We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the last time (and that was excellent)”

Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus stop on the roof! Blue Route Island Explorer Route 12
Description: Passionate about the use of local produce, the Oyster Box showcases the best seafood including Jersey lobster and fruits de mer, but also offers a wide selection of other dishes such as steaks, beef burgers and locally caught line fish battered and served with chips, catering for every taste and culinary palette. The Oyster Box takes pride in what it means to be Jersey, and the menu reflects this. By using local produce wherever possible, a genuine effort is made to serve you a meal that is as local as possible, to the highest quality and to the very best value. The ultimate aim of the Oyster Box is to present culinary excellence combined with breathtaking surroundings enjoyed inside or outside on the sea-view terrace, to create a true casual Jersey experience.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Better than the last time (and that was excellent)”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Creatures of habit are we, that we decided to return here after an excellent meal last visit. It was a Monday and we wandered along at around 7pm thinking we wouldn't need to book and we didn't - JUST! It was so busy - good for them. We ordered Turbot and Fillet - Fillet at the expected £25 but the Turbot at £26 pounds maybe a little pricey?? but then so are most things in Jersey ( we went to a pretty standard pub that was serving fish & chips for £16 a portion!!) I digress. The food was exceptional - the steak was perfectly cooked and so tender - worth every penny. Excellent service. this is a high end but relaxed restaurant - good wine list too. We will return again on our next visit - Fantastic view of the sea also - if booking ask for a window seat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foooooood22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    327
    92
    46
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wish to have fish here”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My colleague and I had fish for dinner at the Oyster Box yesterday. What a magical setting, with commanding and sweeping uninterrupted views over St Brelade's Bay. You can enjoy the playful contrasts and shadows over the west flank of the bay as the sun meanders its way towards sunset during sunny Spring evenings.

Food is great, from the appetizers to dessert and liqueurs, though (being Jersey) on the expensive side. The waiting staff was courteous but somewhat intrusive: too keen to rid our table of plates and saucers (even if we still had our olives and pistachios in them!), and hinting at having us order more things to eat and drink. We did not particularly enjoy that aspect of the experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GodfreyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were last in jersey a year ago and we're most impressed with the Oyster Box. We made a return visit this year and stuck to the grilled lobster main dish. This was followed by desert -creme brûlée and rhubarb with ginger ice cream. Food is simply outstanding. The view over the beach is awesome. The service was friendly , helpful and attentive. This has to be one of the very best places to eat seafood in the u.k.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We went there as highly recommended by the staff from our nearby hotel.

The service from all the staff was good and the food very tasty. The restaurant was packed with locals so it shows the quality of food that is served fresh.

Thanks to all the team for the help, service and professionalism.

The only complaint is get the waitress to read back the order so that there can be no problems when it comes to the bill. A starter portion should be billed as such and if you make the mistake then it is not ours!

We will be back as I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We only stopped for a quick drink in the afternoon but it was lovely. Pleasant staff, fabulous views, throws to cover up when it gets chilly..lovely touch. Would like to go back for a meal one day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becs302010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

St. Brelade, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Aubin, St. Brelade
 

Been to Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing