We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in the best location on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here many times and due back again this August - quite simply the best ! You won't find a hotel to beat this, food is excellent and the indoor saltwater pool is wonderfully refreshing on a hot day. The bedrooms are comfortable with everything you could want

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gai102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Deputy General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi

Thank you for your review of the Hotel
We are delight that you have posted such a positive review of the hotel and that you enjoy staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in August.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
There are newer reviews for L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had my wedding at the hotel. It has a perfect location, right on the bay. The food at the wedding and the other nights was exceptional. The staff cannot do enough for you and are so friendly.

Rooms were great. Between my family who were from the UK we shared about 10 rooms all were of a high standard and cleaned to perfection.

As I was getting married I had no time to use the spa or pool however my family who stayed for a few days said it was great

There is not one negative thing I can say.
Thank u so much Hotel L'Horizon and staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Deputy General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hello


Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your Wedding day with us.
We were only too happy to provide you with service to match the location.
The Hotel holds possibly the best position in the bay and is a wonderful venue for weddings.

We are pleased that your family had an enjoyable stay and will have fond memories of your special day.
Thank you very much for having your wedding with us.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Fantasic hotel, with exceptional service.
The bedrooms were very clean and well equiped and restocked with with tes bisquits etc as soon as we left the room.
I cannot fault any of all the staff.
The location was stunning.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Deputy General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi

Thank you for your review of the Hotel

We are delighted you enjoyed our service and found our rooms well equipped.
I will pass you kind comments on to all of our staff.
We have a wonderful location on arguably the best bay in jersey with fantastic views.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just had a superb 3 night stay. Sure, the weather was good so that showed off the magnificent location right on the bay shore to best effect, however the staff were really excellent. Not only very friendly and helpful but a whole lot of them remembered me by name, despite the hotel being very busy. The food quality in the Atlantic room and the Grill was very high: I'm sure the best quality pork belly I've ever eaten. I've read one review criticising the breakfast: either that reviewer was unlucky or they've fixed it - mine was very good on all three days. From what I could see, there were many guests who were regulars. I can understand why. I'd have liked to see more of the old historic part of the building which is still in there somewhere but that doesn't detract from what was a really fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Top floor has the best views
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Deputy General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hello

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Our team does try their best to remember all of our guests’ names and it is always very nice to see the appreciation for their work.
Thank you very much for the kind comments on our food.
The Pork Belly is one of my favourite dishes currently and is a very popular choice.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast and the service experience.

The old part of the Hotel is quite hard to define internally but I am sure our Maintenance Manager Alan could explain the development as he has over 35 years experience looking after the Property.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have just returned from a 5-night stay at this beautiful hotel. Had a bit of a hiccup when we arrived as we booked in at 11.00 a.m. but our room was still not ready by the agreed 2.00 p.m. However, the Manager was very apologetic and bought my husband and myself a drink to make up for our long wait. We asked for an upgrade to a seaview but unfortunately there was nothing available. Our room overlooked the car park which is not the prettiest of views but the room itself was clean and spacious and the bed was large and comfortable.

The hotel is situated right on the bay and you just have to walk out the back door to be confronted by stunning views of the ocean and beach. There is an outside dining area where you can have a meal or just a drink and enjoy the scenery.

Loved the fact that I had free use of the swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Treatments in the Spa were quite pricey but no more than most Spa Hotels.

The only thing that lets this hotel down is the quality of the food. When we arrived in the hotel car park a Jersey resident told us that it was a lovely hotel but the food left a lot to be desired! He was proved right as we had room service one night and the fish and chips was almost inedible. It was overcooked and dry. Other hotel guests also commented that the food was in need of improvement. We dined a couple of times at the Oyster Box which is a 5 minute walk along the promenade - excellent! However, the breakfast buffet was very good.

As far as the staff are concerned I cannot fault them. Cleaners, porters, bar staff, waiting staff, receptionists were all polite and helpful. Special mention for Brendan in the bar with whom we enjoyed a few laughs! Also the Pianist who played in the evenings was terrific.

We are planning a return visit next year. Just hope the food has improved!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Deputy Genral Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hello

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you were delayed in getting into your room, however I am glad that our front office manager resolved the issue and offered the drinks to you by way of apology for the delay.

I am sorry that you feel the food was not of the quality you expected. I have checked our daily report diary and cannot place any comments on room service fish and chips.
I find this disappointing and have discussed this with our Chef as we regularly get very good comments about this particular dish.
I would be happy to discuss this with you in more detail.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Also your kind comments about all of our staff are much appreciated and have been passed onto the team.

We are delighted that you will be returning to us again next year.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A beautiful beach location, a warm welcome, guests made to feel like they belong to the happiness that is for me, L'Horizon, Jersey. For those wanting to get away and relax even if sight seeing is part of your agenda this hotel has to be high on your list.

I have stayed in both a standard room and upgraded to a sea view and can highly recommend either. Obviously if your budget allows the upgrade - go for it. Rooms are well equipped, comfy and clean but no wifi. This is only available in the public areas. Access to the Internet from your room is via an Ethernet cable.

If the weather isn't too good the small gym, the pool or the spa treatments are all on hand.

You can stock up for the day with a lovely varied selection of breakfast goodies. Snacks are good and the a la Carte dinner is worth the experience, especially if like me you have never had your bouches amused - a pre starter starter!

One of the nice things, especially if your not returning home until later in the day, is that on departure day you can still use the hotels facilities until you are ready to head off for your journey home.

There are good bus routes heading off in both directions of the island, with the stops very near to the hotel. Pay as you go or day passes are available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillyK1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Deputy General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi

Thank you for your review of the Hotel

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that your have enjoyed our warm welcome and fantastic location.

Thank you for you comments on our rooms, we are currently in the planning phase of getting Wifi into the bedrooms and hope to have this installed soon.

For those rainy days the Spa is a great place to unwind and watch the world go by in the bay from the Jacuzzi.

We are delighted you enjoyed our Breakfast offering which is quite an extensive buffet.
Thank you for your kind comments about the Grill menu and the chef is delighted you enjoyed the Amuse Bouche.

We are happy to offer the Spa facilities to guests who are not departing early in the morning and we can also offer competitive late check outs rates if the room availability allows the opportunity.

The Buses are quite good right in front of the hotel and the 12 and 12a are the most popular to and from St Helier.

Thank you once again for the kind comments and we look forward to your return in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at L'Horizon last week for a few nights and just wanted to share our thoughts on the hotel.

The hotel is well situated for anyone looking to explore the island or enjoys going on walks or kayak trips. We arrived with the intention of relaxing on St Brelades bay beach for 4 days but unfortunately the weather didn't get that memo. I'd highly recommend a kayak trip from St Brelades around the corner to Beauport. Its a very small, well sheltered beach just to the west of St Brelades and only takes about 20 minutes by kayak.

The hotels food was very good with several courses rivalling Michelin starred Bohemia's offerings. The breakfast spread rivals just about every hotel i've ever stayed at and the staff will go out of their way to make anything thats not on offer including belgian waffles, eggs benedict, etc. In the evenings they have a pianist in the bar area entertaining guests for 2 to 3 hours each night.

The spa facilities are also good and the fact that there are adult only swimming times was particularly appealing to us.

All in all a fantastic destination.

Room Tip: Rooms on the western side of the hotel benefit from a partial sea view and have a balcony which rece...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Deputy General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi

Thank you for your review of the Hotel

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us

We are fortunate to be set on arguably the best bay on the island.
There are quite a few activities available to all just in front of the hotel.
This year you can book you Paddle boards, Kayak and beach beds in the hotel right at reception.

I do agree that Beauport is a beautiful little bay and is accessible by a wonderful little walk up passed the Fishermans chapel or as you said by Kayak around to the west
(A guide is required to kayak around to beauport).

Thank you very much for the kind comments about our Grill room restaurant.
We do have quite a large spread of produce available for breakfast, with over 100 items on the buffet daily.

Collete Our Resident pianist has been with us for over 20 years now and is an ambassador for the Hotel.

With the spa times we do try to get an even balance for all guests to enjoy the facilities.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming back to L’Horizon in the future.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
763 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St. Brelade
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#11 of 16 in St. Brelade
596 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,690 reviews
5.2 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#9 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range: $195 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850 by George Hicks, a colonel in the Bengal Army, the building has an almost Mediterranean feel yet the hotel itself is unmistakably British. The interior is calm and elegant, full of space and light, while the outside impresses with its beautiful terrace and the view over golden sand and crystal clear waters. We believe in taking things easy here, with a strong focus on leisure: something we like to think we are good at! One of the highlights of the four star L'Horizon Beach Hotel is the new spa, which includes six treatment rooms, a relaxation area, pedicure and manicure area and sleep room. With 106 bedrooms and three restaurants, the hotel offers the ideal setting for an intimate break, a romantic wedding and (as it is just 10 minutes from Jersey airport) an inspiring meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Jersey l
l Horizon Hotel St Brelade
Lhorizon Hotel Jersey
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing