We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit of many to St Brelade and Windmills”
Review of Windmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmills Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First visit of many to St Brelade and Windmills”
Reviewed November 10, 2009

My partner,her sister and myself stayed at the Windmills for one week and the owners, staff, rooms, food and all were top class ~ i find it unbelievable that someone can write such negative comments about such a charming hotel !!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian56glossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    69
    19
    2
    6
See reviews for
156
336
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I am not one to write on these sites, as I believe in visiting a range of hotels and accommodation providers, and making my own decision, however I felt compelled to write as I cannot believe the comment below.
I discovered the Windmills Hotel whilst browsing the web, and the description, location and facilities fitted my requirements, so I went ahead and booked a double room, with a sea view (and that is some sea view!!!) on bed and breakfast.
From making the booking everything was made so easy for us. The management were extremely experienced and every question and query we had, we got a detailed response. ALL other staff where helpful, friendly, attentative and proffesional.
We had one evening meal while we were there, and like everything else, was perfect.

We will definately be returning, and recommending to family and friends of ours who regularly visit the Island.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevHousehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Having stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world and enjoyed 5 star luxury many times on two of the most prestigious cruise lines,Jersey we now regard as our second home.Staying at the Windmills is an essential part of our calendar.Jane and Steve Laws are two of the most charming people we have ever met,proffesional and caring to the extreme which reflects in their staff.We discovered Windmills in our early fifties,is that old? Having met many delightful younger guests who return year after year,Fawlty Towers it most certainly is not..We described Windmills as the best value for money hotel on the island we have to change that to the best hotel on the island and that is our opinion,having just arrived home from the Windmills,we are now looking forward to our stay next year

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed at Windmills for 4 nights – half board last week….i have to say it is a fantastic hotel.
The Staff are lovely and always friendly and helpful. The food is great, and there is always extra if you would like it or they will change the menu around to suite your individual needs….That’s if you can manage to tear yourself away from the fantastic view over the bay from your table in the restaurant…believe me its wonderful!!!
We did not book a sea view room, which would have been nice, but we were not disappointed with our room as the views from the restaurant, bar and Terrance make up for that and we spent very little time in our room anyway.
This was our first trip to Jersey…and we hope to come back again very soon @ will stay at this hotel again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baggiebirdunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We have visited Jersey since 1981 and stayed north and south of this beautiful island having had no complaints whatsoever wherever we have stayed. Preferring to stay close to St. Brelades Bay and Portelet Bay and in view of the fact that that two major hotels we stayed at in the past many times have now closed we chose Windmills on the strength of its locality and fabulous views which are without doubt amazing.
When we arrived it was clear that there was a no warm welcome to which we had been accustomed at previous hotels visited.
We found hotel was not only understaffed, but incompetent and/or inadequate. There was no real attempt to be friendly to guests in the bar/lounge as only one person was on duty throughout the main part of the day multi-tasking. After dinner the bar attendant alone had to serve the coffee, attend to reception whenever possible, serving alcohol and clear glasses etc. Service in this area was poor. The lack of some sort of "buzz" and atmosphere in the bar/lounge caused the majority guests go to their rooms and watch TV after dinner. Not something you go on holiday to do really. We saw "Repeat guests" of this hotel (which I am amazed about) who knew the system, advising guests where to find their key themselves after being out for an evening walk as there was no one answering the bell on reception, many times, due to the bar requiring attention.
The food was our main source of complaint, possibly in our opinion, being bought on a low budget (i.e. some frozen and even tinned mushy peas!) There was a lack of excitement on the menu - no mention of fresh genuine Jersey produce. The menu was rotated each week and we found the food "TRYING" to be pretentious but failing and ill-advisedly presented, surely not something we would expect a "qualified chef/ Cook" would ever do! As soon as a food plate had been finished with it was collected even though the rest of the table were still eating - most uncomfortable for the persons still eating and lacking sensitivity, professionalism and etiquette!
On the whole we were extremely disappointed in the lack of effort to engender a warm invitation and holiday spirit. Enthusiasm, personality, energy and happiness is the key in any business success which we felt was missing certainly by the Management and some of the staff at this hotel. There was just no spark - it was just a job!
This hotel is in a prime site. Location! Location! Location! If the management looks at the real potential and spends money on "Quality", happy staffing, updating/decorating the bedrooms, the restaurant bar/lounge properly instead of slapping paint here and there we are sure it would be a profitable, worthwhile exercise! I wish it was my hotel!
Looks like its back to the drawing board for another hotel in this area for next year. Can't surely be any worse.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beany09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseygirlJersey, owner at Windmills Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
This review makes extremely uncomfortable reading and we take it on the chin. I have conducted a full review into all allegations and can assure potential guests of the Windmills Hotel of the following FACTS
1. We have operated this hotel for 17 years and remain very successful but are always looking for ways to improve and have invested heavily in the hotel, almost £1 million pounds in the past 10 years. We are extremely encouraged by the vast majority of reviews of our hotel.
2. We have record numbers of repeat guests every year and have already created a new record for 2010 and indeed 2011.
3. We have had more positive comments regarding our staff this year than any other, reflected in record levels of staff gratuities.
4. A survey of our staff revealed high levels of job satisfaction and most will return next year.
5. All staff have been made aware of this review and will continue to look for ways of improving service levels where possible.
6. An independent review of staffing levels concluded that we are well positioned within our 3 star grade and need not increase staff numbers.
7. Only this month we were inspected by Visit Britain and again the report was very complimentary confirming that we are well positioned at the top end of 3 Star grading.
In conclusion it is always regrettable to us when we receive negative comments regading the hotel. I am happy to respond to constructive criticism but find personal comments not to be in the spirit of trip advisor reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Myself and my husband have just returned from a week at the windmills hotel, we have been going for the last 3 years and it gets better and better each time we go! The staff, including the owners are always so helpful and friendly (i am unsure where the remark about Basil Faulty comes from!) Steve and his wife Jane have always made our stay extremey comfortable and welcoming! The hotel has recently been refurbished and it looks amazing - very modern and if the decor is not your taste the views are outstanding!! I would recommend this hotel to all our friends in an instant, in fact we are planning on returning at Easter with my mother!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thistledonicely9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Back at home now - the best place in the world !!
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Very old fashioned style of hotel. In desperate need of an update and a good clean.
Very popular with older people, possibly reminds them of a by-gone era ?
Owner seemed very 'Basil Fawlty'.
Our room was incredibly noisy, bordering on intolerable. We were directly underneath the kitchen/dining room, so the noise started at 7am and finished after 10pm.
If you check other reviews of this hotel, check the age of the reviewer.
We've stayed in some pretty poor hotels across the world but this place was something else.
Not for us, never again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pebbles_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,181 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
782 reviews
5.1 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Biarritz Hotel
Biarritz Hotel
#3 of 16 in St. Brelade
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Hotel

Property: Windmills Hotel
Address: Le Mont Gras d'Eau, St. Brelade JE3 8ED
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmills Hotel has an official (JQA) 3 Star grading. It is a family run hotel and the ideal base from which to enjoy your Jersey experience. Apart from its amazing sea views, the Hotel is a short downhill walk to St Brelade beach, only 100 metres to the nearest bus stop and within easy reach of St Aubins village and the railway walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Hotel St Brelade
Windmills Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing