We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Place(St. Brelade)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerville Hotel(St. Aubin)
$165
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa(St. Brelade)
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$330
$296
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miramar Hotel(St. Brelade)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cristina(St. Aubin)
$178
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Hotel(St. Brelade)(Great Value!)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
$270
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beau Rivage Hotel(St. Brelade)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveler rating
491
179
42
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
179
42
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewcafe barpublic car parkpay cardsbeach toyssound of the wavesbrelade's bayperfect locationlovely hotelbalcony doortop floorhot buffetpizza expresshalf boardreception staffno air conditioningoverlooking the beach
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 725 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After a wonderful stay at the Golden Sands last year we had no hesitation in booking for this year too, and I can only repeat last years review.... fabulous hotel, excellent food, location and view amazing...but the thing that makes this Hotel perfect is the staff...from manager to cleaner they are all friendly, helpful and courteous, nothing is a bother... but a special mention goes to ...Alex on reception with her smile and friendly greeting... John the barman who seemed to remember what everybody drank..lol.... Robbie and Alex in dining room, the mother and daughter team who did the rooms whose names unfortunately I didn't get, and lastly the girl who was always smiling and always took time for a little chat while serving in the dining room Veronika. Thank you for making our holiday so wonderful and I hope to see you all next year... just waiting for prices to re-book....

Room Tip: def go for a sea view room with balcony....and if you can afford it go for superior sea view its worth the extra
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozzie_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Rozzie

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on your holiday with us.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed a copy of your posting onto the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully next year.

Kind regards
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Jersey and I was travelling with my husband and out two sons aged 16 and very nearly 12 year old, I picked this hotel due to the location on the beach and the reviews, was not disappointed, A FANTASTIC HOTEL WITH A FANTASTIC MANAGERESS AND A BRILLIANT TEAM OF COLLEAGUES WITH HER.

The hotel situation almost on the beach was lovely and the weather for our week was also lovely, many walks along the beach at night before a nightcap in the bar before bed was most enjoyable.

We hired a car for the week and this was very good as in the evening if we did not choose to eat in the hotel we could go further afield and enjoy the gorgeous scenery that Jersey holds, a beautiful island.

We enjoyed lots of different day trips to the War Tunnels, Elizabeth Castle, St Helier etc we also took the rapide condor ferry to St Malo in France for the day which was well worth the visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday on the beautiful Island of Jersey and the fantastic hotel we opted for.

Good food, breakfast lovely and the setting of the beach unfolds before your eyes is breathtaking, all food on the menus is homemade.

We paid a little extra to get the superior familyroom with view on the fourth floor, would recommend the sea view it is a marvellous sight and very pleasing on the eye.

If I return to Jersey again I would either use this hotel or one part of the group, I would recommend this hotel very much.

Well done to Avril and her staff who in my opinion are doing everything right, keep up the good work and thank you very much for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view it's a must, sorry there is no fitness suite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaycenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Kay

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Golden Sands and your first trip to Jersey. Jersey is such a beautiful island and has so much to offer.

We hope that if you decide to visit the island again that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Sands.

Kind regards
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were so pleased that this hotel was still as good as ever. We have stopped in this hotel 3 times now the last time was 4 years ago the food was excellent and staff very friendly. We had a sea view which I think you need to have its a little bit more money but well worth it the view is fantastic. We ate some nights at the hotel but we also ate at the Oyster Box the food and the view why you are eating is fantastic in both places. There is nothing negative I can say about this hotel and surrounding area it is the best place to stay in Jersey. We hired a car from the airport which is cheaper to do so before you arrive and it took us 10 minutes to drive to hotel. We will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire20Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Claire

We are so pleased that you were so pleased. We are constantly working at improving our standards and service.

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are always delightful to welcome back our regular guests

Looking forward seeing you again.
Kind regards

Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our week at Golden Sands. Nice reception when we arrived and had a very pleasant room with a balcony and fantastic views over the bay. The beach could not be closer so great to enjoy the good weather we had. Breakfast was what we expected - good selection and nicely presented. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, making our stay even more pleasurable. We have also stayed at other, more expensive hotels in St Brelades, but would more than happily return to Golden Sands.
Negatives - not many. They do not have a car park and it is a bit fiddly having to organise tickets for the pay car park opposite. No pool or gym, but you get what you pay for and we thought the hotel offered excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparky0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did! We first decided to spend our 2013 holiday here when we visited St Brelade's during a stay at another hotel in St Helier. A year later, we arrived for a relaxing two weeks in the sun. From the outset, staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Our room had a balcony and stunning sea view. The room itself was very comfortable with an enormous bed, plenty of space and nice décor throughout. Tea and coffee making facilities as you would expect.

I think that the basics were excellent but what really made this hotel was the staff. Everyone: the manageress, the receptionists, the waiters and waitresses, the chefs, the cleaners were lovely. Stopping for a chat about your day and plans was not only something that seemed like a natural thing to do but actually something they all seemed to take great pleasure in doing.

We left after two weeks, feeling thoroughly relaxed and a little heaver due largely to the breakfast which we willingly overindulged in just about every day! Everything was freshly cooked and presented beautifully. Again, nothing was too much trouble and if you wanted something, the staff made sure you got it. A thoroughly pleasant dining experience to start off our busy days.

We didn't eat our main evening meal in the restaurant as we wanted the freedom to try the island's other extensive cuisine but one very special evening we did and once again, the food was exquisite. We actually had a very romantic setting that evening as we ate on the terrace outside, with the gently lapping sea as a backdrop. This completed the experience.

To conclude, we would like to recommend this hotel most highly. Our main reason is because the entire staff seemed to make it their mission in life to make sure our stay was everything we wanted it to be. Thank you Avril and your wonderful team!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews