We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure enjoyment”

Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus stop on the roof! Blue Route Island Explorer Route 12
Description: Passionate about the use of local produce, the Oyster Box showcases the best seafood including Jersey lobster and fruits de mer, but also offers a wide selection of other dishes such as steaks, beef burgers and locally caught line fish battered and served with chips, catering for every taste and culinary palette. The Oyster Box takes pride in what it means to be Jersey, and the menu reflects this. By using local produce wherever possible, a genuine effort is made to serve you a meal that is as local as possible, to the highest quality and to the very best value. The ultimate aim of the Oyster Box is to present culinary excellence combined with breathtaking surroundings enjoyed inside or outside on the sea-view terrace, to create a true casual Jersey experience.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pure enjoyment”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The butternut squash risotto and crab starter were both perfection, as was the steak main meal and scallops. Alas we did not have room for desert but we are sure they would have been as good quality. Friendly staff and nice outlook.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    335
    97
    48
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here on four occasions and have not been disappointed. The service and food was excellent. On my last visit I had a delicious scotch egg followed by brill fillet with leek fondue and a beurre blanc sauce - probably one of the nicest dishes I have ever had. The desserts were also top notch and what can I say about the view! Stunning! I will be a regular visitor at the Oyster Box, keep up the good work.

Helpful?
Thank Danzinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful bay views and great seafood”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arrived for lunch on a day when sea mist was rolling in and out- with a window table bay and beach watching as the sun came out , shimmered and vanished was lovely. Service as usual was prompt efficient and friendly. Oysters are obviously a speciality and were excellent and being enjoyed by most tables. We then had a sushi platter - 4 different rolls with a good variety of fish flavour and colour. My husband appreciated his steak , served simply with roasted tomatoes and good crunchy chips. We shared a new dessert- apple in apple jelly served on a great crisp buttery pastry with caramel ice cream and apple curd - a really good pudding.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mangerbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Celebration Meal”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fantastic fish restaurant which was recommended by a local person. Easy to book a table online. Staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was out of this world, Oysters were to die for! Lovely starters, Venison and seafood cocktail, Lobster superb, lamb reaaly succulent and tender, and the homemade sweets were unusual and tasty. Would defintely recommend to anyone else and visit again if in Jersey.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyB2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great dinner and outstanding everything!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I love this place! it is by far my most favourite restaurent on the island. the food is cooked simply, desserts are always both eye candy and mouth watering. i would fully recommend the Fruits de la Mer. It is an awesome sight! We always take visitors to this place for a meal as it has such a relaxed at atmosphere and the view is astounding. Staff are always polite and accomodating and very children friendly. Top marks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beano2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Aubin, St. Brelade
 
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing