We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The return of return business”
Review of Windmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmills Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our third year in a row of an early season visit. As ever, the views are stunning, the staff are friendly, efficient and very good humoured wherever they are; desk, bar, restaurant, housekeeping. Some minor procedural changes this year in the dining room, but for the better for all concerned and the food is as good as ever - as is the wine list. We came to 'do' things, but I could sit and look at that view for hours. A model of a welcoming, comfortable, efficient hotel, as shown by the other returning guests we saw. You can pay a lot more for a lot less on Jersey. Three years? We booked for next year immediately.

Room Tip: Beach views are the star feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staffsyeoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseygirlJersey, Owner at Windmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We appreciate all feedback and so glad that your enjoyed your recent stay with us, for the 3rd time! Also pleasing that the few changes we made met with approval. All departments have been commended based on your comments.
Steve and Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 621 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived for 4 night break 12 May after a very agreeable flight, and an easy pick up at Europcar. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. We were very pleased with our rooms and view was breathtaking. The cleanliness of the hotel is to be commended and the meals were wonderful with excellent choice. We made use of the sun loungers and the terrace which is beautiful. I think your excellent staff are an asset to your team, and I would certainly stay with you again should the opportunity to visit Jersey again arise.

Room Tip: get a sea view room if you can - you will not want to leave it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueV291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseygirlJersey, Owner at Windmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for the time to feedback to us and Tripadvisor viewers. We are hoping to reply to all reviews in the future as within all of them, both good and bad, there are helpful tips for us. We are so pleased that for you it was a positive experience and that you would recommend us to others. Steve and Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The view s from your balcony are stunning, the food was excellent, staff service some of the best we have ever had and the place was just so clean. Without a doubt we will be going back. I would recommend half board as the food menu's change daily and have excellent choices. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming. Very Relaxing

Room Tip: Book a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Really went well from first contact with the hotel. We stayed for four nights over Bank Holiday weekend and had a wonderful time - our first visit to Jersey. Arrived on an early flight but were able to check in to our room immediately and could have stayed there looking at the view forever! We didn't have a car but the hotel is located very close to the airport bus route, which made it easy to travel in to St Helier and back to the airport on the regular service - also just a short walk down to St Brelades bay and the beautiful beach and cafes there.
Staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful, and the menu was varied every day so plenty of choice if you eat in - would recommend the half board option, we usually prefer to eat out in the evenings but in this case we ate at the hotel every evening.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view - we had room 25 which had a good sized living area and views out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Only stayed 3 nights, but had such a good experience that we wished it could have been longer. We will certainly be going back there. cannot speak highly enough of this Hotel. Staff and Management made us very welcome from the first minute we stepped into the foyer. Food exquisite, well done Chef. Had a beautiful view from our room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My elderly blind mother and I stayed for 5 nights in May. The hotel was absolutely great for us - central location, charming staff and excellent food, service and facilities. Hotel was very clean, light & airy and comfortable.
Thank you to all the staff there for making our trip such a pleasure.

Room Tip: We chose a sea view with balcony for my Mum and she loved it - so bright and stunning views. My sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyinghigh2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for many years, but had to miss the last couple of years. We have always loved it, good food, lovely staff, small enough to know the residents and big enough to have good services.
This time, the menu had changed and is even better than before. The breakfasts are superb with an amazing choice, cereals, yoghurt and fruit, followed by full English, Vegetarian, Eggs Benedict, smoked salmon & scrambled egg, kippers and a croissant with ham, cheese and tomato...which was so good we have made it at home. The dinners have a wonderful choice and an excellent selection of deserts. The bar menu is also very good and available all day. Good selection of reasonably priced drinks.
Then there is the view which still takes our breath away. The rooms are lovely and always clean and well maintained. Having returned after our enforced break, it was like returning home. The staff are like family.
I cannot think of anywhere I'd rather stay.

Room Tip: Personally, I would always go for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Biarritz Hotel
Biarritz Hotel
#2 of 16 in St. Brelade
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
770 reviews
5.1 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
858 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Hotel

Address: Le Mont Gras d'Eau, St. Brelade JE3 8ED
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range: $130 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmills Hotel has an official (JQA) 3 Star grading. It is a family run hotel and the ideal base from which to enjoy your Jersey experience. Apart from its amazing sea views, the Hotel is a short downhill walk to St Brelade beach, only 100 metres to the nearest bus stop and within easy reach of St Aubins village and the railway walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Windmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Hotel St Brelade
Windmills Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing