We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly atmosphere”
Review of Highlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highlands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently stayed, as one of a small party, for four nights at this newly refurbished hotel, situated within walking distance of the Corbiere Lighthouse.

Upon arrival, I was greeted with a warm and friendly smile by the receptionist and shown to my room. The room was clean and tidy, quite spacious and nicely furnished. There are digital televisions in every room, as well as the usual hair dryer and tea and coffee making facilities. It would have been even nicer had the wardrobe not been missing a handle and the other one was loose, but those are just minor niggles and should be easily rectified. The en-suite bathroom was also quite spacious and had also been recently refurbished, so it was very clean and tidy. However, it did steam up quite quickly because the extractor didn't seem to work when you switched on the light. Again, hopefully something the management will remedy shortly.

The food, whether it be for breakfast or dinner was of a good standard and well presented. I can personally recommend most of the fish dishes, as these seem to be the chef's specialty.

My overriding memory from my stay here is just how friendly and helpful all the staff are, from the owner, manager and right down to the cleaners and maids. The waitresses in the dining room are particularly worthy of a special mention, as they were so attentive and worked very hard to ensure everything was to your liking. I was also very grateful to the manager, who allowed me to use the pc in the office to check-in on-line for my flight home.

If you're looking for quiet area to stay in Jersey, with beautiful sea views, wonderful views of the sunsets, plenty of parking and a regular bus service, this well appointed hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    73
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
69
149
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just finished a trip to Jersey and England The Highlands Hotel made our trip start of on an excellent note. The staff are friendly and helpful - they go out of their way to help in any way they can. The Dining Room staff are exceptionally pleasant and work hard to ensure your meals are exactly as you want them.

The Highlands Hotel was the best of the seven hotels we stayed at during our tour.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view. Well worth requesting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We are local Jersey Residents who have stayed in many hotels across the island. Our stay at the Highlands was fabulous in all aspects and we will certainly be back. The hotel has recently been renovated and ticks all the boxes as far as we were concerned. The bedroom was fine , everything new and we had a great nights sleep. The views are out of this world with the surrounding scenery spectacular . The staff are very friendly and the food and service was great. I even managed a swim in the outdoor pool, which was pleasantly warm to my surprise. If you don't want to stay in town and want a place to explore the spectacular coastline of jersey , this is the place to stay

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goch
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

From other TripAdvisor reviews I selected Highlands hotel for my birthday week of relaxation with my wife . The most vital aspect was the sea view so I selected the upper floor balcony room. The hotel has only just reopened for the season but it seemed as though there was no communication between the housekeeping staff and the management/maintenance staff about what needed doing to start the season. Our first room was large with a double bed, seating area and sliding doors to the balcony. My priority was to step out and take in the view but I found that the patio doors were stuck locked and the vital lever was snapped off and in a poly bag stuck to the door. The room had been redecorated and smelled very strongly of paint and can easily trigger a migraine for my wife. I tried to open a side window but that had been painted shut. The Dutch receptionist was very helpful but as she was the only one in the hotel on our arrival she didn't know what she might be allowed to do. In the end we were allocated another similar room which was the only other room with a double bed. In fact, it was 2 singles put together but served the purpose well. Vitally, the balcony doors opened, however, they would not close securely. The manager came and tried to get the mechanism to lock but it was all so corroded that it needed proper maintenance to make it work efficiently. After 7 days, it had still not been fixed so throughout the week we took extra personal security precautions with our valuables as the room could never be secured. The bathroom had a separate shower recess with a Caution about scalding water. This was theoretical as the shower valve had been fitted incorrectly and even on Max Hot setting on the lever it was not even lukewarm although the pressure was OK. The bath was great though, with a manual shower attachment and unlimited very hot water. The plumbing generally was an irritation as the pipes made a noise like a foghorn after the toilet was flushed and the washbasin tap was turned to wash hands. The noise could be reduced by balancing the flow by turning on both hot and cold together. This was my holiday but I was dying to get a toolbox and resolve all these minor irritations which a basic pre-season functional test would've revealed.
The family staff from Madiera was very friendly and personal in their guest relations. The food at breakfast was fine although the portion control seemed to vary from day to day for no apparent reason. We ate one evening in the hotel for our own convenience but it wasn't anything to write home about as we ate out in better environments with better food at cheaper prices elsewhere on the island that week.
Overall, we got what we wanted. A delightful location with a lovely sea view even when in bed! It was an opportunity to unwind and explore the island and on every departure and arrival we passed the Corbiere lighthouse and took in what is a great sight whether the tide is in or out. As to a summary of the hotel, it is a working-man's "posh" but if you're used to staying in 3-4* hotels it could be a disappointment.

Room Tip: The balcony seaview is a must but make sure the balcony door opens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P4Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed for a week in May, which unfortunately coincided with poor weather and a storm. However, the storm gave me some good photos of the famous La Corbiere Lighthouse, which is just up the road. The weather brightened up on the day we had to go home.

The rooms had just been refurbished to a high level of quality and we were the first guests in the room.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The food was very good.

In fact, everything was excellent and we can certainly recommend this hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: The seaview balcony rooms have the best sea view as they overlook a small cove of the sea at the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Spent 7 nights at this hotel recently. Had a great time despite the changeable weather. The room was plenty big enough and clean. The pool area was also clean and great views out to sea. Just what we needed after a busy day exploring the island. The food was great with loads of choice and variety. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly consider booking again when we revisit the island. Would recommend for a relaxing holiday for both young and old.

Room Tip: Our room had blackout blinds, great for a good nights sleep but was on the ground floor without a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XXX991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

stayed for four days on half board basis and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.This was our first visit to highlands hotel and look forward to returning again next september.We had a sea view in our room and everything was to our liking.We enjoyed the location as it was convenient for lovely walks from the hotel and the bus stop was nearby to get to St Helier as and when needed.We walked to St Brelades beach one day and returned on the bus.The hotel provided good food with very generous helpings and allthe staff were kind and helpful.This place is perfect for peace and quiet because of the lovely scenery and we felt it met our needs for a safe and relaxing holiday.We recommend this hotel and wish to thank all the staff at the highlands for making our stay so pleasurable.

Room Tip: room with a balcony would be worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Brelade hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St. Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
3.0 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Hotel

Property: Highlands Hotel
Address: La Rue de La Corbiere, St. Brelade JE3 8HN
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Brelade
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#13 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture the scene at Highlands Hotel. A tranquil location, with superb panoramic sea views all round. The famous La Corbière lighthouse with unspoilt coves and bays just a short walk away. Quiet, peaceful and close to miles of clean, golden sandy beaches. A south-facing sun terrace and heated swimming pool for a relaxing swim. This is the place to enjoy that well-deserved holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Highlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing