We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect place for a honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
JERSEY, CHANNEL ISLANDS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“perfect place for a honeymoon”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We regularly eat at the hotel restaurant as in our opinion it is the best in the Island, so we chose the hotel for a one night stay as part of our honeymoon. Everything about the hotel is luxurious and the location is wonderful with views over St.Ouen's bay which is the largest and quietest beach on the Island. The rooms are modern and very well designed and appointed . We were presented with a bottle of champagne , fruit, chocolates and coffee. After a memorable dinner and great night's sleep we chose to have breakfast in our room with the balcony door open. What a feast and so well presented.
There is an indoor pool and outdoor pool plus Spa. I would eat here every week if money was no object and stay here regularly too. The service is excellent too.

Room Tip: sea view essential though the palm tree fringed garden is lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHUCK AND CRYSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    89
    25
    12
    1
See reviews for
107
480
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I last stayed at the hotel over 25 years ago. I came this year as a treat with my mother. The service, was fantastic as before. the food was excellent. We both had a wonderful time. We are hoping to come again next year, instead of 25 years time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We didn’t get off to a good start at this hotel when we locked ourselves out of the room and the locksmith had to be called. If you’re staying, don’t press the button on the knob of the door as you pull it closed; it makes your key inoperable.

I was, however, impressed when we arrived and were offered a free upgrade. Not only that, but we were shown both the rooms that we could have – the one we’d booked and the upgrade, so that we could make a choice. A nice touch. The other nice touch was the free wifi, which didn’t require a wretched password.

We chose the garden suite, which backed onto the front lawn, overlooking the sea. It was a fairly decent size and had very good coat hangers. However, that’s pretty much where my compliments stop. The bed was very soft (too soft for me), there was no hotel services guide (giving information such as what time breakfast was served) and the pictures on the wall were screwed up with brackets (as you might find in a prison, to stop them being prized off the walls). The mirrors in the bathroom were far too low. I’m 6’ 3” and had to kneel on the floor to shave.

As there was no minibar in the room, we went to the hotel bar for a pre-dinner drink. We ordered two Gibsons. What arrived was two gimlets, mixed with a rather hefty amount of lime cordial.

So, it was on to the Michelin-starred restaurant for the tasting menu. This was extremely hit and miss and any enjoyment of the food was completely ruined by the woeful service. The first course was introduced as an amuse-bouche. It wasn’t; it was the first course. This was followed about 2 minutes later by the next course. And about 3 minutes after that the following course. 45 minutes later, the sommelier was busy pouring a new wine for us. We enquired why and he said it was to go with the next course. We pointed out that the wine we were currently finishing was the one that had been poured for this next course and it hadn't yet arrived. So, he took the new wine away again and eventually the course arrived. There was no offer to refill out glasses so that we actually had some wine for this course. The following courses also took an age.

After a fairly poor evening, we went to bed. It rained and I was kept awake for a large part of the night by the sound of water dripping down the interior wall by the bathroom. Upon checkout, we mentioned this and were told that they had had a leak before but thought that it was now mended. Obviously not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Located off the main drag, it is quiet and private. A hit no doubt with the romantic weekenders. The room was small but very well designed with drop leaf tables, and cleverly used space in the bathroom. Lovely quality china for tea and coffee. The fittings are very high quality and wearing well. The food is Michelin starred gourmet so don't expect huge portions. Breakfast is not a quick affair either. If you are gasping for a morning cuppa demand it right away otherwise it will come after you have theoretically had your fruit and muesli. Golf course La Moye right next door. That said , the food is good quality.
The down side.... a)..location....you need a car; b) gym and pool a joke ...there is a fabulous beach a good walk away and it's uphill On the way back....but what if its pouring?; c) sheets and bedspreads went out with the flood...why not duvets? lastly and why I marked it down so much........ d) the staff......they were under a lot of pressure to deliver the undeliverable. Was the manager in a bad mood? Usually the lack of facilities or amenities is de minimus to me, particularly when the staff in an establishment go out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. Small annoying things such as no iron, are forgotten with smiles, grace and humour. ......not available here. We felt like naughty schoolchildren breaking the rules like not coming to breakfast on time nor checking out bang on their target. And to add to our irritation, on both mornings a pair of tattooed individuals clad in sweaty exercise gear with blue towels wrapped around their necks arrived in unwashed, for breakfast. No one reprimanded these schoolchildren. I'm glad my mother wasn't there to witness this lack of decorum; the Michelin starred staff tolerated this. So no...giving the benefit of doubt perhaps we hit it on a bad weekend at the end of the season but for the same pile of money we will try Longueville next time.

Room Tip: We hadwhat looked like a standard.. It was quite small but very nice and cleverly designed. We look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cassandra595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Third trip back to the Atlantic and it's still as good as ever.

Service, setting, food - all great.

If I had any criticisms, they'd be - update the gym, duvets for the beds not sheets (even my mum has changed to duvets) and stop the chef getting too fancy (the kids would have liked food with a bit more substance).

But these are minor issues - it's a great place.

Room Tip: Keep away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSYChelmsfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my very elderly mother. The room on the ground floor was excellent with a pleasant view over the gardens and the sea. The service was excellent, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I was not able to try the restuarant but the breakfast was of super quality. I would certainly return here in the future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night in August with my husband and 2 sons. Quiet and nice hotel with a wide choice of breakfast -inclusive. We had 2 interconnecting rooms with the Golf view. Small rooms but very clean with comfortable beds. Staff are professional, friendly and nice. We spent 2 nights in another hotel to be nearer the beach, but Atlantic is definitely better, even the kids wanted us to go back. I will definitely stay at the Atlantic when next I go back to Jersey.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
917 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,019 reviews
6.6 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St. Brelade
730 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#8 of 16 in St. Brelade
478 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Le Mont de La Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#8 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Jersey's finest luxury hotels which combines breathtaking ocean views with a Michelin-starred restaurant, The Atlantic is situated on one of the most stunning sites in the Channel Islands. As one of the top hotels in the British Isles and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the combination of timeless elegance and secluded location makes The Atlantic the perfect hideaway on an island rich in heritage and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Brelade
Atlantic Hotel Jersey
Atlantic St Brelade
The Atlantic Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing