain in Jersey's Central Market. As well as coffees and speciality teas, we serve breakfast, lunch, and light bites.. We have a good selection of vegan and vegetarian food. Wherever possible we use fresh local produce in our kitchen. Bernie's is dog-friendly, and has free wi-fi.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service with the smile. The food is super with a variety and also made excellent masala chai. Really worth a visit.

Thank Karan S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Em_Ferns, Owner at Bernie's Market Tea Stall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Karan S S for taking the time to review Bernie’s!
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit (and our homemade chai) and we do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2018

Nice place. Very casual. We stopped in for tea and got a great cuppa and one of the best scones I've ever had. Big, fresh, light and fluffy. And with Jersey butter, Jersey whipped cream and jam. Mmmm. You may think that whipped cream on a scone is strange but since Jersey milk is richer than most other milk the cream whips up quite thick and dense, perfect for spreading. Very memorable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rgw156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Em_Ferns, Owner at Bernie's Market Tea Stall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you rgw156 for taking the time to review Bernie’s!
We are so glad you enjoyed your cream tea.
Hope you had a good holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across the place while looking for a good place for a vegetarian breakfast. Some unusual dishes for breakfast which were amazing and the usual dishes, would definitely recommend.

Thank kcstar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Em_Ferns, Owner at Bernie's Market Tea Stall, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Thank you kcstar86 for taking the time to review Bernie’s!
We are really glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us, and hope to welcome you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

This a gem next to the fountain.
Service was friendly and a mug of tea at £1.40 was a bargain considering the exorbitant prices charged all over the Island.
Unfortunately the revolting music outside detracted from the overall experience.

Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Em_Ferns, Owner at Bernie's Market Tea Stall, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Hi D S,
Thank you for taking the time to review Bernie’s.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit (bar the music played over the Market’s PA) if I remember correctly, yesterday the local radio station was played.
Today we have a brass band / promenade-y cd playing and I feel it compliments the Victorian Market much better than channel 103fm... will forward your review to the Markets Inspector)).
We do hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Bernies is no ordinary market tea stall, there is something special about it! The large scones with lashings of Jersey Cream butter and jam.. The Mouthwatering cakes and pastries all want to make you think of the letters S.T.D ( Sod The Diet!) !

Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Em_Ferns, Owner at Bernie's Market Tea Stall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Hi Anthony G, thank you so much for taking the time to review Bernie’s.
Love “Sod The Diet”!
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernie's Market Tea Stall also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Bernie's Market Tea Stall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing