We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of the Caribbean in the UK!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A taste of the Caribbean in the UK!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family and I have been staying at this hotel for the last 20+ years so it would be an understatement to say that we love it. We're all keen travellers and rarely go back to the same place twice but L'Horizon is the exception. I've written several glowing reviews before so I won't be repetitive and it's great to see that some of the changes I've suggested in past reviews have actually been actioned.

Briefly, the sea view bedrooms are fab, the staff are wonderful (without exception) and the new spa is a delight. This year, we were on the dinner, bed and breakfast rate for a change and were happy with the quality of the food, especially as it also included a voucher for the Oyster Box, a favourite restaurant of ours. The hotel was also extremely accommodating in letting us occasionally swap our dinner for lunch instead, which we had on the terrace.

I have absolutely no criticism at all to make apart from one that has been constant throughout our 20 year stay: the lounge area is simply not big enough, especially on wet days or when there are conferences or weddings being held in the hotel. If only the room overlooking the sea (the one containing the computer) could be turned into a comfortable lounge area for folk who might prefer somewhere a little quieter to read? Whilst we were there, it was used for a wedding, a dining area and for a small conference of about 5 people who had the blinds closed on the sea view windows so that they could see their flip chart. Not really a welcoming, relaxing sight for hotel guests (too much of a reminder of what you're trying to escape when you come on holiday!) If new space could be found for the spa then pretty please, can a new space be found for your conference folk please so that hotel guests can spread out more on rainy days?!

Anyway, aside from that, all's right with the world and L'Horizon continues to be a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    235
    88
    22
    12
See reviews for
213
459
41
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Farrington Gurney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a work visit at the local hospital. Beautiful room with balcony overlooking the gorgeous beach. Staff couldn't be more helpful, carrying bags and showing me around the hotel. They even carried my work bags to my room each afternoon.
I had room service each evening and the food was just superb, again with exemplary service.
Hotel was very clean and tidy throughout. All in all a perfect stay, just a shame I had to do some work really. I hope to come back :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank emmajanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

35th wedding anniversary long weekend was special. Room with a balcony overlooking the beach was lovely. Afternoon tea was delicious but could have had a few more sandwiches and one or two less cakes. The dinning room lets the property down as the tables are too close and you cannot help but listen to your neighbours conversation, and they to yours. Lots of lovely restaurants to choose from for dinner, particularly if you like fish. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor have the best views of the beach as you are above the promenade wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmelita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

l'Horizon is a perfect hotel, the staff were all very attentive and catered for our every need. The Location on the bay and the views are stunning, it is every bit as good as it looks in the brochure. the variety of restaurants is good and the food of a very good quality. The room had a perfect view across the bay which is spectacular day or night, being right on the beach means that you can just stroll out and enjoy everything the bay has to offer. This was our first visit to this hotel chain and if the rest are as good it wont be our last, we will definitely be going back to jersey and the L'Horizon Hotel, it was a perfect 5 day break.

Room Tip: The sea view deluxe rooms give the best views across the bay which should not be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here late may and everything as I would like it, requested a room with controllable A/C and this was provided.
pool area very nice and relaxing.
don't really eat in the restaurant as I prefer the Chinese just up the beach.
Breakfast is good though, cooked to order.
will continue to stay here as the location is great for what I want

Room Tip: choose a room with controllable A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vf12vf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The L'Horizon has the best view in jersey. You open the French doors to your balcony and you are greeted by a wide sweep of bay, turquoise and azure water, golden sand and more often than not brilliant sunshine in a cloudless blue sky.

Reception staff and housekeeping are excellent, the breakfast is very good with a wide choice for everyone. There is an excellent terrace and two other restaurants plus a bar all serving the highest quality of food. The view from the terrace is an added bonus.

The incomparable Collette plays the piano at weekends and is a joy to listen to.
The spa has just been extended and is a haven of tranquillity with Elemis products available for purchase and no VAT.

We have just had 4 days in June and will be back again before the summer ends

Absolutely lovely as always

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and have a superior room with a sea view and balcony- you will be delighted
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blighty
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I stayed at L'Horizon from the 23/6/to the 26/06 to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary. We arrived at the hotel around 10 am and were delighted that our adjourning rooms were available to us immediately.

It was just after check-in that my husband realised that he had left his bag in the taxi. This contained all of his inhalers and wallet. The concierge immediately phoned the taxi company and within half an hour the bag was returned to us in our room with all valuables intact. We were very grateful for this.

Our rooms, 210 and 211 were directly above the main entrance and our first nights sleep was disturbed by students leaving the prom event. This went on until at least 11:45pm and having been up since 4:30am we were desperate to get some sleep.

That aside, the rest of our stay passed too quickly, and was thoroughly enjoyed. We found the breakfast plentiful and of good quality. The Jersey yogurts were a particular favourite.

We ate in the bar on our final evening and the fish and chips were really excellent.

We are thinking of returning for our 20th anniversary and if we do we will book a sea view room as the view is outstanding.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chigaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hi, thank you for the review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry that you found the School Prom to be disruptive to your stay, you are the second person to mention this and we have taken on your comments.

We clearly need to manage the arrival and departure better, these days the arrival of the prom seems to be more important than the event itself and seems to be becoming almost a carnival.

We have made note of this and will consider the other guests in the hotel when we have this type of event.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay we would love to have you back for your 20th Wedding Anniversary.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#9 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850 by George Hicks, a colonel in the Bengal Army, the building has an almost Mediterranean feel yet the hotel itself is unmistakably British. The interior is calm and elegant, full of space and light, while the outside impresses with its beautiful terrace and the view over golden sand and crystal clear waters. We believe in taking things easy here, with a strong focus on leisure: something we like to think we are good at! One of the highlights of the four star L'Horizon Beach Hotel is the new spa, which includes six treatment rooms, a relaxation area, pedicure and manicure area and sleep room. With 106 bedrooms and three restaurants, the hotel offers the ideal setting for an intimate break, a romantic wedding and (as it is just 10 minutes from Jersey airport) an inspiring meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Jersey l
l Horizon Hotel St Brelade
Lhorizon Hotel Jersey
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing