We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get to know your neighbours most intimate habits!”
Review of Bon Viveur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Aubin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bon Viveur
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get to know your neighbours most intimate habits!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The welcome was cool, the bedroom design meant we could clearly hear the people in adjacent rooms using their tiny ensuite toilets or showers and making conversation (or more). The basin didn't fit in the ensuite - that's in the room. First floor rooms clearly hear the entertainment from the cafe/ restaurant downstairs. Sea view rooms also enjoy smoking and conversation from diners outside. No ventilation in the tiny shower cubicle unless you leave the light on, remember to turn sideways to get dry and leave the shower door open or there's not enough room. The towels smelt of mildew and were only to be changed once during a week's stay, the linen didn't get changed at all and the pink nylon blanket was out of the 70's. Full English breakfast meant only 4 items, not sausage, bacon, egg, beans and tomato for example - that was too much. No choice of table, you sit where you're put not where you want. Same sad cakes open on display in the dining room for 7 days - even the flies found them too dry! The window boxes are lovely in all the photos and in reality, but do expect a member of staff to turn up in your room at any time to water them daily.
On the plus side, the view was fantastic and very welcoming, drawing us out into fresh air and away from the confines of "Bon Viveur"

Room Tip: Choose another guest house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    18
    9
    13
See reviews for
27
52
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We went there once, thinking you can't go wrong with a nice harbour side restaurant ran by mediterranean owner.

How surprised we were.

The waiters kept touching our kness and putting the napkin over them. The waiters changed constantly, there was about 4 of them serving us.
Moreover, the hamburger was served without a bun, which was served additionally on request, but buttered on both sides. (?) They say they don't serve buns for burgers in the evening???

The quality of the meat in Canelloni was also awful, like a cheap supermaket meal, and the vegetable salad had cooked cabbage in it in the height of summer.

Poor value and overeager, stressed table service.

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else. Terrible value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Aubin hotels

Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great hotel for midgets! All of the stairs have 'Mind your head' signs. Small, dark corridors. Small rooms. My closet at home is bigger than the room. Could not get sea view. Had a room facing a small side street. Every morning the trash truck woke me up. The walls are paper thin. I could hear an old guy snore really loud in the next room. Couldn't sleep well. The manager is a bit arrogant. First refused to switch me even though he had spare rooms. After I made a big deal he finally offered another room. Small and cramped too. Had to have breakfast at a specific table. Could not move even though many were open.

Room Tip: If you don't have a big sea view room than find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlmostAProAtThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week on a B&B basis and I wonder if we were at the same hotel as some of last year's reviews. Our room had a harbour view and was comfortable with plenty of room for the two of us. The proprietors and their well trained team were welcoming, friendly and helpful - at breakfast you only had to drain your cup and there was a smart waiter beside you with the pot ready to refill it. It's a shame that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but apart from that it was good value for the money. I wonder what other people expect for their money - are they in touch with the cost of things?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had lunch there last week and found the staff arrogant, my wife ordered lobster the only meat in it was in the tail and the claws, very disappointing. The lobster wasn't shown before preparation and appeared to have been frozen. I had sea bass which was very average and again I suspected it wasn't as fresh as it should have been.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I booked this guesthouse for family friends coming to the island for the first time (I am from Jersey but have lived in London for many years). We arrived at the Bon Viveur around 10.30pm, to be told they were closed. We explained we'd brought some guests to check in and asked if we could have a drink at the outside tables at the front. "No, we are closed". Even to hotel residents and even though others are still sitting at these tables with their drinks? "Yes". What a warm welcome and great first impression of the island!

The room was fairly spacious, given that it was called the 'family room', but the bathroom was a complete joke, more like a cupboard with a shower and toilet squeezed into it. The basin was in the room itself. The decor was extremely dated and the room had a view of the bins at the back.

Needless to say I will not be recommending any other friends to stay here, I was embarrassed for Jersey that this is the sort of memory other guests will have of the customer service levels provided by our tourism industry.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We are a group of retired ladies who dined at this restaurant one evening after having had impressive service for coffee. We arrived at 6.20 for dinner and were given a table. We enjoyed our dinner and asked for the bill. As we were sorting out the bill the manager arrived at the table and was very rude asking for one person to pay the bill and could we leave!! He wanted the table for other customers but we had not been told that we had a time limit on our meal. The bill was paid by credit card and this lady had to suffer further abuse from this man. The food was good and the waiter service was also good but to end our holiday in this way has soured our memories of Jersey.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iso709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Aubin
0.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St. Aubin
637 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
767 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
750 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lyndhurst Jersey
The Lyndhurst Jersey
#11 of 16 in St. Brelade
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Viveur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Viveur

Property: Bon Viveur
Address: Fischer Place Le Boulevard, St Aubin’s Bay, St. Aubin, St. Brelade JE3 8AB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bon Viveur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Also Known As:
Bon Viveur Guesthouse Hotel St. Aubin
Bon Viveur Hotel
Bon Viveur Jersey/St. Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing