We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome break”

The Poplars Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
The Midlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Welcome break”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We visited this little tea room on a walk from St Brelades Bay to Corbiere Lighthouse and back. It was about half way so we called in for lunch. Soup was delicious and home made and the cakes and scones were irresistible. Friendly service. Very popular, even in late season but they coped well. There is a small garden with chairs and tables for warmer days.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plantypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    46
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very popular”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a lovely friendly tea room. It is clean and welcoming.
The food is fresh and tasty, the sweets are home made and too much to look at without wanting to tase a bit of each.
I wish it was marked on the map so you could all find it

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sparrow52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must...”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Poplars is an excellent family run tea rooms. The food is great and the place is always spotless. The only nagative is that is is getting rather expensive these days, but still a place to go when you're on that side of the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey ci
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very over priced!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Last year I visited the Poplars Tearoom and although it was expensive it was a lovely cream tea! This year the price had risen to over £8 per person! The scones were tiny and very dry and the cakes were not impressive or tasty at all! Also my 6 year old asked for £1 for a bag of sweets, she came back with a very small net bag with 1 melted fruitella sweet, 1 marble, the worlds tiniest rubber and a rubber band....for a £1!!! We also had to wait a considerable amount of time to be served and it wasn't particularly busy! All in all we were very, very disappointed and will not be returning there!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heard good reviews...wasn't disappointed!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went to The Poplars tearoom a couple of weekends ago with my girlfriend, after hearing good reviews from friends. Have just moved to the west coast of the island so it is on the doorstep. Arrived on a lovely sunny afternoon so decided to sit in the very quaint outdoor garden. It was fairly busy which is always a good sign for quality. I opted for a chicken and salad baguette and was happy when it came with no butter, like I'd asked. The only downside was the size of the sandwich... it was a somewhat small baguette - not going to fill the hungriest of mouths. But the quality was excellent and very fresh indeed. I had an apple juice (very good quality!) to drink, with a very good coffee on the side.
My GF went for a toastie and she was impressed with the quality of it. Once again, not the largest portion, but enough to satisfy. She had a nice cup of Earl Grey tea to go with it, all served in very nice pots. For dessert, she went for one of the famous cakes, opting for the coffee and walnut. I had a bite myself and I have to say it was brilliant.
Definitely somewhere I will be visiting again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poplars Tea Room also viewed

 
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to The Poplars Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing