We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting (no pun intended)!”
Review of Battery Lothringen

Ranked #7 of 26 things to do in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very interesting (no pun intended)!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went mid-week and so was not able to gain access inside the fortifications. Nevertheless, it was a very interesting hour spend and some nice scenic views for those not interested in WW2 stuff. Take the advice of other reviewers & check the opening times before going as it sounds like the entrance fee of £2.50 is a bargain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank PeteW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    34
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“worth a visit, check opening times”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited the battery, after seeing the tourist leaflet. we timed our visit, so they were open...check this, its only open on weekends mostly, so check before you go on the channel islands occupation society website. We paid £2.50 to go in, worth every penny, and a real insight. The volunteers (volunteers - hence the limited opening hours) were fantastic and knew their stuff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank KCN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Err what attraction”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We drove all the way up it was locked up the old gun turrets etc are there but not an attraction just a relic if old views over to France etc i suppose are good

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crb22462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIOS_Jersey, Owner at Battery Lothringen, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Our bunkers are opened by volunteers (we are a non-profit historical society) and so we regret we can't keep them open full time. Opening times are listed on our website and kept current. If you come with a group we are happy to do private group tours of this and our other bunkers year-round.

Apologies for not being open on the day you visited but if you return to Jersey I hope you come on an open day, or at least contact us ahead of time to arrange a private tour. This is a really large, unique bunker extending three levels down and we hope you can see the inside someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The CIOS have done some excellent additions to the displays here at Noirmont, everyone visiting the Channel Islands should take time to visit either this or some of the other CIOS sites... You get far better information and a feel for what it was really like, than at the Hospital... Or Jersey War Tunnels as they call it now! Well done Paul and all the CIOS members... See you next time we are on the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Avianbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Best occupation site on Jersey”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

In my opinion this gives the best impression of the overwhelming presence of the Germans and the extent of the armaments that they installed on Jersey. Go there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveller1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battery Lothringen also viewed

 

Been to Battery Lothringen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing