We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff detracted from the nice view” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corbiere Phare

Corbiere Phare
Ranked #25 of 53 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Also known as "Corbiere Lighthouse" or "Le Nid de Corneilles". Phone number is under Corbiere Phare Apartments in the phone book
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Staff detracted from the nice view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stopped in after visiting the lighthouse for some afternoon tea. The view is lovely, that's a given. We ordered two cream teas, which were fine and the price was on the high end of reasonable. However, the front-of-house staff completely let this place down. The man behind the bar (we assume he was the manager) seemed completely disinterested in taking our order and wasn't very pleasant. The waitresses would come out to the terrace and bark out the food orders as if they were addressing a troupe of soldiers. Finally, the waitress whipped away all our plates and my unfinished tea before asking if I'd finished. They're clearly milking the location as there's not much else in the area. I suggest you bring your own food, or buy an ice cream from the local vendors and have a picnic on the cliff tops. The service will be immeasurably better!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    99
    31
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Spectacular views! Food was enjoyable and the staff were very pleasant. Would definitely return next time we are in Jersey as you could not fault it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harrison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED in comparison to places of similar standard on Island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were very dissapointed that this place appears to have gone up so muh in price.... believe me you get no more for your money. There was a splattering of meals for £12 (including fish and chips and veg lasagne) the rest were between £19 - £25 - shocking!!!! An espatada for example - you got 3 king prawns and 3 pieces of beef only, some chips and salad and at £19 - I don't think so. Irish coffees - £6 each, served in a standard wine glass and can't even taste the whiskey...... I don't think so .... you are fooling no one!

Tourists - my advice as a local who has lied here all my life and regularly eats out.... go here for a drink only to enjoy the view. For food of same volume and standard rather go to better priced places such as Cheffins (st Aubins), Sommerville Hotel (st Aubins), Roseville Bistro (Harve Des Pas). For espatadas, find a portuguese restaraunt.

I will echo what one local said in the reviews for Big Verns (st Ouens) - which is owned by the same person......"GREEDY LITTLE MAN"

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ems1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food Great service Great view OK price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Corbier Phare should be everybodys to do list whilst on Jersey.The Menu is not massive but nice and varied. The food is local and organic.Great meat and fish.
If you are a big fish lover and fancy the platter for 2 you will need to order 24 hrs in advance.I forgot twice and regretted both times.
I am a big chap and take some filling. I have been twice and not managed to finish 2 courses.
The views are stunning.you look out over corbier lighthouse and the sunset is amazing.
I recomend the Rib eye steak. If you are from the UK and like it med rare you may want to go medium this is not a grumble just my own observation. Petty you cannot ask for a more medium medium rare.
Price wise. Its not PUB FOOD so i dont expect pub food prices .Food only shoud be about £30 a head and wine prices are ok.
The staff are welcoming and very very well trained. You can always tell the differance between sombody doing a job and sombody following there career. Well done! and Thankyou

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have been going here for years and it has always been amazing, this time I was disappointed to find the price has gone up and the food is not as good as it was.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corbiere Phare also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Brelade, Jersey
 
St. Brelade, Jersey
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to Corbiere Phare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing