We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Beautiful Hotel. Friendly staff . Very nice room.We stayed over for one night only and had a very pleasent time, a well situated hotel with an excellent view of the bay and beach. We were well looked after , nice to see that Wi Fi was included for free , Would we stay again. a very big yes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hi Richard

Thank you for the review that you have posted Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your birthday treat. Yes the WiFi is free this, we will be increasing the coverage and the speed later in the year to make it even better.

We hope you have the opportunity to come back and stay soon, Remember L’Horizon isn’t just for birthdays.

Regards

Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just come back from a brilliant long weekend and feel like we have been thoroughly spoilt. We have stayed here about four times now but not for a good few years. The staff were so welcoming - from the lovely Kelly on reception, to Karl who always had a smile on his face and remembered our names, to the waiters and even the cleaning 'fairies' nothing was too much trouble. There were two weddings on the Saturday and we were a little worried that this may spoil our time here, but although the bar was quite busy the waiters always made sure we were looked after. We always have a room with a balcony which overlooks the bay, it is so relaxing hearing the waves and it comes complete with two chairs and a little table oh and your own seagull. Can't wait to go back!!!!!

Room Tip: Always choose a room with a balcony to make the most of the beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THARRISBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words about the team, we always pass on the comments to them.

We did have two weddings, we normally only have one, they both literally booked at the same time and we couldn’t really let either down. We did try and ensure that the two events didn’t disrupt any other guests visit and I am pleased to see that we seem to have been successful.

We are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary seagull.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to L’Horizon in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

In general the staff were friendly and helpful. No matter where you passed staff they would greet - which was really refreshing. The staff working in the Grill were very helpful and they gave excellent service both during dinner and breakfast the next morning. Both my wife and I had spa treatments and couldn't fault the service either. On one of our days we had an early start and orderd breakfast in bed for 7:30am - we were not disappointed. I would like to add that the breakfast buffett in the Crystal room has something to suit everyone - such a wide selection.
There were several restaurants in walking distance, so generally I would say that you didnt need a car, although we dont regret the car hire as we took one day to tour the island (took just over 2 hours to drive along the cost). The hotel had two weddings on the Sat and we werent bothered or put out by it in any way, so I could only put it down to great organising from the Hotels side. Communication was great - there were daily news updates with weather forecast and main news headlines - great idea. In addition anything that could affect a guest was communicated well in advance i.e. wedding, maintenenace works etc.The hand written card wishing us a happy anniversary - this was a thoughtful touch.
This was such a memorable occasion for us (celebrating a 5 year wedding anniversary) and we both left feeling that we couldn't have chosen a better place to celebrate it. It helped that we had a sea view room - waking up to the sound of the breaking waves was such a treat.
Jersey in general was a warm and friendly island and we cannot wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Sea view is advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simionne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hello

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and Jersey. Congratulations again on your wedding anniversary I hope that you have booked in for the next one if not before.

Regards

Martin
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We purchased a promotional voucher for dinner bed and breakfast which we used a couple of months ago - from the moment we were greeted, the upgraded room with balcony over looking St. Brelade's Bay, the warm welcome in the Restaurant, excellent comfortable room to the hearty 3 course breakfast - we have to say we would highly recommend it - I run a hotel myself and know what has to happen behind the scenes to make things seem like clockwork and this hotel has it right - well done - thoroughly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had the top floor, furthest room west with balcony! Perfect and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ-Neal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hi

Thank you for the review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and even more delighted to read that you are a hotelier, normally the toughest audience.

We hope you have the opportunity to come back soon, we will be promoting some more of those offers in the winter months.

Thank you once again.

Regards

Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to L'Horizon since I was about 10 - so a good 20+ years. I remember it mostly as the archetypical British seaside hotel but with decent weather. It's undergone some changes over the past 10 years and the last time I came was for a big family celebration 7 years ago - about 30 of us. A winter offer email pinged into my account last December and I jumped at the chance to take the wife there for a kids-free romantic break. Beautifully situated room, if a little dated (especially the bathroom- needs some attention!) with a breathtaking view of the entire bay. The reception and bar staff could not have been more accommodating or helpful - even down to finding me a decent 'shack on the beach where I could get a crab sandwich and a decent carafe of white' one lunchtime (Le Braye, St Ouen - it's fantastic). The weather was fairly awful for the whole weekend but once breakfast was completed (a proper full-Monty) we managed to lose ourselves in the papers, the board games and long walks down the beach. Hugely disappointed that the incredible crystal room was shut for the winter, although dinner in the grill was lovely you don't get the same experience at all. We were very lucky that the hotel was busy so they moved breakfast from the brasserie (not particularly up to the standard of the rest of the hotel - a little bit 'travelodge') to the crystal room so at least we got to eat in there then!
The pianist is still there from when I was a child - back then I was a precocious little brat and being somewhat talented at the piano jumped on it and showed everyone what I was made of. Now I was just happy to sit back and sip a decent cocktail whilst marvelling at the repertoire of this fabulous woman! (and also slightly wishing she would lose her memory and forget that incident - I was 10!)
For a break out-of-season it was fabulous, relaxing and comfortable. I'm not certain i would pay the high season rates for the same level of room but we will definitely be back sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hi

Thank you for the review and the trip down memory lane. We are very lucky in Jersey and indeed L’Horizon that many of the guests came to the island as children and have returned with their children due to their happy memories of the island. I believe that over those years (although the sophistication and technology of the island are very firmly up to date), a lot of the beauty of the island remains mainly untouched.

It was lovely to read that you had such a good time. We would refer to the Brasserie as informal.

You have said that you will be coming back soon and we look forward to welcoming you.

Regards

Martin
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fantastic Hotel, clean, comfortable - especially the beds, and a fabulous location by the sea.

The service by Danny - for the wedding breakfast and evening reception we were at, and by George on the bar was superb.

Would not hesitate in recommending this Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winniepig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hi

Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor following your stay this month.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the wedding. I am also pleased that you found the beds so comfortable, we have recently replaced all 164 of the beds in the hotel, that’s is also including all the duvets, pillows and bedding.

Thank you for mentioning Danny and George, we shall ensure that they are aware of your comments.

Thank you once again

Regards

Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed as part of a large family wedding party. From the word go, the quality of service we received was excellent. We arrived early and rooms weren't ready but the staff on reception immediately contacted housekeeping and within an hour a member of staff was out on the terrace with our keys for us and a number of other early arrivers. Staff on the bar were friendly and helpful. As the group gradually increased in size, staff coped well with our interminable demands. Rooms were lovely and staff went to a great deal of trouble to make sure we had everything we needed.
The wedding was lovely and the food service was smooth and quick. The waiters knew exactly who wanted what and it came out quickly from the kitchen. All day and night, managers were constantly in evidence, checking that all was well. Staff serving were delightful. The buffet in the evening was lovely. Plenty of food which was original and delicious.
The staff dealt well with our many quirky needs and problems with good humour and discretion. I can only guess that there is a good deal of investment in training and it shows. Even as we left, the guy on the door made the effort to speak personally to us. As a result, we have the happiest of memories.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethn188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hi

Thank you for the review during your recent stay. It is great to see that you have noticed the small details that make all the difference. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the visit during the wedding, we are a popular hotel for such events and it is the perfect setting.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Martin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
0.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St. Brelade
862 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
778 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,721 reviews
5.2 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#11 of 16 in St. Brelade
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#9 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range: $145 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850 by George Hicks, a colonel in the Bengal Army, the building has an almost Mediterranean feel yet the hotel itself is unmistakably British. The interior is calm and elegant, full of space and light, while the outside impresses with its beautiful terrace and the view over golden sand and crystal clear waters. We believe in taking things easy here, with a strong focus on leisure: something we like to think we are good at! One of the highlights of the four star L'Horizon Beach Hotel is the new spa, which includes six treatment rooms, a relaxation area, pedicure and manicure area and sleep room. With 106 bedrooms and three restaurants, the hotel offers the ideal setting for an intimate break, a romantic wedding and (as it is just 10 minutes from Jersey airport) an inspiring meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Jersey l
l Horizon Hotel St Brelade
Lhorizon Hotel Jersey
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing