We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not child friendly”
Review of Old Smugglers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Brelade
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Smugglers Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 St. Brelade B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not child friendly”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

As a family we called in yesterday , the first bar was full so we moved into the second bar and were told by a very unfriendly waitress that we could not sit there unless we were eating, the place was almost empty, but there were people already there who were only having a drink and not eating. We found this very unwelcoming and the place was virtually empty. Would not reccommend this place to families.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

In my opinion the smugglers does the best pub food in jersey

Great for a pub tea or Sunday lunch

Service is always swift and efficient and great value especially during promotions

The espadadas are some of the best in the island which I good going given the Portuguese influence in jersey

Great real ale as well and nice cost bar

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macattack76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

There is something very satisfying about having a pint at the Smugglers on a cold winters day after a walk along the beach or a paddle in the kayaks. The warm fire provides a nice welcome, the staff are friendly and there is usually something interesting from a real ale perspective. If you get the chance an evening visit when local band Sgt Pipon are playing is an added bonus. The food is good value and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Last night was the first time I'd been here for a couple of years, as I felt on my last visit it had let it's game slip a bit, and with so much choice in Jersey you go elsewhere next time...
They had 3 real ale beers on last night, not as many as some pubs in the UK would have, but more that other pubs in Jersey I could mention.. so beer chosen my thoughts turned to food.
The 'Tennerfest' menu had plenty of choice so eventually I had the hot breaded brie to start, very tasty... then flame grilled chicken espetada with chips & salad which was ok, the chicken was a little dry and not quite as much of it as I would have liked.. but the desert was lovely, strawberry meringue.
All it all it was good value for money, £15 for the 3 courses.
So overall an improvement on my last visit, but just let down on a few points short of excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
686 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This pub is our favourite place to eat when we visit Jersey and on our last week's stay, we visited it three times. That still wasn't enough!

The choice of food is excellent and the staff are friendly, if a little rushed due to the pub always being busy. The food is good value for money and extremely tasty. I had the best scampi here that I've ever had anywhere!

The atmosphere of the pub is good and quite cosy and atmospheric. Read up on the place mats about its history and look at the artifacts on the walls. After your meal, walk down to the beach and take lots of photographs of this lovely view! Large car park across the road from the pub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The title says it all...great food and huge portions...a place that is not artificial with very friendly staff.
A rather drunken foul mouthed local (I think) added some unwanted colour to our visit but left just after our food arrived meaning we enjoyed out meal in a more peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington Surrey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

To be fair we didn't eat. We just wanted a nice pint at a 'camra' pub. Well perhaps I've been spoiled! My local offers a warm friendly welcome with at least 6-10 great beers to choose from-sadly 2 beers, 1 cider and a lager in a dark, sparce environment did not 'cut the mustard' What a disapointment!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St. Aubin
526 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
755 reviews
3.5 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#1 of 2 in St. Ouen
230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seawold Guest House
Seawold Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Peter
116 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay View Guest House
Bay View Guest House
#3 of 20 in St. Helier
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Smugglers Inn

Property: Old Smugglers Inn
Address: Quaisnè, St. Brelade JE3 8AW
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in St. Brelade
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Old Smugglers Inn Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing