We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE VIEW SHAME ABOUT THE FOOD”

Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 55 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus stop on the roof! Blue Route Island Explorer Route 12
Description: Passionate about the use of local produce, the Oyster Box showcases the best seafood including Jersey lobster and fruits de mer, but also offers a wide selection of other dishes such as steaks, beef burgers and locally caught line fish battered and served with chips, catering for every taste and culinary palette. The Oyster Box takes pride in what it means to be Jersey, and the menu reflects this. By using local produce wherever possible, a genuine effort is made to serve you a meal that is as local as possible, to the highest quality and to the very best value. The ultimate aim of the Oyster Box is to present culinary excellence combined with breathtaking surroundings enjoyed inside or outside on the sea-view terrace, to create a true casual Jersey experience.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This restaurant has one of the most beautiful outlooks in Jersey, but that's the only good thing about this place. It's very popular amongst locals, but speak to your bank manager first as the prices are ridiculously high for local produce. They boast at the bottom of the menu that all fish/shellfish is locally caught within 5Kms of the Island, so £42.00 for a tiny lobster thermidor and £24.00 for dressed crab is really way over the top and not worth having. Service is very poor when busy and you will wait for ages to get a drink never mind food. Definately not good value for money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Mac146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripple4, Owner at Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Firstly thank you for visiting The Oyster Box, on the menu we have dressed local Chancre Crab Less £15.00 and More £23.00 all served with salad and Jersey Royals, Whole Chancre Crab to pick yourself £19.50. Lobster Thermidor is either £21.00 for a 1lb Lobster or £42.00 for a 2 lb lobster all locally caught and served with delicious Jersey Royals.
Apologies if the service was not up to scratch on your recent visit, we try hard to balance the bookings however on some occasions it is impossible to manage early or late arrivals which affects our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,292 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

I chose the scallops and lobster ravioli to start and my Partner had the "mixed fish" fish cake. Both were very nice. My Partner then had the haddock & chips whilst I had the brill. We really enjoyed the perfectly cooked very fresh fish dishes.

Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhodopsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This place has lovely food, delightful service, a magnificent view and a good wine selection. Some specialist fish restaurants let you down if you don't have fish, and with weak deserts. Not so here.

It is a little bit pricey, but well worth it. The wines include some which are not available everywhere, so save up and treat yourself

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DLR181147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Tried this as a result of it being recommended by a local. Managed to get a table for 1 at 8 on a Saturday at short notice, so felt churlish about asking for a better table when I discovered I was practically sitting on the main thoroughfare through the restaurant. Service was lightening fast which due to the hubbub in the restaurant suited me fine. Food was good but not great. I had Internet booked for the next night but changed my mind when was told I couldn't be guaranteed a window table despite me stating I would be flexible with my time, it being Sunday and looking over her shoulder seeing there were very few green blobs on seats on her computer scream. It seems computers dictate now and there is little room for personal service. Would recommend but felt like a number rather than a guest. In truth I thought Mark Jordan at the Beach was better including value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wandaandwooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Liked Oyser Box Cocktail. Husband liked Chicken breast with Foie Gras . Chocolate tart With Prunes in Armagnac delicious. Hous e Sauvignon Blanc very good

Thank marion541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Brelade, Jersey
St. Aubin, St. Brelade
 

Been to Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing