We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samares Manor

Samares Manor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Norman manor house has an international renowned herb garden.
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Having walked from St Helier to see the gardens felt we had to pay the £7.50 admission to justify the exercise. But what a disappointment. I know that my garden at home was late with the plants coming out but I expected being further south that there might be some flowers. The gardens were basically a mess - even the plants that were there weren't labelled. I'm sure in the height of the summer it might look lovely but if there is nothing to see then a reduction should be made to the admission price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Powell1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samaresmanoradmin, General Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to Samares Manor Gardens. Unfortunately we had a very tough winter and it took a while to catch up with maintenance. As you will see from the May reviews, they are looking very impressive now. We are working on ideas to produce more early spring colour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    107
    35
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must for Garden Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We didn't visit the Manor House itself but the gardens are beautifully laid out and immaculately kept. Out of town but well worth the effort to find it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank peter_ivybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samaresmanoradmin, General Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
You are quite correct about Garden Lovers. We find that it is the diversity of styles that visitors find inspiring - ranging from areas that date from the 1920s to recent developments that reflect contemporary interest in planting and design.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“pleasant but expensive and not as well-kept as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Generally this was a pleasant wander round pretty gardens on a sunny day with a toddler. Some positives but also a few negatives here.

There are huge Koi, a few very cute ducklings, and we saw a newt in the pond by the restaurant. Lots of ducks. The garden though is overgrown and appears unkempt in places considering that I think it's a display garden.

There is a small play area for kids - couple of swings, monkey bars and a chute. Swings oddly are at adult stomach/chest height (not sure why!).

They only have baby changing in the female restaurant toilet. The restaurant manager kindly let me use it after checking the toilet was empty but this wasn't ideal.

As others have said it is expensive to get in here, and the fee doesn't cover the manor.

The willow labyrinth is a misnomer, as it's a meandering path with no possibility of getting lost..! Also the jungle path seems (to the uneducated) just to be an overgrown path with lots of ivy, but some bamboo planted around it, and someone's Easyjet ticket stubs lying by the path - didn't look much like the Amazon.

pleasant on a sunny day, but not amazing by any stretch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Complete and utter let down...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We took some visiting family here who were on holiday. For the £7.50 entry fee we expected this to be fantastic, but we were so underwelmed with the whole visit.

Where are they going wrong?

1 - The overall state of the gardens was poor. There were cuttings thrown about all over the place and some of the paths were very overgrown with nettles and brambles. Very untidy.
2 - The herb garden did not seem to be complete and was poorly maintained. On top of that we could not smell much apart from a tinge of lavender.
3 - The advertised waterfall...if you call 6 inches a waterfall and about a foot in the Japanese garden.
4 - We were disappointed that the Manor House was closed and not open for visits, but if it had been I am not sure we would have paid the addtional money to go in.
5 - The gift shop needs a revamp, too much tat.
6 - The lady at reception was bland and not a smile to been seen.

This place has so much potential, but is let down by poor value for money, poor grounds, and closed attractions.

If we were too ealry in the season then please reduce your prices.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pfh147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samaresmanoradmin, General Manager at Samares Manor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. We had a tough winter and it took a while to get the grounds in good shape. You will notice from recent reviews that we are now getting very positive reviews. The other issues you mention will be looked into. We always welcome constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average at best; nice mare's tail...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The good news for us is that we had a half price pass, so the entrance fee hit at the front gate wasn't too bad. The formal parts adjacent to the house are well kept and interesting, but why have restricted access to the house and museum? Many would surely like to inspect them to enrich their experience at this site. Our May visit coincided with flowering camelias that were impressive, only usurped by the legions of flowering mares tail that have taken over the willow walk area entirely and are happily invading the rockeries and ponds. They will need a legion of gardeners to eradicate it, good luck to them! The restaurant, in some ways representative of all of Jersey, was decent, but not cheap.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samares Manor also viewed

 

Been to Samares Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing