We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great location, great improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach House - CLOSED

The Beach House
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
St. Aubin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

4 of us visited The Beach House Restaurant on a lovely sunny evening with a high tide and a glorious view across the bay.
We had not been to the restaurant since last year when the service was poor, the staff untrained and the food and decor very mediocre.
What a surprise ! What a different feel to the place. We wanted a table for 7pm but were asked to come at 6.45. It was quite busy and although we had our drinks and had given our order, the food was a long time coming. There were apologies when the food had still not arrived by 7.45 and to keep us going we were served olives and bread courtesy of the chef. When the food did arrive it was excellent and we were given additional wine.
I have to say that the satisfactory handling of this situation due to Suzzie and her team, we will certainly look forward to going back soon. The customer service was excellent and sent us away happy and not disgruntled.
This location is one of the best in Jersey but any restaurant here has never lasted very long. I think The Beach House has cracked it and will be a great success.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue551610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    19
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch - with the family on the decking in the sun overlooking blue sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Had lunch and early dinner here a number of times over the early spring period with the children. Food is very good - have the Greek Meze, plenty of really tasty food all fresh. Cool peroni and good company. Service can be sluggish at times depending on who serves you and how busy they are. If it is sunny call and book.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Durrant40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food and service now does justice to a great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We have been to The Beach House many times - the overall decor and ambiance is good and the terrace overlooking St Brelade's Bay, one of the best bays in Europe, is fabulous. But, until recently, the management and service was terrible - appallingly bad and indifferent management and inefficient, untrained staff. What a difference now! The new 2011 management team of Gianni and Susie have created a motivated and well-trained team resulting in very good service. The food has improved from the ordinary to the very good - I recently had their sea bass which was excellent. Whether for an evening drink watching the sunset over St Brelades or for a very good meal - lunch or dinner - go to The Beach House!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“GREAT RESTAURANT AND GOOD SERVICE FINALLY UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

we visit the restaurant several occasion and great food ,with fantastic service ,
finally under new management.
They always made us feel welcome specially Gianni,Aga,and Kat.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luca2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“amazing location, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Visited on a lunchtime and enjoyed wonderful views from the outside terrace overlooking the beach and sea, this is a must for anyone visiting Jersey, the interior was also very well presented so would be equally as appealing to sit inside.

Good choice of food with fresh fish specials and our meal was excellent with generous portions. The service was very good, polite and friendly.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smith025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach House also viewed

St. Aubin, St. Brelade
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing