We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Restaurant; a Sound Choice”

Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a bus stop on the roof! Blue Route Island Explorer Route 12
Description: Passionate about the use of local produce, the Oyster Box showcases the best seafood including Jersey lobster and fruits de mer, but also offers a wide selection of other dishes such as steaks, beef burgers and locally caught line fish battered and served with chips, catering for every taste and culinary palette. The Oyster Box takes pride in what it means to be Jersey, and the menu reflects this. By using local produce wherever possible, a genuine effort is made to serve you a meal that is as local as possible, to the highest quality and to the very best value. The ultimate aim of the Oyster Box is to present culinary excellence combined with breathtaking surroundings enjoyed inside or outside on the sea-view terrace, to create a true casual Jersey experience.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Decent Restaurant; a Sound Choice”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Based on TA reviews we chose to eat evening meals here twice during our (first ever) week in Jersey. The fact that we ate there twice is a positive indicator.

Overall it was a good choice, but IMO it didn't have that extra 'something' that we were expecting. Not a problem, just that perhaps we were expecting too much. If TA would allow it (which they don't) I would rate it good, rather than very good.

Quite a busy / buzzy place - definitely book in advance.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    811
    296
    82
    43
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, great location and service to match”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

we have eaten at the Oyster Box on several occasions and on every occasion the quality of the food has been exemplary. The service is always good, although at busy times there can be a little wait but nothing thats noticably too long. I do recommend you book as especially in the summer it gets full very quickly.....

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lincolnshire_hardys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magnificent position amazing food”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We visited the oyster box last thurs in glorious sunshine. The food was outstanding tempura prawns to die for followed by lobster - beautiful. The staff were also excellent. The restaurant had a buzzy atmosphere and the prices were very acceptable we will definately return here one of the best!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pitrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Soooooo Disappointing!”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We have visited the Oyster Box on several occassions now, and before this time have always been happy! This visit was terrible..........the food was very very mediocre, ( and expensive for what we were served). The service was appalling, the Staff were very rude & abrupt and just threw the plates down in front of us. It certainly made us feel very uneasy, and not at all welcome. We were a party of 8, and no-one was 100% happy with the experience, this surely showed by the amount of food left on plates and returned to the kitchen.We did make our opinions known to the Staff, but they really did not seem to be interested...........all in all a very disappointing evening all round from the Oyster Box.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mollyinpenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We were recommended The Oyster Box by a friend, and we were so impressed with the food, the service and the atmosphere that we returned the following evening. Most enjoyable!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unclelatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

St. Brelade, Jersey
 
St. Aubin, St. Brelade
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Oyster Box Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing