We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”
Review of Old Smugglers Inn

Old Smugglers Inn
Ranked #7 of 55 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After reading the reviews decided to go. Wish we had not bothered. The place could do with updating. Food below average. Locals in the bar were so loud, had or listen to their conversation. Won't be going again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveandLin1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    168
    42
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“First class pub grub.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Old favourite that never fails to deliver. Varied menu supported by a specials menu.
Nice homely feel with a warm welcome.
Good food at reasonable prices. Constantly delivers a high standard at pub prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaddyGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not as good as we were lead to believe.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We called in to have a drink and see what the menu was like. we sat in the bar meal area and was disappointed. the place is somewhat in need of something of a make over. the smell of greasy cooking was pervasive where we sat. what it was like in the restaurant part we don't know and so cannot judge.
It put us off going there for a meal but having said that there were a large number of people using the place and so it must have something. you often go on first impressions and ours wasn't good i'm afraid!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_m187063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“revisited”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in Jersey 12 years ago and was told about the Smugglers Inn. Just been back to Jersey and it was as good as we remembered. Great staff and great food. A must if you like wonderful pub food at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelski070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the pub to go to”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Basically just a great pub to go to if in Jersey not far from St. Aubin - good service - good food. Went twice during our stay both times a great experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Smugglers Inn also viewed

St. Aubin, St. Brelade
 

Been to Old Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing