We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel, great sea view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had to stay overnight during a business trip to the island, and selected this hotel as a colleague had stayed here once before.

I was greeted at reception by a very friendly receptionist who had all of my details quickly to hand and explained everything for me. The bell-boy helped take my case to the room and described the facilities on the way up.

The room was very comfortable and spacious, with a simple to use heating/cooling system which worked well. The hot water was indeed hot and instantly available. The shower was a little weak, but did the job perfectly.

There was no WiFi signal in the room, but there was a network point provided and a cable in the top drawer of the desk. There was a large screen TV, with a connection point just underneath so if you wnated to connect your laptop in and play a video from that there was no problem. There was also a DVD player in the room, and a large list of DVD titles that you could rent from reception if required.

I had a simple meal in the Grill restaurant, which I thought was a little pricy, but the food was excellent and the service was very good. I guess you get what you pay for, and the quality of the food was high.

I arrived on a very foggy day, and could not see the view out of the rear of the Hotel, but next morning I could see that the view of the bay was excellent. I guess in summer it is really nice to sit outside and watch the world. The indoor pool at the Spa looks inviting too, but I did not come prepared so could not try it.

Breakfast was very tasty, and again of a very high standard.

So, in short it was a pleasant stay in the hotel and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 248 is a side-facing room, but there is a sea view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul-Syd-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We came on a three-night special between Christmas and new year. We had booked a sea-view room but were upgraded to a superior - it was comfortable and quiet and the views of the beach and sea made it for us. I could have watched the tides, dog-walkers, surfers and sunrises/sunsets all day!

Staff were friendly, showing us to our room and checking everything was ok. Breakfast was good and we ate in the hotel one evening, which was good without being fabulous.

We didn't hire a car. We got the bus into St Helier and back (from right outside the hotel - offers a reasonable service right into the evening) and got one or two cabs to nearby pubs. We also walked over to St Ouen's Bay one day (about 5 miles) taking in the Corbiere lighthouse and the surfy El Tico restaurant - we got the bus back from here too.

There are a couple of decent cafes nearby (esp the Crab Shack), more if you're prepared to walk a bit.

Only slight niggles were the quality of the toiletries, which left my skin flaky and my hair dry (and could've been more gentle/organic - it is a spa hotel after all) and that, on one occasion, the kids/families in the pool could've been more compromising with people who were there to swim. I know kids like to use the pool in winter, but there are also spa guests and on one occasion all the loungers were taken by fully clothed mothers watching their kids. Maybe a few more loungers could be provided?

I treated myself to a massage which was pleasant but largely ineffectual. My husband had his first ever massage with the therapist who does sports massages and she totally sorted out his rugby injury - ask for her if you're having a massage.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, even if it means paying extra. It's gorgeous at all times of day and in all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fozzy_Bear_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinKelly, General Manager at L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hi

Thank you for the review of L’Horizon.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

I was however concerned about your comment about the toiletries, perhaps if you could contact me at the hotel this is something that we could discuss further.

Regarding the pool; we do have adult only swim times twice a day which makes for a much quieter swimming and relaxing visit to the spa.

Also, it was great to see that our therapist sorted out your husbands discomfort.

We hope to see you again soon

Regards

Martin
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I are regular visitors to Handpicked Hotels as he is a gold member through his business trips with work and I have to say L'Horizon lived up to the Handpicked reputation.

A really lovely building with a glass back so you can really make the most of the views out over the beach. We were upgraded to a sea view room and waking up with that view every morning was just fantastic. The bed was amazing!! The most comfortable bed I had ever slept in

From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out the staff were fantastic and had the classic handpicked hotels approach of being professional and ensuring everything was done to the best standard it could be but at the same time having a friendly and welcoming approach. The pride the staff take in their hotel was clear. The hotel was relatively quiet whilst we were there as it was off peak but this didn't affect the enjoyment of our stay at all.

We had dinner at the hotel the first night in the Brasserie and had the set menu which was just delicious, our second night we had dinner at the oyster box just a couple of minutes walk down the promenade and again had a great experience

We also used the swimming pool on our first day - loved the fact the whole room was so warm so you could happily relax on a sunlounger if you wanted.

This was our first trip to Jersey and we were only there three days but would recommend hiring a car and visiting some of the other beaches on the island (although St Brelades was the nicest) and the War Tunnels were great

Another lovely stay at a Handpicked hotel - we hope to be back again one day!

Room Tip: Definately ask for a sea view! Watching the early morning dog walkers and swimmers on the beach is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emsi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a bit of a grim week, we decided to treat ourselves with an overnight stay at the L'Horizon with dinner in The Grill restaurant.

We couldn't fault a thing from check-in through to a dip in the pool on our way out on Sunday.

The staff were excellent and very friendly which made the whole experience more enjoyable.

Dinner at The Grill was superb and we found it hard to choose between the Table d'hote and A La Carte menu - both were very tempting.

I have to say that the bed (room 256) was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in a hotel. Out like a light!

All in all, highly recommended. We both had treatments in the spa which were great value and perfect to end our getaway.

Room Tip: A sea view is fairly unbeatable. Even when it's blowing a force 6 gale, the views are spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at L'Horizon in Jersey and we have to say this hotel was wonderful. It's in a fabulous location in St. Brelade's Bay, right on the promenade. We had been given an upgrade to an ocean deluxe and the view from the room was amazing. We have both travelled a lot but have to say this beach is definately one of the most beautiful! Right from the moment we arrived we were given the typical handpicked hotels welcome. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was enjoyable. They had the perfect balance that Handpicked seem to achieve throughout their hotels of a highly professional service but without being stuffy and instantly making you feel at home there.

We ate at the Grill restaurant on the first night, having enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the bar. The food was sensational! As it was low season all evening meals were in the Grill and there was a choice of menus.

We also used the pool and spa faciilities on our first day, a lovely addition to the hotel. Unfortunately it was late afternoon and so dark when we were in there so we didn't get to make the most of the seaview from the pool but can imagine it is a great experience.

The hotel has a great location on the bay, you step out the back door and you are on the beach - we also walked down the promenade on our second night and had dinner at the Oyster Box restaurant a few minutes walk away. The reception team at the hotel were great, booking a table for us, recommending places to park in St Helier on a day out - (there is a special parking system in some car parks using a scratchcard so it is worth speaking to reception before you head into the capital) and generally giving advice to make sure we got to make the most of our time on the island. We would highy recommend a trip to the War Tunnels in the centre of the island. They are fantastically done and provide a real insight into life on the island during the German occupation.

As always with any Handpicked hotel, the staff made our stay. I'd like to make a special mention to Charles and Candice who were just a delight to deal with.

We will definitely be returning one day. Thank you L'Horizon.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room with the sea view as it is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stickman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend break at this stunning hotel, the service throughout our stay was impeccable. The room spacious and very clean, probably the highest cleaning standard I have experienced in a while. The food was excellent throughout.
I would highly recommend this hotel not just for service and standards but also its wonderful location.
Jayne

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a great 3 night stay in this calm, relaxing and beautiful hotel. We felt very well taken care of and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Clean, comfortable rooms and even the cheapest rooms were a good size. I wish now we had paid extra for a sea view because it really is a stunning bay. Excellent buffet breakfast, even had eggs fried fresh if you wanted it. Swimming pool and spa area great too.
This hotel clearly has great management behind it because you don't get such a smooth, efficient running place without a good management team.

Room Tip: get the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeegirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
0.3 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St. Brelade
865 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,733 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#10 of 16 in St. Brelade
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range: $141 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1850 by George Hicks, a colonel in the Bengal Army, the building has an almost Mediterranean feel yet the hotel itself is unmistakably British. The interior is calm and elegant, full of space and light, while the outside impresses with its beautiful terrace and the view over golden sand and crystal clear waters. We believe in taking things easy here, with a strong focus on leisure: something we like to think we are good at! One of the highlights of the four star L'Horizon Beach Hotel is the new spa, which includes six treatment rooms, a relaxation area, pedicure and manicure area and sleep room. With 106 bedrooms and three restaurants, the hotel offers the ideal setting for an intimate break, a romantic wedding and (as it is just 10 minutes from Jersey airport) an inspiring meeting venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Jersey l
l Horizon Hotel St Brelade
Lhorizon Hotel Jersey
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing