We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our special retreat-- Windmills Hotel.”
Review of Windmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmills Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our special retreat-- Windmills Hotel.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Another fantastic stay at our favorite hotel , very relaxing ( as i have not long been out of hospital) and friendly. The food was exellent as always -- pity the weather was a bit inclement but didnt spoil our enjoyment , will certainly return again next year.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 515HDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    68
    19
    2
    6
See reviews for
151
321
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Easy to find with an outstanding view of St. Brelade's Bay. Service was excellent and staff very friendly. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Plenty of seating in the bar area and outside on the terrace. Very good choice of food on the breakfast menu and service very prompt. Our room had a good sized balcony with plenty of room for the sun loungers, chairs and a table. We also used the outdoor pool. There bus stop was a short walk away and buses appeared to be running regularly. The only downside was the steep walk back up the lane from St. Brelade's Bay back to the hotel which might be offputting to the less able. Would definately reccomend this hotel as a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flossie028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at this lovely Hotel in August for a few days. Location is great with easy access to the most wonderful beach. The view from the Hotel is one of the best I have ever seen and we have been to de-luxe Hotels all over the World. We have an older and younger child and both enjoyed themselves as much as we did. Food was good and what a view. The rooms are clean and the en suites are newly furbished it seems and very clean. One of the best Hotels in the area and will go back again some day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dizzydawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

thank you jane and steve for another perfect holiday,we have met many delightful guests,interesting and very intelligent,jerseygirlsreply to mugggleB expresses it all,I wont go on about the great food great service and a car park big enough to park 10 articulated lorries,see you next year,lots of love

Room Tip: any room will be a pleasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margaretandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Our room had a sea view and was clean; car parking spaces are tight. The service was friendly but the food was not great - tough chicken, pitta bread like rubber, overcooked steaks and breakfasts that had been kept warm for so long that the eggs were like plastic. We felt that the food let the hotel down. Also, the vast majority of guests were elderly and seemed to know each other and the proprietors quite well; it was a bit like being at one of my Granny's tea parties! This is, of course, not a criticism of the hotel but just making others aware that if you are not yet collecting your pension you may feel somewhat excluded.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuggleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseygirlJersey, Owner at Windmills Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you, as always we appreciate the time and effort to review the Hotel but feel compelled to counter the ageist tone of this review.
The Windmills attracts and welcomes people of all ages, and over the full season caters to a wide range of ages and interests from babies to “grannys”. September is well known as a month more attractive to those who can avoid the school holiday season and it will be for others to judge as to the relevance of highlighting the age profile of any given few days or week.
We do encourage all our Guests to bring any issues to our attention, at any time, so we can attempt to resolve them. We will certainly look into the issues raised, albeit retrospectively, regarding the food as part of our on-going efforts to offer as high a standard as possible in all departments.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Once again we have to praise Jane & Steve, and all the other staff for their wonderful hospitality, they were all so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. From our arrival at reception, to the dining room team and bar staff, all made you feel at home. A fantastic view, made better if you have a sea view, and one you can never tire of seeing. Can’t wait to return!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our stay at the Windmills Hotel has been the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. We had a seaview room with a balcony and the view from our room (and the restaurant, bar and terrace) is absolutely stunning. The hotel has everything you could ask for for a wonderful relaxing holiday, comfortable clean rooms, a lovely bar and restaurant, a pool and terrace on which to enjoy afternoon tea or a glass of wine whilst taking in the gorgeous view. We were staying on a B & B basis but ate in the restaurant there each evening where the food was delicious. If all that relaxing gets too much for you, the beautiful St. Brelade's Beach is just down the hill and there is a very efficient bus service to other parts of the island from the top of the road. A fantastic holiday in a wonderful hotel. Thank you to everyone there who made it all possible.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarieandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Brelade hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St. Brelade
499 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
711 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St. Aubin
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Hotel

Property: Windmills Hotel
Address: Le Mont Gras d'Eau, St. Brelade JE3 8ED
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmills Hotel has an official (JQA) 3 Star grading. It is a family run hotel and the ideal base from which to enjoy your Jersey experience. Apart from its amazing sea views, the Hotel is a short downhill walk to St Brelade beach, only 100 metres to the nearest bus stop and within easy reach of St Aubins village and the railway walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Windmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Hotel St Brelade
Windmills Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing