We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good hotel in good location”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a lovely double room which had been recently refurbished and it was very tastefully decorated. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and were pleased with the choice and food. The staff were really friendly and helpful (apart from, sadly, when we first arrived and had to ring several times from the airport for us to be picked up. Eventually someone arrived after almost half an hour and then were greeted at the hotel with the receptionist saying 'I don't quite know what happened there, but never mind, you're here now'... no apology so not the best welcome!). There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you on one route and there is a second a few minutes' walk away which takes you on several more. It's a nice 20 minute walk down to St Aubin which has several restaurants and a lovely beach.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our refurbished rooms and the food in the restaurant. I am however sorry to hear your experience on arrival and that you had to wait at the airport for our courtesy transfer. Unfortunately sometimes there is a delay with our pick up, which all depends on if flights come in earlier or are delayed or if transfers are not booked in advance, nevertheless I do apologise that this matter was not dealt with correctly on arrival.
Once again thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    113
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
226
525
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North East UK
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

First of all, may we just say the cottages are absolutely stunning - 5* in fact. They are the best self catering cottages we've found on Jersey, and are a real cut above all others. The interior design is fantastic, and I can't imagine anyone who booked one to be disappointed with them.

The hotel has recently been refurbished, and the public areas we saw are all wonderful too. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food was of a high standard.

So why the 'Average' rating? Three reasons. Firstly, the hotel states that there is wifi in every cottage. This was very important to my husband, who has a job that is difficult for him to 'walk away' from for two weeks. The wifi did not work in our cottage, and although we complained several times to the hotel, nothing was actually done about it. This proved extremely frustrating for us, and caused my husband problems with his company...not great when he was supposed to be relaxing on holiday :-(

Secondly, the front door of the cottage, as well as the rear French doors, did not have a way of locking them from inside with the key. Although they required a key to unlock them from the outside, once inside, all that secured them was a twist mechanism along with lifting the door handle! This is completely inadequate when staying in them with children, as my two (aged 5 & 7) both were able to open the front door with little effort.

Lastly, and the most annoying problem we had whilst staying here, was the positioning of our cottage and the way other guests constantly invaded our privacy. We stayed in Jasmine Cottage (a three bedroomed cottage) and this was at the beginning of a row. The rear of the cottages all had their own patios and gardens, divided with a high trellis for privacy. However, the trellis fencing only went part the way along the garden, leaving the rest sort of 'open plan' along the bottom. Very odd. The family staying next door were a large group occupying several cottages, and clearly thought they could play on the entire lawned area. Cue us trying to eat a romantic dinner with them throwing Frisbees, balls, toddlers running up to us, surly teenagers staring and constantly running backwards & forwards. Marvellous. At one point, a rocket type of toy narrowly missed our 5 year old, resulting in us very politely asking them to stay in their own garden area. Then we realised that as we were on the end of the row, everyone was tramping over our garden, and the hotel's flower beds, using it as a short cut to get to the car park! We just couldn't relax anywhere, as we always felt someone was looking at us as they went past. After about 5 days of this, we decided to complain to the hotel manager, as it was really spoiling our time in the cottage. They agreed it was unacceptable and that they would speak to the family concerned but they were leaving in a day or two anyway. Didn't stop the next people all doing the same, and other families staying much further along the row. Can you imagine spending every warm summers evening with the French doors closed and the blinds down? With two very young children, we're out all day, but spend our evenings when the kids are in bed enjoying the late sunshine sitting outside - but not on this holiday :-( We have stressful lives, and need our holidays to unwind and relax.

We visit Jersey every year as we have family living there (my brother in law held his wedding reception at La Place as well) and we really thought we had found the perfect cottage to book regularly...but we really are thinking twice about booking again due to the issue with the bizarre open plan gardens. The first two issues aren't really deal breakers for us, but not being able to get some peace & quiet is.

Room Tip: Steer clear of Jasmine Cottage if you want peace, quiet & privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pidge_Pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write on tripadvisor, we appreciate all feedback and I am delighted to hear your comments about the cottages being stunning and our staff being friendly and helpful.
I am however sorry that there were aspects of your stay that were not satisfactory. I am disappointed that the problem you reported to us in the first week with the neighbouring cottages not respecting your privacy continued in the second week, as we were not made aware of this. After our chat we did speak to the families and I was therefore under the impression the problem was resolved. I do apologise that this was not the case, if however we were made aware of this we could’ve continued to assist you in this matter.

The problem with regards to the Wi-Fi in the cottage, I am sorry that this caused you stress during your holiday. Unfortunately it was a problem that was reported to our engineer, however I do apologise that this was not completely resolved during your stay.

Your comment regarding the doors not being able to lock from the inside with key, is unfortunately a fire safety issue. In case of an emergency you need to be able to open the door from the inside without the use of a key, I appreciate that this could’ve caused an inconvenience for you with the children, but unfortunately this particular problem is beyond our control.

Once again I am really sorry to hear that you were not able to unwind on this holiday due to the privacy problem. We do really take this on board and it will be something that we will look into this winter.
Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you wish to come back next year once we have resolved the fencing problem.

Best regards,
Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here! Lovely building, friendly staff and great pool. Our room was one of the refurbished ones and was pretty well perfect. There was some noise from outside late on Saturday evening, a wedding party I think, but we really enjoyed ourselves and would return in a heartbeat. Jersey was having a heat wave, which helped.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, it is great to hear that you thought the room was pretty well perfect. I am sorry though that you did experience some noise late outside, I hope it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience, we do have a night porter, so normal practice for us it to keep the noise late at night under control…
We hope to welcome you back and lets hope the heat wave will continue!

Best regards,
Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have recently returned from La Place hotel after a week's stay in the hotel in one of their superior rooms. The room had been redecorated and refurbished to a high standard in soft neutral shades with a good quality bed and a lovely large bathroom with enormous walk in shower and also a bath as an added option. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate and all credit to the chambermaids who work very hard to keep the standard all the week we were there.There is also the usual hospitality tray,magazines on Jersey and if desired a large flat screen TV.The hotel is well placed for easy access to the airport and also St Aubins which can be reached easily on foot,car or taxi . The local bus stops just outside the hotel so for those guests who do not want to drive this is so handy. The gardens are well tended and there is a lovely heated pool available for all guests. The bar is pleasant and is handy for either a drink or a bar meal. We ate in the hotel restaurant each evening as after the first night we knew it would be hard to beat unless you have local knowledge. The menu changes each day and there are 5 choices each night all cooked perfectly and presented well. We were not short of a choice for dinner each evening.The restaurant staff are well trained and pleasant and courteous and should be complimented for their attention to detail with out being over zealous. We would like to particularly mention Dragosh, Michael and Elodie who all helped make our dining experience relaxed and enjoyable.
Jersey is a lovely island and the La Place is certainly a hotel we will revisit in future years and if they can guarantee the same brilliant sunny weather we will be re-booking very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 200 which is a superior room, the only negative point was it was on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_flints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. And thank you for mentioning the chambermaids, they often get overlooked, but are such an important part of the hotel team, so once again thank you and they have been passed on. Also I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us, it is nice to hear that Dragosh and Michael (this must be Marian..) and Elodie get a special mention.

I wish I had the power to control the weather and give you sunny weather for your next visit, but unfortunately that is one guarantee I can’t give you! However Jersey is still a lovely place to visit if the weather is not as good, so hopefully we will see you soon.

Best regards,
Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We staid for a week in June and really liked this Hotel and can recommend it. We had booked a standard room and found ourselves in a nice and clean room with a newly refurbished bathroom which we really liked. The room was also really quiet and the only thing we heard from the surroundings was a pheasant yelling underneath our window. :-)
The entire Hotel team was providing great service. Reception, Bar, Restaurant was all perfect. Service can make a big difference and they are all really maximizing this impact, extremely friendly and helpful.
The quality of the food served was also really great, we had Dinner twice in the main restaurant and really enjoyed the daily changing menu and great taste. The Bar also offers a good variety of quick Dinners and is a less formal alternative for a casual night. Breakfast was great too.
While the Hotel is a little outside of town (walking to St. Aubin Harbor is about 20mins downhill - the way back up takes about 30 mins), there is a Bus-stop right in front of the Hotel. The Bus leaves hourly and either takes you downhill to St. Aubin Harbor or you can continue on to St. Hellier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oehli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking out the time to write on Tripadvisor, it really is great to hear your comments regarding your stay and that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Thank you for pointing out the different dining options at Hotel La Place and for letting us know you enjoyed the quality of our food. Also your lovely comments about the staff have been passed.
We hope to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A great little find.
Although, because we wanted a twin room we had to stay in the non-upgraded rooms, we weren't disappointed. They were spacious/ clean and well appointed.
Would have benefitted from having a small fridge in the room as well as more clothes hangers and curtains (only had blackout blinds).
Food was brilliant/ Breakfast plentiful and with lots of choice. Staff are lovely.
Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saz1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you weren’t disappointed with our standard rooms. Just a little note with regards to the clothes hangers, if reported during your stay we could have easily provided some more for you, so apologies if you did report but we didn’t supply. I appreciate that a fridge would be a benefit and this will be in all of our rooms once we have completed the last phase of our refurbishment.

I am pleased you would like to come back and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After a week in a Hotel La Place self catering cottage, I can't wait to go back! The very new cottages are built in traditional Jersey style around a spacious courtyard next to the hotel. Entering our cottage was like going into a glossy magazine,beautiful! The decoration is neutral and the very high quality furnishings and art work are in coastal colours. Lots of pale blue,beige and shades of turquoise. The open plan living area and kitchen is spacious and comfortable and a door leads to the private outside space at the back where there are loungers,a sofa,chairs and table. Cottages on one side of the courtyard seem to have a view over fields. We had a high hedge but lovely morning sun.
The kitchen has all the gadgets you will need but buy your own washing up liquid etc. The quality of the kitchen is truly enviable, I wanted to take it home!
The ground floor bedroom and en-suite are ideal for anyone who dislikes stairs. The bed can be made up as a double or twin. There is plenty of storage space.The bathroom has no bath but an easy access shower.
The first floor bedroom and bathroom are huge and totally lovely, decor,ornaments a large comfortable bed and white bedlinen make it all very desirable! The wardrobe stretches under the eaves giving lots of space for suitcases and storage space for the ubiquitous bed cushions! The bathroom has a shower and bath and enough space for a party.
The two bedrooms are both lovely but the upstairs one is more spacious and has more of a wow factor so be aware if sharing with friends!
There is an additional loo off the hallway. The heating system has controls in each room and there is a stylish electric fire in the living area. I think the cottage would be cosy in the winter months.
We had complimentary breakfast in the hotel which was very good and all the staff were charming,friendly and endlessly helpful. We could also use the hotel swimming pool which was heated to a lovely warm temperature . We sampled the very excellent bar food.
We had a car but did use the bus to St.Hellier which runs hourly and stops just outside the hotel.
All in all, a fabulous place, not cheap but excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it really is great to get such positive feedback and you have described the cottage better than our virtual tour, so thank you for this, it is much appreciated!

We look forward to welcoming you back, if you can’t wait, why not book again for next year so you can already look forward to it and take advance of the continental breakfast which will still be included if you pre- book and are return guests.

Best regards,
Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
2.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
740 reviews
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
809 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
755 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,108 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Property: Hotel La Place
Address: La Route Du Coin, St. Brelade JE3 8BT
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing