We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely traditional hotel with fantastic location”
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional hotel with fantastic location”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I booked a three night stay at the Somerville so that my partner and I could enjoy a relaxing weekend by the sea, and that's exactly what we got. The Somerville met our expectations, with a beautiful position overlooking the bay, lovely gardens, and a very high standard of cleanliness.
Don't expect the hotel to be "boutique" style, as it is quite traditionally furnished, and to a certain extent aimed at the more mature traveller. This was fine with us despite our being in our 30s. Our room was a good size, the bathroom a little dated (1980s vintage but very clean), and the side view out to sea beautiful. We would have liked a bay view, but none was available - an inland view would have been a real disappointment.
The restaurant is first class, and easily the best eatery in St Aubins. It seems to be somewhat overlooked as a dinner option but shouldn't be. One of our dinnners was a little dominated by the loud reception/dinner which was not separated from other guests, but the staff and the food easily made up for the noise.
One thing to bear in the mind is that breakfast on the Monday was extremely busy, and the restaurant understaffed, so we had to forgo the excellent full English on our last day, as we couldn't wait any longer without the danger of missing our flight. Should have got up earlier!
Finally, a warning about St Helier which we also considered for our break. We found the town to be particularly unattractive compared to the rest of the island, which we loved, and were so glad not to be staying there. Lots of traffic, a bit run down, and characterless. St Aubins easily won the day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    168
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
97
432
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Milton Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We satyed 5 nights from 17-22 June, 2009. I have to say this really was a superb hotel with staff of the highest calibre of friendliness. The food was tops, the accomodation clean, all we could have wished for. A 4**** hotel deserving 5***** !

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank b110lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Somerville Hotel
It is in a lovely location with great views The staff are the friendliest and most helpful people and the restaurant fully deserves the 2 rosettes as the food is excellent
St. Aubin is a lovely location and from the hotel the views are brilliant
It is worth paying for a seaview room as there are no views from the inland rooms
Our room was not very large but some are more spacious so check this when booking as the hotel was fully booked when we arrived the only downside was the mirror in the bathroom which was in a recess behind the basin made it difficult to see when shaving or putting on makeup (for the ladies !)
We stayed bed and breakfast but used the hotel several times for dinner as it was so good but there are many restaurants in the area along the seafront too
The grounds are private with a lovely pool area and spotlessly maintained.
We would recommened this hotel most favourably and would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollydogIslandmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2009

I spent five nights in a hotel that was perfectly situated for my needs - St. Aubin being the focus of my activities in the evening and during the day I was attending the branch meetings of the Channel Island Guild of Bell Ringers in different parts of the island. The staff were very helpful and informative. The hotel has panoramic views over St. Aubin harbour and across the bay to St. Helier. Unfortunately this was a feature of the hotel I was only able to fully savour whilst eating my breakfast in the restaurant as I had an inland facing room. This is something that I will try to avoid in the future as I believe it does make a significant difference to the quality of a visit to a hotel in such a location. Additionally my room (117) was quite closely overlooked by the windows of several other inland facing rooms which were part of the hotel building at a right angle to that of my own. A relatively minor matter but it did undermine my sense of privacy to a small degree.
Overall the Somerville is a very impressive hotel which provided me with a comfortable and enjoyable stay - but a seaview room would have made a big difference.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCharnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We've been to the Somerville twice before - three years ago - and had no hesitation in returning. Very interesting to see the effect of some limited refurbishment in the public rooms, including opening out the restaurant and the lounge areas. All very well done with regard to the character of the place but with a contemporary feel. Staff as pleasant and reliable as ever. Ate in the Tides restaurant on all four nights and just as good as we remembered, if not better. The tastes and combinations are out of this world. We never thought of going out anywhere else. As for the rooms, we've always had a superior room - and judging by some of the reviews and private photos on here, that seems to be the way to go. Must admit some of the others seem small, if not cramped. Ours was beautifully comfortable and spacious. No need to go for the sea-view, in our opinion. If you want to look out, do it from the lounge or bar. It was good to visit Jersey again. Not sure how soon we will go again, but the Somerville will be the first choice to check out. A little on the pricey side for what are limited facilities, but offset by a free 4th night offer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSue5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We settled on this hotel in St Aubin after reading many good reviews, and I'm happy to say we weren't disappointed.

This would have been a good hotel in any event, but the staff are what make the Somerville special. We travelled with elderly, infirm (and rather batty!) parents, but nothing was too much trouble for the front-of-house and restaurant staff. Mahmood and Roberto in the restaurant along with the chef (Scottish Steve!) deserve particular praise for looking after them so very well - and we really appreciated them preparing simple versions of the menu for 'dad'

It was actually for the sake of the 'elderly' that we decided to stay half-board (avoiding having to go out in the evenings), but to our delight and amazement we found the variety, quality and presentation of the food just about the best we have enjoyed in any hotel - anywhere! We would absolutely reccommend the Tides restaurant as a place you can eat every evening of your stay

We have to agree with some of the previous reviews that the rooms aren't the largest, but they were clean, well furnished, comfortable, quiet and (especially important for the older travellers) they are WARM! We would suggest that the 'sea view' option is one well worth taking, as the view across the harbour is stunning - the pictures really don't do it justice

One final note for those less mobile: Getting to and from the hotel on foot is a challenge without your own transport, and you would probably find it necessary to arrange taxis

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and have already looked into booking a return trip later this year!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan_and_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Checked in, the staff were very polite, professional and friendly, and were throughout whole four day visit. The food in the restaurant was very good, and descent size portions, worth every penny. The head waiter was a very friendly entertaining character, without being annoying. Our room was lovely, so relaxing to be in and clean and tidy. I am very fussy about hotels and standards and I had no complaints. I would love to go back and would recommend to friends and family. Some great eating places in St Aubins in walking distance. Had coffee and cream tea in afternoon, good value for lovely treat. Hotel not expensive for coffees etc and totally relaxing. would recommend for 40 yrs plus.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NifferRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Aubin
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#2 of 16 in St. Brelade
5.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Haule Manor
La Haule Manor
#1 of 4 in St. Aubin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Property: Somerville Hotel
Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St. Aubin, St. Brelade JE3 8AD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St. Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing