We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with great location”
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night recently. The reception staff are very welcoming and informative of the island. The room was a good size but was quite expensive bearing in mind that there was not air-conditioning, but it did have amazing views over the beach. The room was very clean and the wifi was quick. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaVictoria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 627 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Seaview rooms are fantastic - watch the surfers from your balcony. The rooms have all you'd expect from a hotel of this quality and we could not fault them. The saff were professional, helpful, friendly and efficient. The restaurant served excellent food overlooking the bay. I cannot praise this hotel enough.
Only one small criticism. Space is precious on the island and this hotel does not have a carpark but there's ample parking opposite at 70p for 2 hours (between 08:00 and 17:00) using scratch cards available at reception.

Room Tip: For the best view, ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor. Be prepared however to hear the waves on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Ron M

Thank you for your lovely posting on tripadvisor. We are so please that you enjoyed your stay with us and our beautiful view.

I will pass you comments onto the staff and we hope that you will return to the hotel sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We didn't stay here, only went to the restaurant part - which was fully booked they said. We got seated in the bar/club side which was still very nice and overlooking the beach of St Brelade. Menu was almost the same as for the restaurant with the same prices. Food price was average, portion could have been a bit bigger, but still was ok. Staff wasn't that friendly - maybe because we just walked in, and didn't stay at this hotel. Still.... they should be happy for every customer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

this hotel is well worth the 4 star rating and more, the view from the rooms are amazing and as for the food i could not fault a single item, as for the staff nothing was was overlooked to make you feel welcome, to compliment the hotel the sandy beach on the doorstep was clean,safe,and R.N.L.I. lifeguards were on sight all day. a return trip is on the cards for sure,thank you golden sands

Room Tip: anything sea facing you cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

From the moment we started the booking process to checking out of the hotel, the staff & management could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had booked a superior seafront room for my partner's parents who both have disabilities (Mum with partial site & Dad with Motor Nurone Disease) and the staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating with their issues. Special thanks need to go to Robbie the restaurant manager who despite having a full hotel was happy to arrange any dish Dad wanted - even if not on the menu! Jan at the front desk was always there to lend a hand and the young man (so sorry can't remember his name) who initially showed us a variety of rooms was always there with a smiling face and also very helpful. The hotel is spotless and the superior seafront room of a very high standard. Every member of staff we encountered were charming and helpful. We really can not praise the hotel enough for the level of customer care and the quality of the accommodation.

Room Tip: The superior sea front rooms are definitely worth the money if planning on spending time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Holidayrocks

Thank you for your lovely comments which I will pass onto the staff. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Avril McLaren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a sea view room for 4 nights and enjoyed a very pleasant break. Food, staff and service all excellent. We ate at the Oyster Box the first night but on the next night decided to try the bar meal at our hotel. We enjoyed it so much, that on subsequent nights we also ate in the bar of our hotel and it was very good value for money. Bar Menu is a misnomer as the food is the same as in the restaurant, just a more limited choice but nevertheless it was excellent every time. Wine was reasonable too. For families the Pizza Express seemed popular (4 doors away).
Our bedroom was a good size, partly because of the extra space allowed for the single (optional) wall bed to fold down. The step down from our entrance hall into the bathroom and another down into the bedroom took a little getting used to but most probably a result of hotel extension in the past. Our room had a kettle and we had plenty of tea, coffee and milk supplied each day. Bath had a shower over it on a riser rail so the handset could be used separately. Elemis dispensers, no shower cap. Our room 105 seemed to be just above the guitarist playing in the bar but it stopped at 10.30 pm and only on one evening. Location excellent for a quiet stay with all attractions easily accessible by bus (except the airport – take a taxi approx. £9.50). A good way to get an overview of Jersey is to book a day coach trip but check it does visit the places you consider important. Waverly Tours seem to visit the most attractions. The War Tunnels, Jersey Lavender (and nearby Reg’s garden), The Glass Church of St. Mathew (Lalique glass), Jersey Pearls and St Hellier are all easily accessible on the Liberty Bus network for in depth visits. The Lavender Garden is only a £1.20 bus stop away and the walk back can be achieved down 280 steps through the Churchill Memorial Park which is opposite the hotel. You will need directions or a good road map though.
For the fit & healthy a good 2 hour walk is across the cliff tops to Corbiere lighthouse via Beaufort Bay, the old quarry and the prison. Pick up the path from the LH lane running behind the church but look out for the uphill path to the RIGHT where a footpath crosses the lane and reward yourself with a Jersey Ice Cream from the van when you arrive.

Room Tip: Sea view room best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brit1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked at Golden Sands Hotel for a four day visit to Jersey in May 2013. We were really looking forward to it, the island looked amazing and the hotel looked lovely. Just before we were due to fly, my husband hurt his back quite badly. He just couldn't move and was in a lot of pain. I contacted the booking agency to see whether we they could help us to broker either a partial refund or a credit so that we could visit Golden Sands later this year. The bookings manager at the hotel flatly refused to do anything for us, not even a partial gesture. As a result we have lost a considerable amount of money and it has left a very bad taste. I'm not impressed with the way the Hotel has treated us as prospective future guests (we will never book there again, although will definitely arrange another trip to Jersey) and we are definitely not impressed by their customer service, lack of understanding and inflexibility which leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank 150958RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear 150958RH
Unfortunately it is very difficult to comment as we do not know your name or reservation details. If you have booked with a travel agent or online booking provider I would advise you to contact them or if you booked directly with the Golden Sands Hotel we would ask you to contact us directly. 01534 491907.
Regards
Avril McLaren
goldensands@dolanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
0.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
St. Brelades Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in St. Brelade
840 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#3 of 4 in St. Aubin
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,045 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Address: La Route de La Baie, St. Brelade’s Bay, St. Brelade JE3 8EF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range: $74 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of the popular St Brelade’s Bay, the Golden Sands Hotel is the perfect location for a quality, beach holiday in Jersey that is as active or relaxing as you choose. Recently refurbished and enjoying 4 star status, the hotel offers panoramic views over the white sandy beach and clear blue waters from the restaurant, café bar and most of the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands St Brelade
Golden Sands Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade
Hotel Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing