We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent treatment, charming staff”
Review of Bon Viveur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Aubin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bon Viveur
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Reviewed July 19, 2009

single lady made most welcome. room small but clean and adequate. all staff friendly and helpful. I would recommend this guest house/restaurant to anyone. Owners charming. Good breakfast no need to eat lunch. Critical reviewers obviously expected 5* for buget b & b. I loved my stay and hope to go back. evey toogood, Belfast

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eveytoogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2009

I was rather unsure about staying here after reading previous reviews, but as we had already pre-paid we decided to just keep the booking. We could not have had a more welcoming arrival - our bags were taken straight to our rooms. There are two owners, both of whom were very friendly and hospitable. The waiters are exceptional - obviously have been trained to a five star standard, and gave five star service. The food is amazing - especially the fresh fish. When I arrived back after a day out the manager asked if he could get me anything. I asked for a tray of tea, and it was delivered to my room immediately. Yes, the place is a bit of a rabbit warren, and you can hear through the walls, and the decor is rather dated, but the place is extremely clean and very comfortable and the paintwork fresh. It's only a three star, so how can people expect five star accommodation - the shower room is small, but it's fully functional! We usually stay in four or five star hotels, but this was a cheapy mini-break, and when I asked the family if they would have preferred to stay elsewhere, without a shadow of a doubt they all said they really enjoyed their stay at the Bon Viveur, and we will stay there again if we come to Jersey another time. So, if you are looking for somewhere clean, comfortable, good food and excellent service then I can certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joandcoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I spent a week in St. Aubin, a lovely town on the south coast of Jersey. There are four guest houses on the quite street of the main road, all with a harbour view:
The first one of the main road is Bon Viveur. This is by far the worst: An obnoxious, grumpy Italian manager is out for money and doesn't understand the very basics about service orientation. We stayed 5 nights (5 too long) and every day he did something to upset us. I decided to move out before the end of the week even though we had prepaid all the cost. I simply could not stand the rudeness anymore. On the last morning I was five minutes late for breakfirst and the table was already cleared off. When I asked for coffee and cereal I was told that they could not wait "for ever" to serve breakfirst and that they had "other things to do as well." I then decided to move to the Harbour view and told the manager that I would complain at the Tourism office in St. Helier, the capital 3 miles along the coast. The manager suggested I should "not make a fool of myself" and showed me a piece of paper with the time frame for breakfirst for house guests... Well, I did pay a visit at Tourism office in St. Helier and the staff was more than willing to understand my decision to switch hotels immediately.

The second one is La Barca. A small and also quite simple guest house. Management is very friendly and all our people were very happy.

The third is the Harbour view. Very friendly English/French couple running it. Very good food, nice and comfortable rooms and courteous staff. A big outside garden shield's it even more from the already quiet street. Parking - which is very scarce in St. Aubin - is provided right in front. Last but not least: Open WiFi is provided inside and outside in the garden. Overall: Slightly more expensive than the first two guest houses but certainly worth the money. It is my favourite. I stayed there two nights and would go back there anytime.

The fourth one is the Old Court View. Also slightly off the street. Nice and quiet. Friendly management, comfortable rooms, small but clean. No complains from our tour people who stayed there but it is the most expensive of the four.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Like other members,looks like we had a TINY room(No.14)Bumped head on tv a lot.Washing bowl overlooking the harbour though.We we're out every day so it didn't bother us too much.Some of the rooms are bigger(no.10) ,so ask.
Clean and tidy,but a rabbit warren of stairs so not really suitable for disabled or puffed out!Plenty of other hotels at similar price!Not overly bothered by noise as on upper floor.
Restaurant very good but pricy and we had a full british breakfast. Salty Dog better.(Just few doors away but pricy also!).
St Aubins has a pretty harbour and a few pubs and restaurants.We had a car and found it very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Being primarily a restaurant there was no reception area but the restaurant staff showed us to our room. The room was clean, if slightly dated but with a lovely view over the harbour and a pretty window box

Breakfast was OK but apart from the manager/owner all the staff were thoroughly miserable which was a great shame

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WickedTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Due to a mix up with our booking through a well known high street travel agent, we had had to settle for the Bon Viveur Hotel in St Aubin’s Bay.

When we arrived the room “wasn’t ready”, which we found out after being blatantly ignored by the chap on reception for five minutes.

Whilst we waited we were offered a (complimentary I hoped) coffee and I headed outside for a cigarette. I noticed the side door to the guest house was wide open (despite a huge sign on it that read “for security reasons this door must be kept shut”!), on peering through the door I realised that it was the guest entrance and lo and behold there were our suitcases sitting in the hallway just waiting for any random passing thief to steal them.

We went up to our room with hunched backs due to the low ceilings and lack of warning notices (there was one sign on the way down!) to discover a tiny double room. We did get our sea view though!

There was as promised an en-suite bathroom, but it was tiny. Inside the ‘bathroom’ (which was about 20 inches wide) was a toilet and shower. My partner later discovered that you had to stick your head in the shower cubicle to wipe your backside!!

The Bon Viveur as a restaurant gets rave reviews both on tripadvisor and elsewhere, this means it is very popular and this in turn means that there is constant noise from below which filters into the rooms. Couple this with the extraordinary amount of noise from the neighbouring pub and you get the picture about the lack of sleep!

After a restless night’s sleep the maid woke us up by hoovering outside our door at 9am – it was a Sunday. The walls in the hotel are paper thin and the décor is firmly stuck in the 1950s, the lighting might as well be candlelight.

Coupled with this my partner was unwell so we were confined to the room for a few hours, with only a small faulty television for company (the colour contrast was shot to pieces so everyone’s faces were purple!!)

When we spoke to the friendly staff in nearby restaurants and told them where we were staying their response was a resounding “Oh dear”!

The staff are not very friendly (apart from one waiter – who was promptly told off for ‘fraternising’) and we felt that as a male couple in a double room we were not as welcomed as other guests. I stress that this is our impression, but I have no other views to go on.

I had stayed in Jersey before and peruaded my partner to go there as it is a wonderful place. I stand by this but unfortunately we would not stay at this particular guesthouse again

3  Thank Dr3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Locilog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Aubin
0.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lyndhurst Jersey
The Lyndhurst Jersey
#11 of 16 in St. Brelade
135 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
790 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St. Aubin
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Viveur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Viveur

Address: Fischer Place Le Boulevard, St Aubin’s Bay, St. Aubin, St. Brelade JE3 8AB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bon Viveur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Also Known As:
Bon Viveur Guesthouse Hotel St. Aubin
Bon Viveur Hotel
Bon Viveur Jersey/St. Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing