We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was my first time in Jersey, I travelled by plane, it took only 20 minutes, the hotel was only 10 minutes away.
I arrived early and my room was ready, the staff took my cases before I even said hello, I had been upgraded to a suite, wow, penthouse, I have never stayed in something so amazing.
I booked bed and breakfast but after eating in the restaurant I quickly changed to half board, I was allocated my own waiter and was looked after like a king.
Breakfast was a grand buffet and my eggs cooked fresh from the kitchen, I also had haddock one day with no extra charge.
We also treated ourselved to afternoon tea, only £11 each, huge selection of cakes, sandwiches and homemade warm scones.
It was overall one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller19822013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 865 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you want lively nightlife then this is not the place for you. If you want to stay in a really comfortable hotel in a beautiful location then this hotel will be difficult to beat in Jersey. We had a spacious garden view room, nice bathroom, newly refurbished room with a quality that was greater than I have become accompanied with Starwood and Marriott in the US. The gardens are immaculate and the view at the back of the hotel is almost as good as the sea view at the front.

We found the service in the hotel to be good. The chamber maid was particularly charismatic

Breakfast was perfectly fine. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment. We had friends round to the hotel for drinks on a couple of occasions and had an enjoyable time.

A big plus is the health club and pool. Probably better than any other hotel we have had access to anywhere in the World.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting a lot from this hotel and in terms of the room (Beauport suite) an facilities it didn't let us down. The service if the staff though and the food did! It was woeful. The breakfast was almost inedible and like a cattle market people squeezing past tables etc. dinner the night before was disgusting and the service was either too quick (ie your plates taken away while there wa food still in your mouth) or non existent (eg waiting 20 minutes for a coffee and having to ask three times for said coffee). Stay here but have dinner somewhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Firstly the website does not reflect the in-room amenities, and the PDF brochure room details don't reflect same info. No mention of there being in room tea/coffee making facilities. Annoying its not listed. Hotel on arrival a seemed OK. Room not a bad size (sea view with balcony), but bathroom was sooooo hot! At night it was unbrearable. Why don't hotels enable you to have a night light in there rather the full light goes on and the fan comes in (internal bathroom no windows), so everyone is woken up.

Staff seem to lack the genuine smile..not discouteous but not smiley happy faces most of the time.

Had to wait ages in the bar (no one else in their but two staff seem to be doing something or other). Don't understand why they cant at least acknowledge your presence and indicate they willbe over in a minute. Second time this happened, staff were so engrossed in the other two sets customers, they again chose not to even indcate they had sen us sit down. After 15 mins we walked out and then cancelled our dinner reservation as thought their attention was always elsewhere and not on the job at hand.

The hotel has refurbished and it looks quite nice in both public areas and the rooms. Housekeeping do a good job.

Breakfast is what you would imagine - typical buffet and you can ask for anything else you don't see. Trouble is there is no menu card to see what else is available, and when asked for Eggs Benedict the waiter had no idea. Having said poached eggs with holladaise ...the waiter checked with chef. Said yes. Great. Came back with two poached eggs with hollandaise on two rashers of bacon and no muffin or even toast underneath! I dare not ask for French Toast!! Silly but in this day this did not seem an unusual dish to request. No cereals were labelled so no idea which may have less sugar in, plus no choice of reduced sugar jams.You could not tell if any of the fruit salad/grapefruit were in fruit juice or syrup. Seems they dont cater for a more modern day diet.

Several reception staff did not know about timings of local buses. They referred to timetables but were not accurate about buses running into 9-10pm!!

Predomeintely older repeat guests seem to be their main clients and several people who were staying there for the first time said the hotel was more like a retirement home.

Room Tip: Sea view ith balcony great, but be prepared for traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A superb hotel which meets expectations - the warm welcome, the excellent service and the level of comfort. The hotel's own grounds, pool etc are immaculate, colourful and restful. St Brelade's Bay is itself a charming spot and the hotel fits beautifully into this setting. Although Jersey offers a wide variety of superb restaurants etc (several in the vicinity) the hotel restaurant/dining room does not disappoint. The feeling of well-being experienced throughout our stay places a return visit to this hotel high on "the list of things to do again".

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I am not normally a hotel person much preferring luxury five star self catering accommodation but this is a top quality hotel without any of the stuffiness often associated with British 4 and 5 star hotels. They have achieved American standards and service, including excellent eating choices and a fine breakfast buffet which gets close to some of the Singapore hotels I have stayed in, which would be nice if others in the UK could do more often!! A simply lovely location overlooking the bay which is only a few steps away across the promenade. It is well located for the tourist attractions on the island and St Helier is pretty close, I would suggest a hire car from the delightful small airport. Put simply a wonderful choice fro a hotel on Jersey.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms appear to be overlooking the bay and should be chosen for the outstanding views. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A few days away after the schools have gone back seems to be a popular choice these days especially with me! The choice of the St Brelades Bay hotel was made on the promise of the stunning views from the sea view rooms so one of these was booked accordingly.
The room was fantastic, clean, smart and very spacious. Nicely laid out and with those stunning views over the bay. Quite exceptional.
The staff were very good, always helpful and courteous and my only gripe is that the evening meals were a bit "school dinnerish" There are many great places to eat on Jersey and to be honest this is not the greatest. It has the potential but just does not quite deliver, a shame as the rest of the hotel is fine.
One also got the impression that the seating arrangements in the dining room were provided on a basis depending on your importance, but that may be just me. We were given a table the first day that was more like being in a corridor where all the waiting staff had to go past all the time which was annoying but later on in the week we were "upgraded" so to speak to a table nearer the window and then finally we reached the window on the last day!

The spa and fitness centre is of top quality if you want it. Being quite new it is very smart.

All in all a pleasant stay in nice surroundings, just we ate out most of the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#8 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#10 of 16 in St. Brelade
676 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
785 reviews
1.4 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
961 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Brelades Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Brelades Bay Hotel

Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade JE3 8EF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range: $188 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Brelades Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Brelades Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Brelades Bay Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade
St Brelades Bay Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing