We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience that Needs to be Shared”
Review of Ocean Restaurant

Ocean Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 55 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $111
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This exceptional Michelin-starred fine dining restaurant showcases modern British cooking in a classic setting with the emphasis on fresh Jersey produce.Executive Head Chef Mark Jordan has created a sophisticated selection of menus, including a seasonal a la carte, daily changing set menus and specially selected vegetarian dishes. An extensive wine list complements Mark’s food.Ocean’s design is influenced by its coastal setting. Blues, whites and beiges create a modern classic look, while delightful hand-crafted furniture and specially commissioned artwork emphasise the feeling of luxury. White American shutters frame stunning views over the gardens to the ocean beyond.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An Experience that Needs to be Shared”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a short report describing 2 evening meals taken at the Ocean Restaurant during a 4 day stay at the Atlantic Hotel just after Easter 2013, to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary on 2nd April 2013. We previously ate there in September 2012, there is a separate report on this site.

We ate in the restaurant on Tuesday and Wednesday evening: on the first night the Restaurant Manager, Martinho de Sousa greeted us as though we were returning after a few days, not after 6 months. Everything was as before, the same cool and relaxing surrounding, the flawless service from the same staff serving Mark Jordan’s brilliant creations. The new menu contained some old favourites and some new surprises: we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves making our selections and then lingering over each amazing course. At the end of our meal on Tuesday we received a plate of after dinner chocolates on a glass plate decorated with “Happy Anniversary” in chocolate: a wonderful touch that was greatly appreciated.

Rather than go into detail I simply want to urge you to go there and experience a level of service and cooking that is more than worthy of one Michelin star in a location that is very special but where it is possible to eat relatively economically, especially at lunch time.
In the evening dinner for 2 from the a la carte menu will cost £160.00, that includes an “amuse bouche”, really a pre-starter and a pre-dessert, so in effect 5 courses. Wine choice is enormous, from £25.00 a bottle to very indulgent!

We will be returning, I hope that I have tempted you to visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    61
    36
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service good food”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went for Easter Sunday lunch, well looked after, great food - no negatives at all. Will definitely go again

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julieandgrahamrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey channel Islands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Service”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Without doubt one of the finest Restaurants in Jersey. Outstanding food and service, you cannot fail to be impressed from the moment you walk in till the time you leave. The staff are polite and professional and the presentation of the food outstanding. Extensive a' la carte menu and fantastic wine list.
Would highly recommend and would dine here again without hesitation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyChris061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Ocean restaurant remains a firm favourite following a recent stay. High standards of food and service are maintained thanks to Mark Jordan and the excellent front of house staff who provide professional, helpful and friendly service.

We dined on several consecutive nights from both the table d'hote and al a carte menus and were constantly spoilt for choice. Excellent fish courses, including a memorable bouillabaisse and perfectly cooked meat dishes were enjoyed. The beef en croute was a big hit with our group! Sweets couldn't be missed with a varied and enticing choice. The wine list is extensive and Sergei the sommelier is not pushy and always helpful in making choices within your budget limits. Maybe one day I will get to try one of those expensive burgundies!

The service, which has always been of the highest standard, just gets better and better and whilst it seems unfair to pick out any individuals it is clear that Martino, Darren and John Michel set the highest of standards and have formed a superb front of house team. Long may it continue!

It is a tribute to all at the Ocean Restaurant that we continue to return as often as possible.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Such style! Fine dining par excellence!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Staying in Jersey for a long weekend, but wondering where to eat. The Internet suggested that the Atlantic Hotel, Ocean Restaurant was worth a try. Difficult to find though! We were greeted well at the hotel entrance and although early for our table shown to the bar and provided with menus without the bat of an eye. Orders were taken in the bar and soon we were whisked into the dining room. First impressions were that it was a bit austere, but we were soon put at ease and although my wine choice (from an extensive list) was not good, the sommelier deal with the problem smoothly and we were nevertheless offered another one which was more to our taste without having to pay for the first choice.

The food was delicious and the service impeccable. Fine dining indeed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Aubin, St. Brelade
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing