We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
140
60
12
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
140
60
12
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus top floor year after year sea view sunday lunch st helier evening meal no lift lots of choice friendly hotel shower over the bath across the road car park friendly welcome bit dated head waiter single room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 221 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We cut our holiday short by 2days the reason behind this we had poor service . We came down in the evening to the bar area for a drink and to order our evening meal. My husband asked the waiter an elderly lady to switch the tv on as it was the fa cup final we were the only two peaple in the bar at the time . She then got very worried and anger at this request reason behind this apparently was Tony the head waiter had given order on this request not to be switched on. He then came in to switch tv on . We then waited a further half hour for a waiter to come in to take our evening meal which we had done for the past 7evening . After waiting no service on this so we then went into the dinning room and had to go and ask on waiter to come over and take our order. This service is very poor . We shall not be rebooking pontac house hotel again . This situation complete ruined our holiday that's the reason we came home early . I work in retail so when I go on holiday is to wind down . Tony should be more in controle of his staff the balm is partly on his shoulders. We have used this hotal for the past 15yr s so sorry to say we shall not rebook again

Room tip: Front of hotal balcony.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Staff friendly and have a laugh with you. Food never stops coming so don't think you'll lose weight. Could have ordered less I suppose. Plenty of advice on what to see and do. Just a small bus ride to St Helier so location not a problem to us. Thanks for looking after our family. Howells's

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

The hotel is perhaps a little dated but better described as a traditional seaside hotel with a very friendly welcome.
We stayed for 4 nights in July and found the location to be ideal, right by the beach and just round the corner from Le Hocq Inn - good for food if you don't want to eat at the hotel.
Our room, a couple of floors above reception at the back of the building, was a bit dated but the bed extremely comfortable, the bathroom clean - although the shower over the bath little more than a dribble - and the small TV a long way from the bed.
The outdoor pool area was a delightful spot in the morning sunshine and the water kept very warm as we experienced when we took a dip on a hot Saturday.
It's not really a family hotel and perhaps more for an older visitor but there's a TV lounge, pool room and a separate bar near the restaurant.
The best thing was probably the breakfasts which were freshly cooked and delivered with a smile, or even a song, and taken in view of the sea across the road.
Would happily return - as I think many people do.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank timbocarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We have just come back from a seven day holiday. We found the hotel very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are not particularly dated as suggested in other reviews, but not Uber trendy either. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and rooms and towels were cleaned/changed daily.
It has a lovely position opposite a stunning beach view. The gardens although compact have been well thought out and are very pleasant to sit in. The pool is beautifully warm.
Staff were chatty and took care to remember your favourite orders from one day to the next.
Food was very plentiful and well cooked and we came away very full every time.
There are only stairs, no lift if there were to be any infirm guests. Sea views are lovely if you have a front room but rooms at the back are quieter with a country/garden view. The bus stop into St Helier is directly outside. There are also some good pubs a short distance from the hotel. We recommend The Pembroke and Smugglers.
We would definitely stay here again.
A nice touch is that the owner is always around and loves to chat to guests.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank JacqR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

The rooms need little updating but found this to be a very good hotel .. staff friendly and helpful .. Food good, car park, lovely heated swimming pool, on the bus route and lots of rooms have sea views.

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank S7039HPbrianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews