We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Holiday”
Review of Biarritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Biarritz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just enjoyed our holiday at the Biarritz Hotel where from the management down everyone is helpful, friendly and very willing to make a holiday great. The views from the hotel over the bay are wonderful only matched by the wonderful food. We are looking forward to being back next year to once again enjoy another holiday.

Don & Di Quick....Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 541 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Biarritz Hotel lived up to it's reputation again. We have just returned from another fantastic week as a family holiday at St Brelade's Bay staying at the Biarritz. This time we were fortunate to have a room with a small balcony overlooking the beach which was great to be able to leave beach stuff on to dry out. The service was faultless and food beyond expectation. You would have a hard job to complain about a week staying here. The situation overlooking the bay is picture perfect and ideally located for beach activities. Our two children (6 and 8) loved the clean beach and were very well entertained by children's activities laid on by the hotel. Although there is no bar or alcohol provided the Hotel was happy for us to bring our own bottle of wine to dinner with no corkage charge. The rooms are clean and well maintained and not over fussy. I fully recommend the Briarritz and will be looking forward to a return trip next year!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is nice to dry stuff on if you have been in the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We thought that we had made a big mistake in booking here when we first arrived but we were proven wrong as time went on. Many of the guests return year after year so that must say something.
The decor is a little jaded - you stop noticing that quite quickly and it is very clean.
There is no bar and there isn't even a license to serve alcohol so no glass of wine with your dinner here! - there will be no noisy revellers to stop you having an early night though (they all go elsewhere)
There are blankets on the beds - however peeling these off in layers does save the 'freeze or fry' syndrome.
The bath towels are rather small - thin people won't know that.

When we came down to dinner the restaurant manager said that he would "show you to your table", we were amazed to be seated on a table with two other guests, they looked pretty shocked too.
There was no warning about this arrangement which appears to be the normal hotel practice and which could have made the holiday hell for all concerned.
The hotel would not have known that they were seating us with a lovely couple who enhanced our holiday and who we spent quality time with.

This was our first experience of 'half board' so we're not qualified to judge this aspect really but the arrangement is table d'hôte and although we felt a little restricted by having to pre-book our evening main course whilst eating breakfast, the quality of the food was a pleasant surprise.

The staff are; without exception; friendly, hard working, very polite and very helpful. If you really wanted to be critical you could say that they are a little too enthusiastic on occasion - hold on to your plate if you are considering another piece of toast!

The view from our sea facing room was stunning. The hotel has probably got the best position on the prettiest bay on Jersey.
St. Brelades beach has a very wide swathe of fine, almost pink, sand. The hotel gardens are well tended. There is a small play area for children outside, a games room inside and board games are also available to borrow from reception.
Just about everything you could want is either already here or available on request (unless it involves alcohol)

We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little basic so go for the best one you can afford and definitely with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have just managed to get all the sand out of the swimming costumes having returned from yet another wonderful holiday in this special place. It really is a second home and my family would not consider staying anywhere else in Jersey. Our annual holiday at the Biarritz is just "what we do as a family". We have been holidaying here for many, many years and our children all their lives so far.Fantastic food,friendly and accommodating staff, comfy rooms, varied programme of events for all ages and the easy access to the most beautiful beach on the island make it a winning combination.We very much liked the newly decorated and air conditioned dining room this year too.Two weeks went by all too fast but as Duncan the manager always says "its two weeks nearer to coming back again next year" We are booked for 2013.Thank you everyone for a fabulous time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cirlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Went back to the Biarritz again this year ... sadly the wonderful Janet has left, which seems to have left the reception area a bit flat! The newly refurbished dining room is a marked improvement - modern and uncluttered. The lovely Joseph runs the restaurant with a smile and the food is good and wholesome - although some of the dishes were recognisable from last year a good variety was offered ( we did go out on Sunday evening as the cold cuts buffet doesn't really float our boat!) It is very easy to have a relaxed, happy holiday at the Biarritz - the folk are very friendly - our 12 year old son made some pals to hang out with - the hotel arranged beach cricket, a cinema night and various kids activities like face/shell painting. The hotel has a coffee shop open from 9-10.45 each evening but you have to wander down the bay for a drink - which is no hardship as it's such a lovely walk after a girdlebuster three course dinner !

Room Tip: Factor in some extra cash to pay for a sea view ... it is truely awesome to wake up to the view of S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our first stay at the Biarritz hotel, and my goodness, what a wonderfully relaxing and revitalising two weeks they were.
Duncan the manager and his team of eager helpers thought of everything to make our stay most comfortable.
Pete Webb (the local guide) generously shared his extensive knowledge of the Island history and flora on his absorbing guided walks.
The food was excellent and enjoyed whilst soaking up panoramic views across St Brelades Bay.
Thank you all for such a happy holiday; hope to see you all again next year.
Mavis & Sylvia (Mother & Daughter).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned from our first visit to the Biarritz Hotel with my husband and 12 year old daughter. We have had a truly relaxing break. The views across the bay have to be seen, the food served was excellent, the children's buffet made evening dinner enjoyable for everyone and Pete Webb, the local Jersey guide, took us, with other guests, on walks to discover hidden local treasures. Our room, or should I say suite, was very comfortable and relaxing. Children's activities were enjoyed by all the young people. The Hotels access to the beach gave us all the space and reassurance that we could all enjoy our holiday. Thank you again - we will return !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIARRITZJERSEY, General Manager at Biarritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you WendyB.
I am very pleased to know that we met and exceeded your expectations.
Your review is gratefully received.
DUNCAN A O'NEILL
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,071 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#8 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St. Brelade
865 reviews
4.9 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
882 reviews
0.8 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biarritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biarritz Hotel

Address: Le Mont Sohier, St Brelades Bay, St. Brelade JE3 8EA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range: $150 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Biarritz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Biarritz Hotel - Jersey. A haven of peace and tranquility on the beautiful beach of St Brelade's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Biarritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biarritz Hotel St Brelade
Biarritz Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing