We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Cristina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cristina
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overall Good Hotel”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Received a very warm welcome on our arrival from the reception staff. Staff overall are very friendly and efficient. Only minor issue is a training one: There appears to be inconsistencies in how guests are treated within the bar and restaurant.
Bedrooms are modern with new flat screen TVs.
We had a balcony sea facing room - excellent views and decent external furniture.
Only grumbles - wooden handrails were a bit rough and the shower had poor pressure.
Breakfast was good - nice to see Black Pudding on offer. Excellent croissants and selection of juices.
Only ate an evening meal in the restaurant once - good service and had a fantastic seafood special.
Had a bar meal one night - menu is unspectacular, but the food is tasty and it comes in large portions.
Drinks prices are reasonable with good table service.
Outside terrace is very well laid out.
Pool terrace is an excellent sun trap with good furniture and a good supply of towels. There is a phone to contact the bar for drinks etc. The pool itself is large, but we found it very cold.
The external entrance to the hotel's driveway is very tight for both getting in and out. The hotel's main car park is also challenging with angled parking bays and tight turning areas. If you have a room on the 2nd or 3rd floors, you would be advised to use the overflow car park and the entrance door on that level.
Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room with a sea view. Third floor is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotTubBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CristinaJersey, General Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, your feedback really is appreciated.

I'm sorry that you found inconsistencies in how guests are treated in the bar and restaurant. I would appreciate a little more detail on this point if you have time so that I can address the issues steven.hayesatdolanhotels.com.

Some of the wooden handrails on the balconies are rough to touch and have been affected by the sun this year. They will be sanded down and re varnished this winter. I am also looking into the low shower pressure in the room that you stayed in.

I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, the service and the food. I really hope to welcome you back in the near future.

For any future guests coming to stay with us, the map and directions on our website will direct you to the hotel via a longer (but safer) route. Please have a look at this if you are at all nervous about the sharp turn into the hotel. On a separate note, our swimming pool temperature is maintained at a constant 25-26 degrees celcius between May and September.

Thank you once again for posting your review

Kind regards

Steve Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    141
    41
    14
    3
See reviews for
64
353
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed 4 nights , clean modern room amazing balcony bay view, great elevated location between St Helier and St Aubin.
Had breakfast in room every morning and some prompt room service.
Staff were very proffessional ameniable and helpful.
Nice outdoor pool, quiet with towels supplied.
Slept very well, super comfy beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sozzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CristinaJersey, General Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking teh time to post a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Cristina in the near future.

Kind regards


Steve Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our seconfd visit to Jersey having been there the previous August. Booked the hotel quite early on and asked for a quiet room. Arrived positive welcome and taken to a seaview room and yes it was in a quiet area and clean. Few drinks on the veranda overlooking the bay all was going very well.
breakfast! food was cold, tasteless and a complete rugby scrum, ate out the following two days. Staff were very good generally, one or two angry looking waiters but overall we were made welcome.
Had dinner in on the second night, good choice, pleasant searvice but felt a bit rushed, we didnt eat until 8, staff were making up the tables for breakfast all around us and chatting. Shame value for money but need to tweak the food and service.

Room Tip: Always go for the seaview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aitchfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CristinaJersey, General Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm disapponted to read that you don't think we're getting our offering quite right and will do what I can to tweak the product and improve it for future guests.

I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel Cristina where you will hopefully see improvements.

Kind regards


Steve Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

If anybody is thinking of either visiting Jersey for a holiday or considering it as a wedding venue they should get in touch with the Hotel Cristina.

From the first time that I met Steve (general manager) and visited the hotel I knew that this was where we would want to be on our wedding day. The hotel is immaculate and very well presented, the atmosphere was relaxed and both guests and staff appear very happy. As for the views from the terrace across St Aubin's bay and across Elizabeth Castle they are breath taking.

We had the "complication" of living in Nottingham but we were wanting to get married in Jersey which is where I am from. Absolutely nothing appeared to be to much trouble for Steve and his professional and friendly staff. Steve made everything so easy and all of my bridezilla questions and requests were answered immediately and with impeccable guidance.

The Day
Perfect!
We were married on what must be the hottest day of the year 18h August 2012
From a bride and grooms perspective our day couldn't have been more amazing.

Everything ran like clock work. The food was amazing, the staff were fantastic and very attentive to all of of guests. Our guests feedback of the day were that they had had a magnificent day and thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

I cannot thank Steve and his staff enough. The Hotel Cristina showcases Jersey at it's best and I am sure that many of our guests with visit Jersey again because of the fabulous day that we all had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CristinaJersey, General Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs D,

Wow! What a fantastic review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your wedding day so much and thriled at your positive review. I had a great time working with you both in the lead up to your wedding and on the day. I've met many Bridezilla's and you certainly weren't one of them!

Wishing you many years of happiness.

Stay in touch.

Kind regards


Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We returned for a second stay at the Hotel Cristina and it was just as good as our previous visit. This time the sun shone brightly and the temperatures didnt dip below 25C all week! THe Hotel is welcoming and has an extremely relaxed feel. All the staff are polite and interested in our activities without being intrusive, offering advice and tips which proved very useful in getting around during the 'Battle if the Flowers' carnival days. The view from the restaurant/terrace/sea view rooms is beautiful. Our 3 children had a fab time and all want to return for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CristinaJersey, Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I'm extremely pleased that you all enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed having you and we all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards

Steve Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a long weekend break at the Cristina and started to relax from the moment we arrived. This hotel has that increasingly rare quality of providing guests with a high standard of accommodation yet managing to retain an intimate and friendly atmosphere. The staff are attentive and helpful but not intrusive. You very quickly get the feeling that genuinely nothing is too much trouble. We also liked the hotel policy whereby staff do not expect to be tipped but instead, if you wish, you can make a payment at the end of your stay. All money is pooled and shared with all staff.
The location is wonderful with lovely views across St Aubins bay. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. Most of the rooms are in an extension to the main hotel which is not as attractive (externally) as the main building. However, the interior and the views from the balcony more than compensate. We had a balcony with sea view and overlooking the pool. There is a terraced bar that overlooks the well kept gardens and the sea, a great place to enjoy a coffee or a cool drink.
We had breakfast and some evening meals at the hotel and the food was very good and the service excellent.
One word of caution we were glad that we were aware, from reading a previous review on this site, that the entrance to the hotel is very tricky if making a left hand turn. It is far better to drive further up the road and turn round so that you can enter by a right turn. There is ample free car parking available on site.
If you don't have a car there is a short stepped walk through the gardens.
All in all an excellent find and if we return to Jersey we will definitely stay at the Cristina.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bass_Solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CristinaJersey, Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and wish to return. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Cristina in the near future. Your feedback has been communicated to the whole team and is greatly appreciated.

For any guests arriving in the future, we have a map on our website that offers a less direct but safer route to get to the hotel without having to worry about the sharp left turn.

Kind regards

Steve Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is very welcoming to start with and has a lovely relaxed feel.
All staff from the beginning to the end of our stay were interested and very obliging to the individual. All staff in all quarters seemed to gel as a team. From the very obliging,smiley chambermaids to the helpful, knowledgeable reception staff, efficient restaurant staff and the bar/terrace staff where again, nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was spotless and more than adequate. The bed was extremely comfortable and all towels, soaps etc were of excellent quality!
The location is quiet, set up high with beautiful views. Entertainment while we were there was a romantic clarinet and guitar for one night. Fantastic atmosphere for couples. The pool is quiet with lovely views and absolutely spotless. Good pool service too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_CristinaJersey, Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review, I'm extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Cristina in the near future.

Kind regards


Steve Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Aubin
1.7 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
711 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
971 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St. Brelade
499 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
741 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristina

Property: Hotel Cristina
Address: Le Mont Felard, St. Aubin, St. Brelade JE3 1JA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristina 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the Hotel Cristina never fail to comment on the fantastic views from the balconies and terraces. Overlooking the vista of St Aubin’s Bay, the south-facing hotel offers hours of sunshine to be enjoyed in the lush gardens and outdoor heated pool in the hotel’s private grounds. The bedrooms are stylishly furnished in a bright, modern style that is matched in the thriving brasserie-style Indigo Restaurant with a fresh, light menu that changes daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristina Hotel St Helier
Cristina Hotel Jersey
Hotel Cristina Jersey/St. Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing