We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Atlantic is a truly world class hotel in every respect. We got a free upgrade to a garden suite, which was lovely. The restaurant is excellent as well, and completely deserving of it's Michelin star. The views of St Ouens bay are breath taking and the whole place is immaculately kept.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    102
    30
    12
    1
See reviews for
115
495
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic this summer.The service was the best we have received anywhere in the world.The food was to die for.On any future visit to Jersey I would not stop anywhere else given the choice.I would have liked aircon. ( But it was unusually hot during our stay )

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alastair w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A first-ever visit to Jersey for an autumn break and we picked a true gem in selecting The Atlantic Hotel at St.Brelades. In a quite superb setting on the cliff overlooking St. Ouen's Bay with stunning sunsets, the Hotel is immaculately maintained and presented throughout. Really excellent, very professional but friendly staff who could not do enough for you, especially the Restaurant Manager, Martinho de Sousa. As for the food, the Michelin mastery of Mark Jordan produced true works of art (and taste) each evening. Our only disappointment was that it has taken us this long to discover Jersey and particularly The Atlantic. We must return.

Richard James

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Atlantic, and we shall return . The staff were committed to making our stay perfect in every way. Requests were always dealt with promptly ,pleasantly and professionally .The rooms are very comfortable,but could be updated, for example an over large tv cabinet is intrusive. This didn't spoil our stay at all.We travel a lot and have never stayed anywhere better.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

As an avid world traveller of special small hotels I find it hard to believe that I have not heard more about The Atlantic. From the moment I arrived everything was perfect. As a single female I appreciate excellent service but relaxed and natural way. This was exemplery from the moment I was greeted, to various requests, information and especially the outstanding staff and food presented in the Ocean Restuarant. The decor, candles, the ambience and piano entertainment made each evening memorable. My room offered everything I needed with magical views of the West coast. The location was ideal for privacy but also access to the beach and wonderful walks.The gym was basic but at least there were free weights that many hotels don't provide. Family style beach hotels and St.Hellier cannot match The Atlantic for privacy, elegance and as a very special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic for four nights for the price of three by booking directly with the hotel. Our booking was for our honeymoon, booked at the last minute as my husband had to have an operation. We had an ocean view room, and a bottle of champagne was waiting for us on arrival, which was very kind. The staff at the hotel were absolutely superb - each one acknowledged us every time we passed, with a smile and an offer of assistance should you need it. The reception staff were so helpful. Our complimentary newspaper hadn't arrived one morning, and within five minutes of us mentioning it, a copy was brought to our table in the dining room. However, the jewel in the crown of this stunning hotel is the restaurant, run by Martinho de Sousa, restaurant manager. Martinho never stops: his attention to detail, his exacting standards and exemplary professionalism means that the dining experience is sheer perfection. The quality of every dish was superb, and I am glad that the waiters and waitresses announced each dish so that we could appreciate all the different flavours and textures that were presented so beautifully. The hotel has an air of calm and luxury, with beautiful sea views and the golf course running parallel. We are already planning our anniversary trip!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandSteve186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

As good as ever

We were last here in 2007 after which I gave it a glowing review and I'm pleased to say that it still deserves its high rating. The hotel has been looked after, with no deterioration whatsoever. There is no sign of tiredness in the building, the paintwork is still pristine and fresh, the grouting in the tiling in the bathroom is fresh and clean and it is clear that the building is maintained to a very high standard.

I will start with the couple of negative points in order to get them out of the way.

The hotel is not air-conditioned. I hadn't noticed this the last time we stayed because it was November. This time the weather was warmer (about 18C) and the room was stuffy, particularly in the evening and at night. Frankly I am astonished that a good quality modern hotel in a summer resort should not be fitted with air conditioning and it made our sleep time a little uncomfortable. We tried sleeping the first 2 nights with the balcony doors open but that merely allowed mosquitos in, which mauled us mercilessly. The hotel does provide a table fan, which we used eventually but of course a fan is no substitute for aircon. How people are able to sleep in this hotel in high-season when it's hot I have no idea.

There was no minibar/fridge in the room. When I mentioned it a couple of days into our stay I was told that we could request one but we were only staying another couple of days so I didn't bother. But again, it's an odd omission.

The cocktails served in the bar were very below-standard. The last time we stayed we had excellent cocktails every evening as a pre-prandial start to the evening, but this time we were very disappointed so we didn't do it again. Cocktails start at an eye-watering £12, which is bad enough but when they are inexpertly made … well, I don't need to spell it out.

Other than that, the hotel is every bit as good as we found last time, as others have clearly found when reviewing here.

The pool area is leafy and quiet and it's subtly lit in the evening which makes it pleasant to sit on the patio area outside the dining room at night. The pool itself is quite small but not so small that one can't swim in it (although we didn't because even though we were told it's heated it the water was quite cold).

The bathroom in our room (110) was very well appointed, with a powerful shower and a very good length bath in which a guy can reasonably submerge himself. Water was plentiful and very hot and the bath filled very quickly. There is also a heated towel rail, which comes on at around 4pm and makes the towels comfortably warm. The biggest towel is a good sized bath sheet, which is a welcome change to some hotels that think that a hand towel suffices for drying yourself after a bath or shower.

The restaurant is superb, and of course was the main reason we returned to this hotel. The service is faultless, attentive with a responsive serving staff and a caring and very professional Maitre 'D. The food is sublimely good. Every dish was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. Interestingly the amuses bouche were something really to look forward to. Usually restaurants' amuses bouche are a 'nice to have' and quickly forgotten, but here they were little transports of delight. The restaurant also served pre-desserts, a little confection with a small sorbet to cleanse the palate before the actual dessert, which were also very pleasant.

There is also a very varied and comprehensive wine list, and a knowledgeable sommelier is on hand to advise.

Would we go back again for a third time? Yes, but not when the weather is hot.


A word of warning about the hotel's car hire offer. This hotel does a package offer of 'free car hire' as part of the deal. You need to be aware that while the hotel does indeed pay for the hire, it doesn't cover any insurance at all. This means that you can't just take the car and drive it away, you will have to pay for basic insurance at the very least. This irritated me because I expected 'free' to mean that any extras you pay for are at my discretion. Since you have to be insured by law you have to pay more. For the 4 days we had to pay a minimum of £86 for basic insurance, and since that carried a £600 excess we also paid the additional excess waiver which took it to £130. I don't mind that the hotel would not include the excess waiver, that's my choice but the deal should include the legal minimum insurance cover.

Also, Hertz operate an increasingly popular scam of giving you half a tank of fuel and charging you a non-refundable £35. They say that you can return the car with an empty tank at no charge, but what they are really doing is charging you a lot of money for half a tank of fuel. Jersey is a small island and unless you are going to be there for a long time, or you are going to do some extensive driving, you won't use that fuel. Think of it as a tax levied by Hertz and you'll get the perspective. This is not the hotel's fault, but if you're on a budget for the holiday you will want to know all this in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
1.4 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,181 reviews
6.6 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
831 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
4.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,667 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St. Brelade
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Le Mont de La Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#8 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Jersey's finest luxury hotels which combines breathtaking ocean views with a Michelin-starred restaurant, The Atlantic is situated on one of the most stunning sites in the Channel Islands. As one of the top hotels in the British Isles and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the combination of timeless elegance and secluded location makes The Atlantic the perfect hideaway on an island rich in heritage and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Brelade
Atlantic Hotel Jersey
Atlantic St Brelade
The Atlantic Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing