We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable 5-day break at the Hotel La Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable 5-day break at the Hotel La Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

Very good value. We opted for half-board and the food was very good. For a small hotel the menu was varied each evening. Our twin-bedded room was large. The beds were comfortable and the room was promptly and well-cleaned each day. The main feature of the hotel were the really helpful, friendly and efficient staff. The hotel is well located for all of the island's attractions and was very quiet at night so no problems sleeping. I would not hesitate to recommend it and would happily re-visit.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    107
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
219
474
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

I recently had the pleaseure of staying at this hotel and I cannot recommend it enough. What a refreshing change from the corporate machines with no soul. The staff were extremely helpful from the moment we arrived, especially nice as we were a group of males there to play golf. The knowledge of the island from all employees was excellent, and the manager Paul went out of his way to ensure we were directed to the most appropriate places to eat, drink and play golf. we only ate in the hotel restaurant on the final night, but agreed that we wished we had done this earlier in our stay as it was excellent in every respect. To find a hotel like this in this day and age is a real treat, and I hope it continues in to operate like this for a long time to come. A special mention must also go to the duty manager Thomasz, who looked after us in the bar, as if we were guests in his own home. Great work, looking forward to returning soon.

  • Liked — Service provided by all
  • Disliked — Rooms varied a little within our group
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dermotmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

Dirty pillows changed twice before finding clean ones!!! - some rooms upgraded to bring hotel upto 4 Star but not the room we were in - very dated, tatty upholstery - Manager told us room would be upgraded next winter - no good to us - shouldn't have been rated 4 Star - however buffet breakfast good.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Dirty Pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FussyGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

A warm welcome , with car to collect us at the airport.

Clean quiet room and a delicious meal in the restaurant.

We were well looked after and the new owners are taking a very personal ionterest in the hotel which is obvious from the great professionalism and freindship shown by the staff to whom nothing is too much trouble.

  • Liked — good service
  • Disliked — Slightly dated
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

I booked La Place Hotel in St. Brelade, Jersey because it is situated close to where my mother is in a residential home. From the moment I arrived until I departed, everyone at the hotel was so professional as well as extremely helpful and friendly - a really great team. My room was light and airy, lots of space and with everything I required for my stay. Dinner - in the bar as the restaurant was booked out on my first evening - was excellent, first class cuisine, beautiful presentation and perfect service.
Full Jersey breakfast was included in my room rate and there was more than enough selection of everything you could wish for - whatever your appetite! Again, the service was spot on. Reception - young lady always with a smile - willing to assist with every request. I will certainly be staying at La Place again - and I am a tough guest to please as I am in the international 5* hotel business myself! The hotel is a short walk away from the delightful bay of St. Aubin - full of great restaurants and views of the island.

  • Liked — Airy room, newly decorated, view over pool
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

Very nice hotel

Lovely room, quiet, clean comfortable

Good food and fast helpful and efficient service

Free pick up from airport very helpful and car hire at a very reasonable rate from the hotel

Altogether a very pleasant 5 day stay

I would recommend this hotel and will definately be going here again on my next visit to Jersey

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Essex_girl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2008

This was our fourth visit. We were accompanied by some friends who had heard how highly we regarded this hotel and they were keen to experience it for themselves. We were rather apprehensive in case it did not live up to their expectations. However, we needn't have worried as they fell in love with it as soon as they walked through the front door.
There had been some decorating since we last visited and there are plans for further refurbishment. We hope that these refurbishments do not change the character of the hotel (the ladies toilets on the ground floor are well worth a visit and we hope that they will be relatively untouched).
What had not changed was the quality of the staff and the excellent food. We totally agree with the comments about the staff by the previous contributor. Also, the chef continues to impress.
We will definitely visit again and our friends are already making plans to return.
Their sister hotel in St Aubin, Hotel La Tour, is worthy of consideration.

  • Liked — The food and the friendly, efficient staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to prevent a return visit
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Greenhills Country Hotel
Greenhills Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Peter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Property: Hotel La Place
Address: La Route Du Coin, St. Brelade JE3 8BT
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing