We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at Hotel La Place for seven nights. The staff were very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was first class with a good variety on the menu. Everywhere was very clean and there are some lovely areas to sit in. A very relaxing week.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nottm38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

The cottages here are stunning. Ignore all the bad reviews, because by staying in the cottages you can go to the breakfast room, pool, lobby etc. it is a beautiful place and it was an old farmhouse, and if you're looking for modern and grand, obviously this isn't the place, it's an old lovely decorated place, and I can't understand how it is "dirty and damp".
The pool is a gorgeous temperature and the sun beds are comfy, can't say how the hotel rooms are but the cottage rooms are gorgeous..with a party of 8 we stayed in a large cottage and it was extra spacious and there wasn't any lacking room for any of us. Loved every minute of it here and it's defo a must!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Faye G

Thank you for finding the time to post these lovely comments on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate all comments and we have been lucky to receive some very great reviews lately, perhaps the dirty and damp comments you refer to were of a while ago as the quality of our rooms are in line with our 5 star self-catering cottages. The refurbishment is not fully completed as the standard rooms are yet to be done, which is scheduled to be done in the winter.

Thank you for pointing out that when you are staying in the self-catering you are able to use all of the hotel’s facilities, such as our lovely heated swimming pool. We even do room service in the cottage if you want to have the evening off from cooking!
Really glad you loved every minute and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Jersey.

Kind regards,

Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Excellent hotel, facilities spotless and of high quality. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good choice of food, nice to be able to choose between the slightly more formal restaurant and the` Retreat Bar' for our evening meals.
As our flight was late in the afternoon we were able to relax by the pool and enjoy a lunch from the bar even though we had signed out from our room.
Although the hotel is only about 6 minutes from the airport there is very little disturbance from air traffic.
We WILL be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel La Place and had such a wonderful stay at this Hotel. The staff are so polite and helpful. The bedroom was light and airy and spotlessly clean with a large en suite bathroom with plenty of toiletries and a fantastic walk in shower. The bed was comfy and the linen was nice, white and crisp.
The food in the restaurant both at Breakfast and Dinner was excellent. The food was delicious and could not fault anything. Well done to the chef who prepared us some lovely meals. The restaurant itself has a very relaxing atmosphere too. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone looking to stay on Jersey. We stayed in three Hotel altogether on the Island during our stay and La Place was the one that certainly stood out as one of the best for us.

Room Tip: We had one of the recently refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Christine H,

Thank you for taking the time out to write on TripAdvisor, it really is great that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you appreciated our White Company toiletries and enjoyed the linen on our comfortable beds.

Thank you for complimenting us on the food for both dinner and breakfasts. We believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so we are very happy to offer a variety of healthy choices for our guests to choose from, whether they decide to opt for a Continental or full English breakfast.

We sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel next time you decide to visit our beautiful island!

Kind regards,

Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I spent some time researching the best hotels in Jersey using their websites and Trip Advisor. It was worth the effort as this hotel ticked all the boxes. I specified a poolside room with private patio. This was a great choice so we could relax in peace in our enclosed patio or open the gate to use the pool. We only ate one evening meal in the hotel and the restaurant was completely empty for the first hour of our meal. This allowed the staff to be very attentive and to even spend some time talking to us between courses. This is a truly international hotel with staff from all over the place but all speak very good English
The breakfasts were very nice with excellent service.
The room was very clean and comfortable and I am glad I chose a refurbished room after reading some comments on Trip Advisor.. Now this sounds like a perfect review, and I do like the hotel but I have to report a major problem that I only noticed after being home for two weeks and this was my meal was charged for twice on my credit card. Once at the table and once on my checkout bill. When I brought it to the hotels attention Margriet offered to refund my credit card and apologised for the mistake, but if their systems do not pick this up themselves I would suggest a careful examination of your bills. However it is all sorted now and I would still stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room, poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bangormaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear bangormaine,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor, how great that you used the website to book your holiday and that you weren’t disappointed with your choice.
It is with pleasure to pass on your positive comments about the staff to the team.

As per our email correspondence I was truly apologetic with regards to the error on your bill, as you point out in your review you paid on the night you dined in our award winning restaurant, but unfortunately as most of our guests charge extras on their room bill during their stay, it was by error your meal was also charged onto your room account. Once I was notified of this, we did refund the amount. It certainly does not reflect our usual customer service and we have updated our procedures since.
We look forward in welcoming you back when you are next in Jersey.

Kind regards,
Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our second visit to this excellent hotel. The welcome we were given made us feel part of the family! Everything was just as we wished for. The room was excellent overlooking the pool, food was very good and the service was superb. The staff are so friendly and their attention to detail is spot on.
We will return a again. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Lynda I

How great to hear you feel like part of the La Place family! Thank you so much for writing your review, it certainly is much appreciated and it is lovely to know that we played a part in making your holiday wonderful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Jersey.

Best regards,

Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived and at first I was quite surprised that our room had not been refurbished to the standard in the photos. However, we had originally requested to bring our dog and were told that the hotel was fully booked. They called back later to explain they could accommodate us, but not as requested, so I assume this played a part. Aside from an outdated décor, the room was clean and adequate for our family of 4. The rest of the hotel were representative of the photos, and we could quickly overlook the outdated room as everything else was top notch.
The friendly and attentive staff are truly what make this hotel a gem, and our 3 day stay was made memorable by their attention to detail. Dragosh and the team from the restaurant and retreat were lovely and made us feel like we were very special guests. From morning breakfast to afternoon tea to an evening snack upon our late arrival in the bar, we were well cared for from arrival to departure.
We would eagerly return, but likely for a cottage or refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. If you are with a family, the 1st floor rooms have direct access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LauraAbr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear LauraAbr0ad,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. As per your comments the hotel has not fully completed the refurbishment and the standard rooms are scheduled to be done in the winter. As you mentioned in your review although they are in a different style they are still clean and comfortable for families.

I am really delighted to hear your comments about the staff, they truly work hard to look after all the guests and it is great to see that it is noticed and appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next here.

Kind regards,

Margriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
882 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
792 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Address: La Route Du Coin, St. Brelade JE3 8BT
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range: $149 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing