We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dump”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona City, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Dump”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Scruffy; with patched carpets, windows never been cleaned for years, paintwork yellowed and walls cracked and stained. The worst 4 star hotel I've ever seen. I'd say it's about 2. The breakfast room blinds have dead flies behind them and the pool area is a disgrace.
Service was quite good however but they had a lot to contend with including no hot water and loss of room TV system. It appears that some investment is being put into construction of adjacent facilities which makes it even harder to accept the run down offering in the main building. If you've stayed at international 4 star hotels don't waste your money here, if you are used to 2 star places and want to pay £65 a night more then this is the place for you.

Capt. M

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank George_Mainwaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    113
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
223
515
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is our fourth time staying at Hotel La Place. The hotel is very close to the airport and has ample car parking space for the hire car. We upgraded to a superior room and the upgrade fee was worth it as the room was complete with modern decor and bath robes. As usual, the food in the hotel restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice for everyone and outstanding waiter service. We have stayed in several hotels in Jersey but only stay at Hotel La Place now. In 2012 the Hotel is opening some self catering cottages on the same site as the hotel, these are an excellent addition for families and larger groups. We do not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: If your budget will stretch, consider upgrading to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Lovely quiet hotel. Staff are very friendly and welcoming, particularly the waiters in the dining room. Breakfasts were generous, which kept you going all day. Rooms were comfortable, but the bed was a bit hard. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Jersey.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthMNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Rooms very comfortable and food excellent. Hotel pool comfortably heated and very clean. Staff most welcoming and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Jersey. We will be returning next year.

Anne

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bognor regis, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

i was travelling alone to jersey on business but felt extremely comfortable and relaxed. the management and staff were so welcoming and attentive to my needs. it seemed like nothing was too much trouble. the hotel is situated in a very quiet location, the amenities in the rooms are first class and the heated pool is lovely. so, too, is the enormous variety of food available at breakfast. restaurant, bar and reception staff couldnt have been more pleasant. beryl, bognor regis.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beryl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The staff at breakfast seemed under a great deal of pressure (fiery Chef perhaps?) to serve guests as quickly as possible and I had barely finished my cereal before my cooked meal arrived. Sadly this did not make breakfast a relaxing experience and stopped us from eating dinner in the restaurant.
The bar staff, Rui in particular, were great and could not be more helpful. The reception staff were also very helpful, Siobhan and Bogdan in particular.
The bedroom was clean but could do with some modernisation, as I have not seen so much pine for a long time.
I understand that a refurb is planned in the near future which is much needed as the staff will not be able to "carry" the hotel forever!
If you want an ideally situated hotel with helpful staff then this is the place for you. If you are looking for a modern hotel then keep searching!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights , myself, husband and two children 13 and 10. Our room had everything we needed, just in need of a spruce up, especially the bathroom. Our request for extra hangers was met, but we never received the extra pillows we asked for. Reception staff were mostly helpful but found it odd that the unit price for a phone call was not known, apart from being told it was not expensive! Staff at breakfast along with the food was exceptional - 5star. My gripes were with the maintenance of the swimming pool, my daughter sliced her toe on one of the many tiles that had come off the bottom of the pool, perhaps plans are in motion for refurbishment as I appreciate during high season it may be difficult, but it does need to be addressed sooner rather than later. The location of this hotel is brilliant just minutes from St Brelades beach, which was our favourite by miles. All in all we had a lovely break with super weather and would return to Jersey and Hotel La Place again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillypops474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brelade
4.5 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greenhills Country Hotel
Greenhills Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Peter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Property: Hotel La Place
Address: La Route Du Coin, St. Brelade JE3 8BT
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin's harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Ground floor rooms have a patio area.The award-winning Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Bar or the cocktail lounge. Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches with the number 9 bus stopping outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St. Brelade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing