We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to Jersey and this hotel. We arrived at the hotel about 9.30am and were not expecting a room to be available until about 2.00pm the usual check in time. We were both surprised and delighted to be told that our room was ready for us. When we got to our room we had an even bigger surprise. Our sea view room was actually a suite! We ate in the hotel and the food was of an exceptionally high standard. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The only downside to the holiday was the seagull who pinched my flake from my ice cream. We will be returning next year.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clizzywizzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    123
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
114
267
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 day stay here. Everything was just perfect, from the spotless balcony sea view room to the wonderful food in the restaurant and the staff who were always happy and willing to go out of their way to please you. Having read all of the excellent reviews we were not disappointed. It was a pleasure to wake up with the stunning view across the bay and the sound of the waves on the sand. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will most certainly return.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHappy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have just return from a five day break. We had a sea superior sea view room which was spotlessly clean an very comfortable. Waking up with sun shinning and the view of the beech was a perfect start to the day.

All the staff were always more than happy to go the extra mile. The restaurant is wonderful, all the meals we had where top class. Everything seems to be homemade including the jam and marmalade at breakfast.

Only one little issue. The sea view rooms are in the sun all day and even with the door open are very hot. Perhaps air conditioning needs considering. But one I did mention this a fan was found immediately.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InspectorRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day break here - it was our first visit to Jersey and everything was just perfect. The hotel is just lovely - very tasteful reception, dining room and bar and the sea view rooms are a must if staying at this hotel. The food is second to none - from fresh lobster to fillet steak and the jersey desserts (white chocolate and ginger cheesecake!) are something else - The chef really takes pride in his menu and presentation.
We found lots of walks to go on - the coastline is stunning and the beach is a perfect lazy day, as its not too over crowded. There is also a lovely garen close to the hotel that the locals chill out on, and its lovely to watch all the locals walking their dogs on the beach in the morning. We found Jersey to be a very clean and tidy place. There was a party on the beach one night - some locals and this was a bit noisey - but they were enjoying themselves and in the morning they had left no rubbish at all, after all this is what a good beach is for - enjoying!!
The last thing that I can say about this lovely hotel is the staff - they were all very happy people and very attentive, they were a credit to the hotel. Thank you for a lovely holiday Golden Sands.

Room Tip: The bay is beautiful- so a sea view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank padster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We travelled to Jersey for a mini break for four nights over August Bank Holiday with our one year old baby. The hotel's location is ideal, you step out of the hotel and you are on the beach! St Brelade's itself is a small bay with a few restaurants, a few hotel bars/restaurants and a couple of beach shops. If you get the weather you don't need to leave.
The hotel itself was excellent. The staff were always very helpful and were able to help with day trips, bus timetables and any local information. The rooms were tidied to a high standard and were cleaned daily. An evening turn down service is available but you have to request it. I would have thought that in a four star hotel there would have been more toiletries in the bathroom but only shampoo and body wash were provided in bottles. attached to the wall. I think many hotels do this nowadays. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as it seemed quite formal although there was a kids menu. We ate in the Pizza Express next door and a great restaurant also on the beach called The Crab Shack, very family friendly. There are more restaurants a 30 minute walk away in St Aubin. We loved Salty Dog and Mash!

The hotel stores left over beach toys which I thought was a great idea. There were inflatables in all shapes and sizes which could be used and all kinds of buckets, spades and other toys. They are kept in a lounge which i think children can use at night to watch tv or a movie. Saves buying them in the beach shop!
Breakfast was great. Cereal, full English, cheese, ham, pastries and a selection of juices.
We would stay in the hotel again. It is very child friendly and you can't beat the location. I would definitely pay extra for a sea view room and balcony.
There's a waitrose a ten minute walk away so we bought a bottle of wine every night and sat on the balcony!!
I would recommend this hotel for a British seaside mini break....just hope for good weather!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenP2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just returned following a week's holiday with friends at St Brelade's Bay, Jersey. We found the Golden Sands Hotel to be excellent with extremely helpful and pleasant staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We looked forward to the lovely meals in the Dining Room with the excellent service from the waiters/waitresses, always with a smile, and friendly banter with Alistair, the Dining Room Manager who did a great job. The views out to sea from the Dining Room and Bar/Lounge are peaceful and picturesque, an added bonus!

We found the Receptionists to be pleasant and helpful so maybe the writer who found this not to be the case had encountered them at a particularly trying time!

Our room (414) was perfectly adequate for us - it was rather warm with being "up in the roof" but apart from the first night, it was quiet enough outside to have the windows open.

We loved St Brelade's Bay with it's clean sandy beach and hope to go back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding and wont be returning. The first room we stayed in was a twin room. The decor was from the eighties dark wood. The twin beds was pushed together so no room inbetween. Room was on the small side. It also had no air con so had to have windows open as room was so hot. Not good as you are over looking the main road through St Brelades and the noise in the morning from the road woke me up at five in the morning. The bathroom needed sprucing up flaking paint, caps missing off screw heads and dirty grouting. Window right next to shower so had to have blinds down and lights on. Thankfully we only had booked this room for one night. The next night we booked into a seaview room. Bigger, brighter, cooler rooms and more up to date decor. My friend and his wife stayed in room 203 there was only a small shower cubicle with a cheap shower curtain. There was nowhere to put any toiletries in this bathroom except on the floor. This room also never had a bath. Our room 207 had a bath and shower with a large sink you could put toiletries on. These rooms also had no air con. The best thing about these rooms are the stunning views. Now on to the staff. Reception staff seemed a bit offish. The bar closes at 11:30 with no room service ( so we was told by the night porter at 11:45 pm). Breakfast is a buffet so once you was shown to your table you can help yourselfs to a wide variety of cerals jucies and fruit. Opposite the fruit and ceral bar is the hot breakfast bar with a wide selection of items all well cooked. Toast and hot drinks are brought to the table as your order is taken as you are shown your seat. The staff in the breakfast room are polite and friendly unlike the reception staff. On the last day of our stay the lift was out of order so had to carry all our luggage down stairs and on arrival at reception they told us that they would have brought down our luggage. Why couldnt they add to the note on to the out of order notice that they had placed on the lift that please call reception and we will gladly help you with any luggage. While waiting for other members of our group we seen a very elderly woman with walking difficuties struggling down the last few steps whilst her elderly daughter was carrying her walking frame. These was welcomed with the same blase response we got " You should have said and we would have helped you". We got these rooms at a discounted rate as there was a large group of us and the majority of us was not happy with the over priced, hot, basic rooms.Overall we will not be returning. The location even though right on the beach is not ideal as there isn't much to do in the local vicinity apart from veg out on the beach or eat at the very local, very good restaurants. This either means hiring a car or getting buses. You also have to pay for the car park opposite ( paycards) as the hotel don't throw this in when you stay.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darren1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
0.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St. Brelade
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
740 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
710 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Property: Golden Sands Hotel
Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade’s Bay, St. Brelade JE3 8EF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of the popular St Brelade’s Bay, the Golden Sands Hotel is the perfect location for a quality, beach holiday in Jersey that is as active or relaxing as you choose. Recently refurbished and enjoying 4 star status, the hotel offers panoramic views over the white sandy beach and clear blue waters from the restaurant, café bar and most of the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands St Brelade
Golden Sands Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade
Hotel Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing