We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location, friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, Uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb location, friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Visited again in August via secret escapes as could not believe what a good deal was on offer and we were not disappointed. It was quieter than in previous years around the hotel, despite being full and this was also backed by a quieter beach, even though the weather was lovely. Seems the economy problems have also hit Jersey tourism too. The bar was exceptionally quiet, when in previous years we have enjoyed the buzz but by 10pm it was deserted. We soon found out why! The Oyster Box seems to have taken most of the St Brelades dining trade!
The room was spotless, towels changed twice daily and the view stunning. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room it's a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Rachel

Thank you for the review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the team to be friendly and helpful.

I am not exactly sure when you stayed with us that the hotel has been busier for nearly every month this year. The bar can often be quiet at 10 due to the demographics of our guests, we often have large families staying and this can mean early nights.

Thank you again for the review and we hope you have the chance to come back soon.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    244
    91
    22
    13
See reviews for
224
484
43
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

First time in jersey and we picked l'horizon as it was a "hand picked hotel" a group where we have visited virtually all their hotels and even had our wedding at Wood hall spa.

How does it compare - location is fantastic but in truth the hotel itself lacks the general quality we have come to expect from hph group.

Our room "a classic double" had a view of the car park - which we were aware of, what we hadn't realised is that these rooms were incredibly warm and stuffy. Even on evenings in the low twenties. We requested a room with air conditioning - this could only be done if we changed rooms 3 times during the stay. We demurred, on the second night we were provided with a portable air circulation unit, apart from making a noise like an asmathic air conditioner and keeping us awake it had little if any cooling affect. We were 3 couples and we all had similar experiences.

Have to say the cleaning staff were some of the best I have ever come across, in early room spotless, polite helpful, follow up visit exemplary.

Gym and spa were small but perfectly formed our partners had treatments and were delighted with them and not particularly expensive.

We ate four times at the hotel, read a few reviews on here and wasn't quite sure what some of the reviews were talking about, in the formal restaurant wine was pretty similar to a comparable restaurant in the uk. They actually had cloudy bay Chardonnay at £42 a bottle. One positive was some of our party wanted lobster which wasnt on the menu but the staff cooked some.

My only real criticism of the grill was the rare breed pig - not the taste of it - as a former farmer I am actually very interested im the provenance of the food I eat. I asked the maitre d what kind of pig it was and where it came from, he didn't know. He went to ask the chef and 12 minutes later reappeared to say it was " A Sunday pig from the island" never heard of the breed and if am being honest not convinced that there is such a breed, even if there is shouldn't your head waiter know straight away?

Reception staff were generally very good and approachable.

We did have one slight criticism of the hotel procedures - on our first night we ate in the restaurant and the waiter very kindly accompanied us to the front door, we went for a five minute walk leaving one of our group sat behind, on our return found that all of the entrances overlooking the sea had been locked. This was about Eleven fifteen in the evening, we tried all the doors and eventually managed to attract a passing wedding guest who let us in. We went to reception and they actually thought it was funny that we had been locked out ! As one of our party had a suspected broken ankle (nothing to do with our stay) we really think that a clearly marked ingress should be either left open or with a buzzer.

To summarise our experiences - a good hotel, some excellent staff, great location, good pricing let down by a few areas - the one thing that would put me off staying again in the summer would be the classic room stuffiness.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevincharles3995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at L’Horizon.

The location is superb and L’Horizon’s interior reflects that, the muted colours has been carefully chosen to give a sophisticated, calming and relaxing atmosphere to the hotel and to contrast with the dramatic views across the bay from most of the public rooms. That last statement was from our asset director. Many of the other Hand Picked hotels are gorgeous country houses.

I am not exactly sure of when you stayed but we have had some extremely hot weather. Our rooms even the ones without air conditioning do normally provide a comfortable nights sleep. I am sorry if they were a little too warm on this occasion.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team and especially housekeeping as I have said before they are the unsung heroes of the hotel.

Now to the pigs, I am sorry that the information was incorrect and our Restaurant Manager that night did ask the chef however the information was not relayed correctly. The pork was from an Oxford Sandy and Black breed of pigs. That has highlighted some product knowledge training needs that we will be addressing.

Regarding the doors being closed, I know this can be frustrating it has happened to me and it is a bit of a walk round to the front of the hotel. I am looking into your suggestion of a door bell to used late at night. I should have thought of that myself.

Thank you once again for the review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to L’Horizon soon.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been staying at the L'Horizon for about 10 years. As soon as we step off the plane, we feel we are "home". The staff are very welcoming and always try to accommodate us as we usually arrive around breakfast. Otherwise, the porters look after our luggage whilst we pop into St Helier for lunch. You can't beat the view at the hotel and the spa is great. Martin Kelly and his team are always on hand to assist with any requests or problems. The venue is great for weddings also.

Room Tip: Best to avoid rooms directly over the function room when weddings/parties are booked as people do st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanKen1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review, it was great to see you again this year, I thought L'Horizon was your first choice and Caribbean second.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel for several short breaks over the last few years, taking my children and parents. The hotel suits all ages. The highlight of the hotel is its location right at the heart of the beach- when my children were younger we would spend most of the day rock climbing and playing on the beach. Now they are nearly teenagers, they enjoy the water sports and tennis. My parents enjoying relaxing at the hotel and walking on the beach. The breakfast is the highlight of the day at the hotel- would recommend the waffles and Jersey cream porridge.

The rooms are modern, light and airy- very comfortable beds and now free wi-fi. Staff are friendly and very helpful.

We've enjoyed eating galettes on the terrace this year but usually have a walk along the beach in the evening to one of the nearby places to eat- the oyster box is a great restaurant and pizza express and a good Chinese nearby too.

We often don't travel far from the hotel but day trips have included the inspiring Jersey war Tunnels museum (a must visit), Plemont beach, Jersey zoo, Living Legend for the crazy golf and the four wheel bike rides on the way into St Helier. Good bead shops next to hotel too.

Room Tip: Beach view if budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GibbsintheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, I think I use the word "delighted" too often on TA.

I am pleased that you enjoy the breakfast, we have a huge choice, roughly 112 items last time we counted and we are looking to improve it.

We hate to admit it but there are lots of choice of places to eat in the bay, as long as we are the first choice.

Thank you for mentioning the other activities in Jersey, we love St Brelade but Plemont with it's caves to explore is great.

Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you again soon..

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

L'Horizon is less than 10 minutes from Jersey airport so great for a short break.
The hotel is right on a wonderful beach with amazing tides.
There's a bus stop right outside so travel to St. Helier is very easy.
Our room was very well equipped and very comfortable, with a few nice touches including fresh milk and evening turn down.
Breakfast was well managed with a good choice of items. All staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Indoor pool was good too with a sauna and steam room.

Room Tip: The view from the front rooms must be wonderful but sadly we were on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi Lesley

Thank you for the review. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay ad the location. Thank you for the positive comments we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We would definitely stay here again. The hotel is literally on the beach, with it taking approximately 30 seconds for our 5 year old to skip down the stairs, across the terrace, and then on to the gorgeous sandy beach (which is definitely one of the best in Jersey).

The hotel staff were welcoming and warm - this extended from 'front of house' staff (where we got some good tips on walking routes/green lanes to Corbierre and St Aubins), to the waiting and kitchen staff at breakfast, through to the chambermaids (and the little touches such as fresh milk in the fridge for tea/coffee, and bottled water each day).

The hotel staff also tried their very best to deal with some quite tricky customers - I believe that we were actually in reception at the same time as one of the reviewers below, and I have to say that they were on the receiving end of an adult tantrum that was 'fascinating' to watch.

The hotel clearly has high aspirations in terms of its facilities and service - the pool and spa, for example, were lovely, and being able to swim or use the steam room was a really welcome and unexpected option for what was essentially a beach holiday.

These high aspirations also applied to the lunch, grill and formal dining menus, which were very much aiming for a more 'high end' clientele. Such ambitions are great, and we did eat on the hotel terrace once. However, we did feel that L'Horizon is missing a trick when - literally on the same promenade - there are restaurants like the Crab Shack which are just a bit more informal, simpler in presentation, and consequently priced at a level where you can eat there more than once.

That is really our only small criticism of the hotel - everything else was perfect, including the weather...

Room Tip: Sea view is probably a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Chris

Thank you for your review of L’Horizon.

Great to hear that your 5 year old had the opportunity to run down to the beach, no roads to cross it really is great for families.

Thank you for the positive comments about the team. I am glad that they could help with tips for your holiday.

Difficult guests at L’Horizon, never, it is always very rewarding to turn a negative into a positive, which hopefully we did on that occasion.

We do have a selection of dining options and we do feel the Terrace does compare favourably with the Crab Shack regarding prices. We do see the choice of restaurants as an added bonus for the visitors to the Bay, and we have considerably more seating outside than the other restaurants in the Bay.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you at L’Horizon again soon.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the L’horizon on a package deal which given the normal rates charged for sea view rooms, proved to be excellent value.

The hotel is beautifully kept and so well appointed. The views out to St. Brelades are simply stunning and if you are lucky enough to have a sea facing room, the experience of waking up to the view is wonderful.

The hotel and room was kept very clean and with the exception of some of the bar staff on the terrace, the staff were great – the porters in particular were very helpful and went above and beyond. Loved the turndown service and the daily newsletter was very sweet!

We were over in Jersey for a weekend work event and as a very regular visitor to Jersey’s town centre hotels, I was keen to have a different experience to staying in St Helier. Overall, it was very positive and as I say, we were staying for work so we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel during the day. However I would have spent more time in the hotel in the evenings if it wasn’t for the bar prices! Bearing in mind that I regularly stay in Jersey and work in London, I was absolutely gob smacked when I saw what the L’horizon charges for a large glass of Pinot Grigio. £12.50 a glass!!!! Absolute extortion which meant that after I realised my error of drinking in the hotel, we never drank wine again, choosing to spend our money outside of the hotel where the same wine was half the price.

I accept that hotels will be more expensive than bars and in hotels (including central London) I would expect to pay around £8 a glass. But £12.50, in Jersey when there are multiple other options to choose from, all within a short walk from the hotel seems almost offensive to its customers. Interestingly enough, I was on the Island to organise a corporate hospitality event and I was charged almost the same per bottle of wine by caterers as the L’horizon charges for 1 glass!

So overall, this is a lovely, high end hotel for a seaside break, however its bar prices are above and beyond acceptable mark ups which actually prevented me from spending time in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemberSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and St Brelade’s Bay and that you were able to take advantage of the sea view which is an absolute must. I am pleased that you found the package to be a good deal as the rates are always better when you book direct with the Hotel.

I appreciate your positive comments about the team, it is always nice when we receive good feedback however I am curious though as to whether there was an issue with the bar staff on the Terrace. Perhaps you could provide me with some more details?

I am glad you like the daily newsletter, it’s fairly new, an idea I pinched from a couple of our sister Hotels. So thank you for your feedback.

Regarding the wines, we have had comments before. Although this is too late for your stay with us we have taken the comments on board and are changing the prices in the bar to make the wines less expensive. We will also use smaller glasses and changing the price accordingly.

Also we are ensuring that we make the prices of the large glasses of wine more transparent so that they don’t come as a surprise to our guests when presented with the bill.

I hope that you have the chance to come back to L’Horizon soon and hopefully you will have opportunity to see if the changes work.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#8 of 16 in St. Brelade
478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
917 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 16 in St. Brelade
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St. Brelade
730 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,771 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#9 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850 by George Hicks, a colonel in the Bengal Army, the building has an almost Mediterranean feel yet the hotel itself is unmistakably British. The interior is calm and elegant, full of space and light, while the outside impresses with its beautiful terrace and the view over golden sand and crystal clear waters. We believe in taking things easy here, with a strong focus on leisure: something we like to think we are good at! One of the highlights of the four star L'Horizon Beach Hotel is the new spa, which includes six treatment rooms, a relaxation area, pedicure and manicure area and sleep room. With 106 bedrooms and three restaurants, the hotel offers the ideal setting for an intimate break, a romantic wedding and (as it is just 10 minutes from Jersey airport) an inspiring meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Jersey l
l Horizon Hotel St Brelade
Lhorizon Hotel Jersey
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing