We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FAB..FAB....FAB......”
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FAB..FAB....FAB......”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After a wonderful stay at the Golden Sands last year we had no hesitation in booking for this year too, and I can only repeat last years review.... fabulous hotel, excellent food, location and view amazing...but the thing that makes this Hotel perfect is the staff...from manager to cleaner they are all friendly, helpful and courteous, nothing is a bother... but a special mention goes to ...Alex on reception with her smile and friendly greeting... John the barman who seemed to remember what everybody drank..lol.... Robbie and Alex in dining room, the mother and daughter team who did the rooms whose names unfortunately I didn't get, and lastly the girl who was always smiling and always took time for a little chat while serving in the dining room Veronika. Thank you for making our holiday so wonderful and I hope to see you all next year... just waiting for prices to re-book....

Room Tip: def go for a sea view room with balcony....and if you can afford it go for superior sea view its wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozzie_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Rozzie

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on your holiday with us.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed a copy of your posting onto the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully next year.

Kind regards
Avril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    120
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
259
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Jersey and I was travelling with my husband and out two sons aged 16 and very nearly 12 year old, I picked this hotel due to the location on the beach and the reviews, was not disappointed, A FANTASTIC HOTEL WITH A FANTASTIC MANAGERESS AND A BRILLIANT TEAM OF COLLEAGUES WITH HER.

The hotel situation almost on the beach was lovely and the weather for our week was also lovely, many walks along the beach at night before a nightcap in the bar before bed was most enjoyable.

We hired a car for the week and this was very good as in the evening if we did not choose to eat in the hotel we could go further afield and enjoy the gorgeous scenery that Jersey holds, a beautiful island.

We enjoyed lots of different day trips to the War Tunnels, Elizabeth Castle, St Helier etc we also took the rapide condor ferry to St Malo in France for the day which was well worth the visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday on the beautiful Island of Jersey and the fantastic hotel we opted for.

Good food, breakfast lovely and the setting of the beach unfolds before your eyes is breathtaking, all food on the menus is homemade.

We paid a little extra to get the superior familyroom with view on the fourth floor, would recommend the sea view it is a marvellous sight and very pleasing on the eye.

If I return to Jersey again I would either use this hotel or one part of the group, I would recommend this hotel very much.

Well done to Avril and her staff who in my opinion are doing everything right, keep up the good work and thank you very much for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view it's a must, sorry there is no fitness suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaycenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Kay

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Golden Sands and your first trip to Jersey. Jersey is such a beautiful island and has so much to offer.

We hope that if you decide to visit the island again that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Sands.

Kind regards
Avril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were so pleased that this hotel was still as good as ever. We have stopped in this hotel 3 times now the last time was 4 years ago the food was excellent and staff very friendly. We had a sea view which I think you need to have its a little bit more money but well worth it the view is fantastic. We ate some nights at the hotel but we also ate at the Oyster Box the food and the view why you are eating is fantastic in both places. There is nothing negative I can say about this hotel and surrounding area it is the best place to stay in Jersey. We hired a car from the airport which is cheaper to do so before you arrive and it took us 10 minutes to drive to hotel. We will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire20Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Claire

We are so pleased that you were so pleased. We are constantly working at improving our standards and service.

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are always delightful to welcome back our regular guests

Looking forward seeing you again.
Kind regards

Avril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our week at Golden Sands. Nice reception when we arrived and had a very pleasant room with a balcony and fantastic views over the bay. The beach could not be closer so great to enjoy the good weather we had. Breakfast was what we expected - good selection and nicely presented. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, making our stay even more pleasurable. We have also stayed at other, more expensive hotels in St Brelades, but would more than happily return to Golden Sands.
Negatives - not many. They do not have a car park and it is a bit fiddly having to organise tickets for the pay car park opposite. No pool or gym, but you get what you pay for and we thought the hotel offered excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparky0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did! We first decided to spend our 2013 holiday here when we visited St Brelade's during a stay at another hotel in St Helier. A year later, we arrived for a relaxing two weeks in the sun. From the outset, staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Our room had a balcony and stunning sea view. The room itself was very comfortable with an enormous bed, plenty of space and nice décor throughout. Tea and coffee making facilities as you would expect.

I think that the basics were excellent but what really made this hotel was the staff. Everyone: the manageress, the receptionists, the waiters and waitresses, the chefs, the cleaners were lovely. Stopping for a chat about your day and plans was not only something that seemed like a natural thing to do but actually something they all seemed to take great pleasure in doing.

We left after two weeks, feeling thoroughly relaxed and a little heaver due largely to the breakfast which we willingly overindulged in just about every day! Everything was freshly cooked and presented beautifully. Again, nothing was too much trouble and if you wanted something, the staff made sure you got it. A thoroughly pleasant dining experience to start off our busy days.

We didn't eat our main evening meal in the restaurant as we wanted the freedom to try the island's other extensive cuisine but one very special evening we did and once again, the food was exquisite. We actually had a very romantic setting that evening as we ate on the terrace outside, with the gently lapping sea as a backdrop. This completed the experience.

To conclude, we would like to recommend this hotel most highly. Our main reason is because the entire staff seemed to make it their mission in life to make sure our stay was everything we wanted it to be. Thank you Avril and your wonderful team!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel twice in the past 6 years.My wife and I couldn't think of a nicer beach or a better place to celebrate my 60th birthday.All the staff are very friendly from the girls in reception,Alistair in the restaurant and John in the bar.We usually like to eat out in good restaurants such as Salty Dog,Oyster Box and Suma's.We dined in the Hotel's restaurant on the first night and were really pleased with the quality of the food.It was so good that we only went out for my birthday and one other night.The hotel is right on the beach and is a great place for families and very safe.( lifeguards on duty from morning to 5 or 6 pm.)We had a standard seaview room which was fine for a beach holiday.We have hired a car in the past when staying in Jersey.We have done all the sights in past holidays and managed without a car this time.The weather was great so we just swam and stayed around St. Brelade's bay.There is a good bus service and a stop just beside the hotel.£3.75 for 2 people into St.Helier.
If I go back to Jersey I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for seaview room.Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardensedvirens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Sands for 4 days earlier this month. Like all the other reviews I would highly recommend the staff in all areas of the hotel. The Reception staff were extremely helpful and happily recommended car parks, restaurants, places to visit, etc etc. Nothing was too much trouble. The location is fabulous and I don't think you could ever tire of the view of the bay.
We had booked a room at the back of the hotel but it was very hot, with no balcony and no air conditioning so we asked to change our room to one at the front with a balcony. It was much nicer and well worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: One with a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
0.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Property: Golden Sands Hotel
Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade’s Bay, St. Brelade JE3 8EF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of the popular St Brelade’s Bay, the Golden Sands Hotel is the perfect location for a quality, beach holiday in Jersey that is as active or relaxing as you choose. Recently refurbished and enjoying 4 star status, the hotel offers panoramic views over the white sandy beach and clear blue waters from the restaurant, café bar and most of the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands St Brelade
Golden Sands Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade
Hotel Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing