We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Tonic”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just the Tonic”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We picked this hotel after viewing it on the hotels website and we couldn't have wished for a better hotel to stay at. Our booking was done by Bogdan who was very helpful with all our holiday arrangements. We arrived on Monday 24th June and were met at the airport by the hotels courtesy bus whose driver helped us with our luggage. When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist was very polite and checking in was done efficiently and politely. After checking we were given a complementary glass of pink champagne by the pool which was most welcoming. Our friends had a room on the first floor and ours was a poolside room, both were clean, comfortable and of a high standard. The staff that were on duty in the morning at breakfast and again in the restaurant in the evening were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. As were the bar staff. We hired a car for four days which the hotel arranged for us. The hotel is in a lovely part of the countryside yet only minutes from the coast. We look forward to returning again sometime soon and would certainly recommend the hotel to family and friends. Jacqui C

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Jacqui,
Thank you for taking the time out to write on tripadvisor, I am very pleased to hear that you were not disappointed after reading the comments on tripadvisor.

Your comments regarding the staff are much appreciated and I will pass this onto our team. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest regards,

Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    116
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
230
540
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel after reviewing all the comments on trip advisor and it totally lived up to them.We stayed here for a long weekend June 21st, there were 8 of us on our trip, we have been having our weekends away for over 20 years and I have to say I have never received such fabulous quality of service on any of mine/our previous trips. The hotel itself is absolutely lovely and the pool area is too. Starting with the booking with Christine she was so helpful, to the transfers from the airport, our luggage taken to our rooms whilst we enjoyed the complimentary pink champagne in the bar, the bar staff, breakfast staff, receptionist staff, cleaning staff, every member in this hotel gave quality attentive service and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in a triple room and on the 3rd night there were only 2 staying as our friend had to return home for work, they even asked if we would like the 3rd bed removing to make more space in what was already a great size room, we said it was fine as it definitely wasn't in the way . On the Sunday we wanted to go to St. Brelades bay so we asked what bus to get etc at reception and the manager told us if we wanted to wait a bit the driver from the transfer bus would take us when he returns from the airport ! When he took us to the bay he got out to take us into a lovely bar that overlooked the bay it was stunning. Everyone was so attentive and we just wanted to to say thanks again for a brilliant memorable time we had at this hotel and will see you next year!!
Regards
Tracey

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Tracey
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it is great to hear that you booked after reading our comments on tripadvisor and it is even better that we didn’t disappoint.
It was a great pleasure having your group staying with us and I am pleased to hear that the staff played a part in making your stay enjoyable.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you all back.

Kindest regards,
Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Recently returned from a week's stay at Hotel La Place. Everything about the hotel was first class. Welcoming and attentive staff, comfortable clean room, good facilities and fantastic food.

We were prompted to book the hotel on the back of the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Much of the hotel has been tastefully refurbished recently and looks really good. Our room had a wonderfully comfortable bed, superb bathroom and everything worked just as it should.

Breakfast was always a good start to the day with a wide selection of both cold and hot food, the restaurant was always a delight with a good selection from either of the two menus and a good selection of wines too. Great bar with friendly bar staff and a superbly comfortable and quite lounge. Great to read a good book in.

The staff were all so pleasant and friendly and how nice to be addressed by name too. Even out in St. Aubin when we bumped into one of the restaurant staff. Grateful thanks to Dragosh, Marian, Nuno and all the other staff for making us feel so welcome and looking after us.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! We shall return again.

Room Tip: We had a room right at the end of the first floor overlooking the garden and conservatory and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it is great to hear that you booked with us after reading our reviews and that you were not disappointed.
I am really pleased to hear your comments regarding the staff and they will be passed onto the relevant departments.
Thank you for your comments regarding our recently refurbished areas, a lot of thought has gone in to this, so it is great to know that they are being appreciated and that you made good use of the lounge!
Thank you for recommending the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards,
Margriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The staff were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was superb, the facilities great and we would certainly return. Breakfast was an event every morning! Fabulous. There was nothing whatsoever to criticize: helpful and informative desk staff, chatty and friendly bar and breakfast staff, spotlessly clean rooms, beautiful conservatory and lounge. Great location on No.9 bus route which linked in with all the other routes available, so no need for a car. As two friends who holiday together, this was a break we will remember and may well repeat.
Sally Cook and Angela Taylor

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sally Cook and Angela Taylor
Thank you so much for your comments, it really is lovely to hear that the staff played a part in making your holiday enjoyable and I am also pleased that you consider our breakfast an event! All your comments will be passed onto our staff and hopefully we can welcome you back to Hotel La Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamsterley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Tempted by great reviews on Trip Advisor, we were so pleased we went. We were picked up by a courtesy people carrier from the airport as part of the service, which is only about ten minutes away. St Brelade's Bay and St Aubin are also only about ten minutes away. We had a pool side room which had not been refurbished but the bathroom had been done to an excellent standard. The room was dated but very spacious and clean with a sliding patio door out to a private outdoor seating area with your own table and chairs next to the swimming pool. Unfortunately the weather wasn't kind enough to use them. Bathrobes, slippers, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities are supplied. Breakfast was served by very efficient, friendly staff with everything you expect and excellent fully cooked breakfast of your choice. All the reception areas are fully refurbished to a beautiful standard. We had drinks in the bar which had a great relaxed feel about it. All the staff throughout the hotel were lovely including reception. We asked to have a look at a newly refurbished room which was stunning and will be requested on our definite return! Jersey is a beautiful, well kept island which we were blown away by. We hired a car for the three days we were there, which was brought to the hotel then we dropped it back to the airport. A little tip...we didn't realise the car parking situation, you need to buy a pay card from a garage or most retail outlets. Sunday is free but weekdays you have to purchase one before going into a chargeable car park, you can't just buy a parking ticket like 'back home'.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write about the hotel on tripadvisor. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and it’s great that you decided to book with us further to reviews on tripadvisor and it is even better to hear that we didn’t disappoint. Just a little note regarding the poolside room that you stayed in, we managed to do the bathroom just in time for this season, as you mentioned, but unfortunately not the rest of room, we will however complete the room in the next winter season. Hopefully our summer will be better next year so should you decide to come back you can stay in a refurbished poolside room and make use of the patio area! Once again thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We accepted a voucher for an overnight stay at La Place. Previous experiences,many years before were an anniversary meal and a wedding reception...both very good occasions, so we were interested to see how the hotel operated. Answer..very good indeed. Greeted by smilingly efficient staff and a glass of pink fizz by the pool, we felt immediately welcomed. The evening table d'hôte meal was excellent, the room, opening out onto the pool, pleasant and very comfortable. The rural location creates a very quiet ambience and following a tranquil sleep, an excellent breakfast and the unfailing cheerfulness of the staff we left having had a great break. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margriet B, Manager at Hotel La Place, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were able to make use of our Jersey Voucher offer. Thank you for your comments regarding the staff and that you were made to feel welcome, this is what is really important to us, so I am pleased that we done this for you. We will be doing more local offers, so hopefully we can welcome you back in our winter season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at la place at the end of May. I had booked as a surprise for mum. The rooms we spacious comfortable beds and great shower. We ate in the restaurant the food delicious and the service was impeccable. My daughter loves swimming and the pool is great. The staff were very helpful and welcoming at all times. Nothing was too much trouble. We will be returning. Thank you for the glass of pink champagne on arrival that just was the finishing touch to a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakboo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
819 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
751 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,908 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,150 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Property: Hotel La Place
Address: La Route Du Coin, St. Brelade JE3 8BT
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing