We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pontac House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St. Clement
Certificate of Excellence
Burhave, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wonderful small hotel, run by portuguese family and staff, helpful and outstanding
service. Take the halfboard, dinner and breakfast are fresh and excellent quality!
Good wine-card, all at low prices. Bar is nice, pool clean and warm.
VERY good value for money, if we return to Jersey it will be the "Pontac House"
again, no doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anke t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    48
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
114
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is outstanding! The food is first class, a huge breakfast and a four course evening meal with excellent choices all freshly prepared. The front of house staff are welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The waiting staff are friendly and accommodating and the rooms are kept to a very high standard. There is a regular bus service right outstanding outside the front of the hotel into St Hellier making it in an excellent location.

Room Tip: I guess a balcony would be an advantage although we stayed on the back of the hotel overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The restaurant here serves excellent food and caters for all tastes.
You need also a good sense of humour as the staff always keep us amused.
Well worth a visit. There is a beautiful pool area . However just across the road is a great beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have been visiting Jersey regularly since 1989 and have stayed in many different hotels and locations on the island. Pontac House was recommended to me by my parents and it has become my favourite on the island of Jersey.
The staff are friendly and your greeting on arrival is warm. It's a family run hotel and I think this helps with the welcome. You know most of the staff by name pretty quickly, they are knowledgeable about the island and this helps with their recommendations for things to do. They also showed us how to get money off vouchers for some attractions we planned to visit. I travelled with my four year old daughter and she was also treated very nicely by the staff. She was lent a bucket and spade by the receptionist when we arrived so that we could use the beach across the road until we were able to purchase some for ourselves.
We had a family room at the rear of the hotel (country view) as I didn't think a balcony was suitable for my young daughter. This was in the old part of the building and was spacious and clean. All of the sea view rooms have balconies. The rooms in the newer wing are smaller but by no means cramped. Decor is maybe a little dated but not radically different to anywhere else I've stayed on the island. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, on the first night I requested to borrow an ironing board and this was delivered to our room within ten minutes.
I would recommend half board accommodation as the food is fantastic, especially the evening meals. We found it was possible to just have a small snack at lunchtimes as the breakfast really sets you up for the day and the evening meals are tasty and filling with up to five separate options for main course each evening. Supplementary dishes are available at extra cost on request, including fresh lobster! Childrens menus are available and they too are generous on portion sizes! Restaurant service is efficient despite only four staff waiting tables and bar. Certainly in contrast to some other hotels where you seem to wait an eternity between courses.
The hotel bar area is bright and welcoming, but small. However it is reasonably priced with a separate games room with a pool table and games machine. There is also a tv lounge area separate from the bar.
The outdoor heated swimming pool is small, but clean and sits within a well presented garden with sun loungers and outdoor tables and chairs available.
The hotel is around 15 minutes drive from St Helier and the harbour, and 25-30 minutes from the airport. Everything is in easy reach if driving, although daytime traffic out to the west towards St Aubin is often heavy. There is a car park at the hotel, which can be tight in even a small car when full. However for those not driving bus route 1 between St Helier and Gorey is frequent and stops outside the hotel on the coast road. It also runs until midnight so you can still go into town or Gorey after your evening meal. There are also buses on route 1A which serve St Clements Church on the inner road, which is just a five minute walk from the hotel along Rue de Jambart.
Across the road from the hotel is St Clements Bay, a tranquil beach only seemingly used by a handful of locals as there are no real amenities. It also has one of the largest tidal ranges in the world, with the sea coming right up to the wall at high tide, and stretching out beyond a distant tower on the horizon at low tide. The top of the beach is sandy, but its quite rocky as the tide falls - great for rockpool fishing though!
We have already booked to return here in 2014!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank robbo84klfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A heated pool! Staff very helpful and made you feel like you have been a regular for years. Quiet and lovely location with a bus stop outside the hotel. We only stayed bnb. Breakfast could do with better quality sausages is my only negative.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roughlee_Handled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, but the restaurant is open to non residents. We had the Sunday set menu, four courses for £17.50. There was a great selection including vegetarian options (which I had). Everything was excellent! Food was good, good size portions, quick courteous service. We will be coming back.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank citlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Pontac House is ideal if you want a quiet break in a clean, pleasant and friendly hotel. Staff were very helpful at all times, particularly the dining room team. Breakfast is generous and both the à la carte and set dinner menus offer variety and are good value for money. I was travelling with an adult son and 87 year old mother and we all three had comfortable rooms. As we'd booked last minute, ground floor rooms weren't available and the hotel doesn't have a lift. However, it's a small place and my mother managed the stairs to her first floor sea view room in the annexe without difficulty. The hotel's location is ideal for getting around the island, a bus stop with a regular service to St Helier or Gorey being right outside. Jersey busses are reliable but expensive and it's worth noting that there is no longer a 5-day discount ticket and Sunday timetables are very limited compared to the rest of the week. A taxi to or from the airport to the hotel will cost you around £20. The hotel pool and other outdoor areas are beautifully maintained, especially the flower beds and borders (end of May/early June). The showers in the rooms we occupied were rather old and idiosyncratic, hence the lower score for rooms overall. A pity, as the bathrooms are otherwise very good spec and seemed recently refurbished. Our beds were very comfortable and the rooms warm. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Clement
0.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
152.0 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St. Helier
388 reviews
153.9 mi away
Beausite Hotel
Beausite Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grouville
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pontac House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pontac House Hotel

Property: The Pontac House Hotel
Address: La Grande Route de La Cote, St. Clement JE2 6SE
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Clement
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St. Clement
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pontac House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pontac House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pontac Hotel
Pontac Hotel St Clement
The Pontac House Hotel Jersey/St. Clement

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing