We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus stop on the roof! Blue Route Island Explorer Route 12
Description: Passionate about the use of local produce, the Oyster Box showcases the best seafood including Jersey lobster and fruits de mer, but also offers a wide selection of other dishes such as steaks, beef burgers and locally caught line fish battered and served with chips, catering for every taste and culinary palette. The Oyster Box takes pride in what it means to be Jersey, and the menu reflects this. By using local produce wherever possible, a genuine effort is made to serve you a meal that is as local as possible, to the highest quality and to the very best value. The ultimate aim of the Oyster Box is to present culinary excellence combined with breathtaking surroundings enjoyed inside or outside on the sea-view terrace, to create a true casual Jersey experience.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We visited the Oyster Box on a recent stay in Jersey and have only good things to say. Whilst The welcome wasn't the warmest, as soon as we were seated the waiting staff couldn't do more to help! Both friendly and knowledgeable, helpful and attentive without being too annoying, and despite their obvious youth they were able to give good advice on both Oysters and Dessert! (if you like Creme Brûlée then don't be tempted to order one of the other sweets - this was simply the best I've ever had). This was our third visit to Jersey, but the first time we had visited St Brelade's Bay - and now that I have found it I will definitely go back - had it been hot and sunny it would have felt like the Caribbean! The view is simply immense, especially at High Tide, and to be able to eat a wonderful meal with that view was worth every penny!

Helpful?
Thank Happy2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    832
    305
    82
    44
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
130 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“GREAT SEAFOOD”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We enjoyed 2 evening meals here and both were excellent value for money. Fantastic food and knowledgeable staff. The house wine was only £17 which we thought in view of the position on the Bay was good value for money.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank louisenottingham9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice but could do so much better.”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

First visit to the Oyster Box was looking forward to it .The meal was very nice. Service was hit and miss. If you take our drink order at least remember to bring the drinks within 5mins or so not 15mins. Smallest glasses ive ever seen to serve a drink in not great when you are spending £20 on a main course and take 3 sips of your drink and its gone. Staff need to learn the menu a bit better and to charge £15 for a tempura prawn starter was a bit of a joke. Main courses you pay £20 pound most places so that was fine and desserts were good. Staff should wear proper uniforms not a polo top and jeans with the logo of the oyster box in the corner. Doesnt look right when you are paying over £150 for meal for 4 people.
Will return but i wont rush back .l

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leedsjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Here's the mystery.

The Oyster Box and the Crab Shack are neighbours, and have the same owners (Jersey Pottery). Why, then, is Crab Shack heaving with customers every day, whilst the Oyster Box sits there, deserted, like the maiden aunt at a wedding?

The answer is simple - it's simply not as good.

We (self, partner and our 5 year old son) went there for lunch when we couldn't get a table at the Crab Shack. The Oyster Box only had a couple of tables full, but we still had to wait 5 minutes to be seated. The waiter took our order, then asked us "what does the kid want?" (I'm sorry, but a customer should be treated with more respect, even when they are only 5 years old!)
Then we waited. And waited. After 40 minutes the food arrived. It was okay. My crab was fine, though the accompanying Jersey Royals were cold. Partner went for the lamb (again, fine) and son had the fish and chips, which were tasty. Then we waited. And waited some more.

I can understand slow service in a busy restaurant, but it wasn't even half full.

We had promised our little boy a pudding, and rather than wait to be given the dessert menu, I simply a passing waiter if they had anything chocolatey for him. Yes, came the reply, we have chocolate tart. Fine. When it arrived, son didn't like it. Turned out it was chocolate, prune and armagnac. Who on earth thinks this is a suitable dessert for a young child?!

The bill finally came, and it was nearly £80 for the three of us - that's for three main courses, one pudding and soft drinks. No alcohol, no starters. I noticed that we were charged for an adults' portion of fish and chips, rather than a childs' - this was rectified when I pointed it out, bringing the cost down to just under £75.

Ok, so the place has a brilliant view. But it's obviously not hitting the spot. Jersey Potteries - why not just do away with the Oyster Box and enlarge the Crab Shack?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodielexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, CI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We love this restaurant and go regularly. The menu changes from time to time and the seafood is cooked simply with the freshest produce. Wine list is good too with fast and friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skabenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

St. Brelade, Jersey
 
St. Aubin, St. Brelade
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing