We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Court House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Court House Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 St. Aubin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had come from the Duke of Richmond Hotel in Guernsey, a very posh, posh establishment and had a long tiring journey on the freight ferry, so we arrived late and exhausted at the Old Courthouse. Our initial reaction was OMG what a comedown. The endless stairs to the Penthouse seemed daunting. However, we were in for a pleasant surprise. The receptionist called the poor kitchen porters to haul our ample luggage up three, or was it four, flights of narrow stairs.

The 'Penthouse' was a very spacious apartment, there were two bedrooms, a huge bathroom, a very large sitting room with wide screen TV and a back patio/sunroom. However, the patio furniture was dirty, there was no outside light and there is a beautiful blue bush which I am 100% sure would cause a mega wasp/bee problem during the summer months.

We were very hungry, so even though it was nearly 10 pm, we decided to have dinner. The food was amazing, beautifully presented & very good quality. In fact, we dined at the nearby Salty Dog on our second night and regretted that we had not gone back to the courthouse.

Breakfast was a little hurriedly served. I do appreciate the staff were busy and it was 9 am, but we were well within the allotted time frame.

On our second night, we discovered the downstairs bar which was great fun. The chatty barman (reminiscent of the Tom Cruise character in the movie, Cocktails) was hilarious, Very customer focused and entertaining. There seemed to a lot of locals in both the bar & the dining room, which is always a good sign.

All in all, the Old Courthouse is a little hidden gem. First impressions can be wrong.
It is a guest house, with wonderful food, lovely staff (bar one), a cosy bar & comfortable bedrooms. The last lap of our journey took us to the Royal Yacht Hotel in St Helier, but of the three places we stayed, the Courthouse is the one to which we will return.

Note to management; If you win the lottery, put in a lift and an en suite in one bedroom in the Penthouse also I am open to correction, but I didn't notice any fire alarms up there either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    30
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
30
56
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Old Court House over the Bank Holiday weekend. I can say that it was a memorable experience for all the right reasons! The staff are fantastic, food excellent and the room light, airy, very clean, with great views over the harbour. We will be booking again and can't wait for our return. Compliments to all on achieving such standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I do like the food here but unfortunately it's just too expensive to return that often. Fillet steak is £25 which is average you might think until you add £4.25(!!!) for potatoes of some description and almost the same for veg. So you're looking at £33 (plus GST and 10%) for a main course! Some bread at the table would start to make up for it but none appeared. The steak is very good I must say.

Staff are pleasant enough but not very forthcoming with the set menu which is good value and a fair price. Wine is a little overpriced also.

Like I said, it's a shame as I do like the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Been here a few times and find it a great location and super quality food.
Have paid various prices depending on travel dates.
Always find the food really very good. Good location with a very pleasant view over the small harbour. Rooms are pretty basic but have all you need and free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay here but on recommendation we gave it a whirl for food. Sat in the window overlooking the bay and it was just so comfy, added to that very fine food at not wallet busting prices made it a wonderful evening. Service & staff spot on.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisKim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Having used this hotel on previous occasions, I chose this venue to celebrate my 65th birthday. The staff at this Hotel are very courteous, attentive and friendly and ensure that you have a great time. The restaurant offers some very good eating (make sure you book), with a superb menu and if you like fish, there are some very nice options. The full English breakfast is enormous and it is served in the Mizzen Bar, where you can enjoy great views across St Aubin's bay. We opted for suite, which would make a great family room, with two double bed rooms and a lounge area, complete with 3 piece suite and a large flat screen TV and for the summer months, it has it own private outside seating and sunbathing area. The room is well furnished with a very large window, which offers great sea views and looks across St Aubin's bay. Thanks to Nicky and all the Crew. Chris & Anne

Room Tip: Opt for the suite if you can Afford it or ask for one of the sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evinacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Go on a annual RAF golf tour and this is the one hotel we always return too! The staff are excellent, the food excellent and the rooms comfortable. Will be back going back again next year. The location is great, takes around 15 minutes to drive from one side of the island to the other.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Aubin
0.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St. Aubin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Court House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Court House Inn

Property: The Old Court House Inn
Address: Le Boulevard, St. Aubin, St. Brelade JE3 8AB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Courthouse Inn in St. Aubins is a recently refurbished icon of Jersey Hospitality. Epitomising the perfect balance of friendly and efficent service we ensure that your home away from home gives you some fantastic memories for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Court House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Court House Hotel St. Aubin
The Old Court House Inn Jersey/St. Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing