We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Somerville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Somerville Hotel
It is in a lovely location with great views The staff are the friendliest and most helpful people and the restaurant fully deserves the 2 rosettes as the food is excellent
St. Aubin is a lovely location and from the hotel the views are brilliant
It is worth paying for a seaview room as there are no views from the inland rooms
Our room was not very large but some are more spacious so check this when booking as the hotel was fully booked when we arrived the only downside was the mirror in the bathroom which was in a recess behind the basin made it difficult to see when shaving or putting on makeup (for the ladies !)
We stayed bed and breakfast but used the hotel several times for dinner as it was so good but there are many restaurants in the area along the seafront too
The grounds are private with a lovely pool area and spotlessly maintained.
We would recommened this hotel most favourably and would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollydogIslandmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    185
    38
    16
    5
See reviews for
102
462
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2009

I spent five nights in a hotel that was perfectly situated for my needs - St. Aubin being the focus of my activities in the evening and during the day I was attending the branch meetings of the Channel Island Guild of Bell Ringers in different parts of the island. The staff were very helpful and informative. The hotel has panoramic views over St. Aubin harbour and across the bay to St. Helier. Unfortunately this was a feature of the hotel I was only able to fully savour whilst eating my breakfast in the restaurant as I had an inland facing room. This is something that I will try to avoid in the future as I believe it does make a significant difference to the quality of a visit to a hotel in such a location. Additionally my room (117) was quite closely overlooked by the windows of several other inland facing rooms which were part of the hotel building at a right angle to that of my own. A relatively minor matter but it did undermine my sense of privacy to a small degree.
Overall the Somerville is a very impressive hotel which provided me with a comfortable and enjoyable stay - but a seaview room would have made a big difference.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCharnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We've been to the Somerville twice before - three years ago - and had no hesitation in returning. Very interesting to see the effect of some limited refurbishment in the public rooms, including opening out the restaurant and the lounge areas. All very well done with regard to the character of the place but with a contemporary feel. Staff as pleasant and reliable as ever. Ate in the Tides restaurant on all four nights and just as good as we remembered, if not better. The tastes and combinations are out of this world. We never thought of going out anywhere else. As for the rooms, we've always had a superior room - and judging by some of the reviews and private photos on here, that seems to be the way to go. Must admit some of the others seem small, if not cramped. Ours was beautifully comfortable and spacious. No need to go for the sea-view, in our opinion. If you want to look out, do it from the lounge or bar. It was good to visit Jersey again. Not sure how soon we will go again, but the Somerville will be the first choice to check out. A little on the pricey side for what are limited facilities, but offset by a free 4th night offer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSue5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We settled on this hotel in St Aubin after reading many good reviews, and I'm happy to say we weren't disappointed.

This would have been a good hotel in any event, but the staff are what make the Somerville special. We travelled with elderly, infirm (and rather batty!) parents, but nothing was too much trouble for the front-of-house and restaurant staff. Mahmood and Roberto in the restaurant along with the chef (Scottish Steve!) deserve particular praise for looking after them so very well - and we really appreciated them preparing simple versions of the menu for 'dad'

It was actually for the sake of the 'elderly' that we decided to stay half-board (avoiding having to go out in the evenings), but to our delight and amazement we found the variety, quality and presentation of the food just about the best we have enjoyed in any hotel - anywhere! We would absolutely reccommend the Tides restaurant as a place you can eat every evening of your stay

We have to agree with some of the previous reviews that the rooms aren't the largest, but they were clean, well furnished, comfortable, quiet and (especially important for the older travellers) they are WARM! We would suggest that the 'sea view' option is one well worth taking, as the view across the harbour is stunning - the pictures really don't do it justice

One final note for those less mobile: Getting to and from the hotel on foot is a challenge without your own transport, and you would probably find it necessary to arrange taxis

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and have already looked into booking a return trip later this year!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan_and_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Checked in, the staff were very polite, professional and friendly, and were throughout whole four day visit. The food in the restaurant was very good, and descent size portions, worth every penny. The head waiter was a very friendly entertaining character, without being annoying. Our room was lovely, so relaxing to be in and clean and tidy. I am very fussy about hotels and standards and I had no complaints. I would love to go back and would recommend to friends and family. Some great eating places in St Aubins in walking distance. Had coffee and cream tea in afternoon, good value for lovely treat. Hotel not expensive for coffees etc and totally relaxing. would recommend for 40 yrs plus.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NifferRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in February at this very comfortable hotel. Room was a Classic with sea view overlooking the harbour. The only criticism to be mentioned - the room and bathroom - both were fairly small . Breakfast good with plenty of choice, evening dinner at Tides was excellent. All staff very pleasant and most courteous - nothing was a problem if anything was requested. Would certainly return again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Visited this superb hotel with the family at the end of November.

The service received from Alex Stiller and his team was first class, and they are all to be congratulated.

We ate at many places during our visit to Jersey, and the dinner taken in the restaurant at The Somerville was by far the best quality, both in terms of food and service.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something a little bit special - you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank harveyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Aubin
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
985 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 4 in St. Aubin
586 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#9 of 16 in St. Brelade
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,142 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,907 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Brelade
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Property: Somerville Hotel
Address: Le Mont Du Boulevard, St. Aubin, St. Brelade JE3 8AD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St. Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing